Chinese Name: 阜阳市 (fǔ yáng shì)
Area: 9,775 square kilometers (3,774square miles)
Administrative Division: 3 districts (Yingzhou, Yingdong, Yingquan); 4 counties (Linquan, Taihe, Funan, Yingshang); 1 county-level city (Jieshou)
Seat of the City Government: 539, Qinghe Dong Lu, Yingzhou District
Useful Telephone Numbers: Tourist Complaints: 0909-2222859
Weather Forecast: 121
Zip Code Inquiry: 184
Bank of China: 41, Yinghe Xi Lu, Yingzhou District
China Post: 136, Renmin Zhong Lu, Yingquan District
Location: It is situated in the northwest of Anhui Province, neighboring Bozhou and Huainan in the east and separated from Lu'an City by the Huaihe River. It is also bordered in the north and west by Henan Province.
History: Centered by Yingzhou (present city proper), its southern area was exploited first, while the northern region was changed later along with the ups and downs of Bozhou. Historically, Yingzhou and Bozhou are interrelated, but relatively independent. The domains of the two places were first unified during the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644). It was not until the early Qing Dynasty (1644-1911) that the name Yingzhou was changed to the present one.
Physical Features: It stands in a flat and vast fluvial plain region. Its terrain slopes gently downward from the northwest to the southeast. Huaihe River and its branches flow through the city.
Climate: It has a warm temperate semi-humid monsoon climate with an annual average temperature of 12.4 C (54.3F). Endowed with moderate weather and four distinct seasons, the city is abundant in both sunlight and rainfall.
When to Go: spring, late spring as it turns into summer, and autumn
Special Local Products: mint and cherry of Taihe County, brush pen of Linquan County, willow weaving, color clay figure
Wenfeng Pagoda is a landmark structure standing on Yingzhou Lu, the central artery of downtown. It was built in 1796 during the Qing Dynasty (1644-1911). Like the Kuixing (the god of literature) Tower at the southeast corner of the city wall of old city zone, Wenfeng Pagoda is also a Fengshui (Geomantic) tower. It is said that in order to reverse the weakening of the development of literature and the lack of famous literati and officials, these two brick towers were built in southeastern part of the city. The land is low-lying there which would prevent spiritual forces from overflowing outwardly from the ground. Kuixing Tower was first constructed in 1574 of the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644). Wenfeng Pagoda was built later because locals determined that Kuixing Tower was not high enough.
The West Lake of Yingzhou which is 15 kilometers (9 miles) west of the city proper is becoming a top attraction in northwestern Anhui. The scenic area contains a stele forest, old style buildings, and garden buildings, all of which blend perfectly with the surrounding natural scenery.
Other Scenic Spots: Nanhu Park, Zhangzhuang Park
1. Fuyang Airport is 9 kilometers (5.6 miles) southwest of the downtown, and operates shuttle flights to Shanghai through Hefei, the capital city of Anhui.
2. It is three and a half hours from Hefei to Fuyang using the expressway. To some extent, train travel is a better option. The average time by train is three hours, and some trains only take two hours and forty minutes.
3. The city's central bus station is located at 108, the 2nd Ring Road (South). It is the hub of the city's road transportation, operating interprovincial and intercity bus lines, as well as public bus lines to the counties and countryside.