Monks in ThailandMonks in Thailand

China & Thailand

SG28: 11 Days Small Group Tour of Beijing - Xi'an - Shanghai - Bangkok - Ayutthaya - Bangkok
Tour Type: Small Group of 2-18 travelers, guaranteed departures
Guide & Driver: English-speaking guide, experienced driver with an air-conditioned coach
Accommodation: 10 nights at good 5-star & 4-star hotels
Meals: 10 western buffet breakfasts, 7 lunches with some being a la carte style, 1 dumpling dinner
Tour Highlights:
  • Must-see sights - Mutianyu Great Wall, Forbidden City, Terracotta Army, Grand Palace
  • Visit a local family home, interact & taste authentic home-cooked Chinese food
  • Take a long-tail boat trip on small canals & taste the original life of Bangkok
  • Explore Ayutthaya Historical Park to feel the once glorious empire of Thailand
  • Watch Kung Fu Show, Tang Dynasty Music and Dance performance, Puppet Show
From $2499 per person Free Inquiry
From US$2499 per person
Select Date and Travelers
Adult(>11 years old):
Child(2-11 years old):
Expand All
Collapse All
Day 1 Arrival in Beijing
Your flight will land at Beijing International Airport today. After passing through Customs and retrieving your luggage, you will find our guide greeting you with a big smile and a name-board outside the arrival hall. Then we will transfer you to the hotel in a comfortable car ride. After checking in, you can relax for the remainder of the day.
 
Accommodation: The Great Wall Hotel Beijing - the former Sheraton
Day 2 Beijing
After breakfast, our guide and driver will pick you up from the hotel. Frist we will drive to visit the famous Tiananmen Square, one of the largest squares in the world. Then we visit the Forbidden City - the former imperial palace complex of the Ming and Qing emperors of China. For lunch, we avoid the cheap tourist restaurants but will provide a special a la carte meal (valued at CNY150.00 per person and included in our price) at a famous and elegant restaurant for you to taste authentic Chinese food and delicious Peking roasted duck.

After lunch, we come to visit the Temple of Heaven. The complex used to be the site of heavenly offerings made by the Ming and Qing emperors, and now part of it has become a park for the community. The evening will be highlighted by a lively Chinese Kung Fu Show at the Red Theatre. 

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte welcome lunch
Tiananmen Square, Beijing
Tiananmen Square, Beijing
Day 3 Beijing
Mutianyu Great Wall with a round-trip cable car, A toast with red wine on the wall. (B)
In the morning, our guide and driver will meet you at your hotel. Drive out of the city to Mutianyu Great Wall, one of the most famous parts of the Great Wall. You will ascend and descend the wall via the cable car. After getting to the top, you can hike on the wall to challenge your physical strength. The restaurants nearby the sites are of low quality, so we do not arrange lunch today. It may be best that you have a big breakfast at the hotel and have some fast food for lunch by yourself. Our guide will show you some restaurants.

Following the morning activities, we drive back to the downtown Beijing. Explore a prosperous local market and then we return to the hotel.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Mutianyu Great Wall, Beijing
Mutianyu Great Wall, Beijing
Day 4 Beijing to Xi'an by Flight
Summer Palace, Olympic Bird's Nest, A la carte lunch, Hutong Rickshaw Tour, Experience Chinese Paper Cutting, Fly to Xi'an, Airport-hotel transfer. (B+L)
The first stop we will visit today is the Summer Palace which is known as a masterpiece of Chinese landscape garden design. Then, we will pass by the Olympic National Stadium (Bird's Nest) for a photo stop. An a la carte lunch (valued at CNY150.00 per person and included in our price) is served at a good restaurant with delicious food and great atmosphere.

In the afternoon, accompanied by the guide, you will trace the old Beijing culture by riding a rickshaw through the original Hutong alleys, appreciate the oldest gray brick courtyard residence and capture the lifestyles of local families. Besides, we also offer you a chance to experience traditional Chinese paper cutting with a folk artist. Chinese paper cutting is a kind of folk art in which patterns are cut and carved on paper with scissors or a carving knife to decorate life or cooperate with other folk activities. If you make a perfect work, you can frame and decorate it on the wall when you return home. After that, we will transfer you to the airport and help you board a flight to Xi'an. Our guide in Xi'an will greet you at the airport and escort you to your hotel.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Accommodation: Sheraton Hotel
Day 5 Xi'an
Terracotta Army, A local family visit and an authentic home-cooked lunch, Small Wild Goose Pagoda and Xi'an Museum, Tang Dynasty Show with dumpling dinner. (B+L+D)
Leave the hotel after breakfast and travel to the Terracotta Army. It is the most significant archeological excavation of the 20th century and one of the eight wonders of the world. You will spend the whole morning in the museum.

Around noon, a special and authentic home-cooked a la carte lunch (valued at CNY120.00 per person and included in our price) is arranged at a local family house. The hostess will teach you to cook Chinese cuisines for free with the guide's translation.

In the afternoon, we will take a leisure tour to the Small Wild Goose Pagoda & Xi'an Museum. A famous Dumpling Dinner with the Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show is in store for you this evening.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, Home-cooked a la carte lunch, Dumpling Dinner
 Friendly Tips

Since the theater is usually not open in Jan, Feb, Mar and Dec, we will not arrange the show and dumpling dinner for tours starting during these periods. Clients will enjoy free time to relax.
Xian Terracotta Army
Terracotta Warriors, Xi'an
Day 6 Xi'an to Shanghai by Flight
Observe local life in the park, Tai Chi practice, Xi'an City Wall, A la carte lunch, Fly to Shanghai, Airport-hotel transfer. (B+L)
The morning trip starts from the City Wall Park. With pleasant environment and unique culture, the park has become one of the most popular places for local residents to get relaxed and have recreational activities in their spare time. Walking in the park, you can observe the local people's life and interact with them. Then, you will learn some skills of Tai Chi from a master. Afterwards, we will proceed to the well preserved ancient City Wall. The wall surrounds the city center, in the length of 13.74km. It even hosts the International Marathon. The famous Xian City Wall International Marathon is the only marathon in the world where the course is set on the entire ancient city wall. An exciting way to visit it might be by hiring a bike and riding a half or a whole circle on the Wall. The rental fee is at your expense. The tourist carts are also available.

An a la carte lunch (valued at CNY120.00 per person and included in our price) is served at a well-known local restaurant. In the afternoon, our guide will see you off at the airport for the flight to Shanghai. Upon your arrival, the guide in Shanghai will greet you at the airport and accompany you to the hotel.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Accommodation: Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Xian City Wall
Cycling on Xi'an City Wall
City Wall Park, Xian
City Wall Park, Xi'an
Day 7 Shanghai
Shanghai Museum, Yu Garden and its traditional bazaar, A la carte lunch, Former French Concession, the Bund and Huangpu River cruise. (B+L)
After breakfast this morning, we start a full day Shanghai city exploration. The first destination is the comprehensive Shanghai Museum. Then we go to the picturesque Yu Garden, an ancient Chinese classic garden, as well as a bustling market nearby. Around noon, an a la carte lunch (valued at CNY120.00 per person and included in our price) will be served. After lunch, we go for a walk at the Former French Concession, visit the symbolic Bund, and have a one-hour cruise tour along the Huangpu River.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
The Bund
Bund of Shanghai
Yu Garden, Shanghai
Graceful Yu Garden
Day 8 Shanghai to Bangkok by Flight
Fly to Bangkok, Airport-hotel transfer, Relax during the rest of the day. (B)
Our guide will see you off at the airport for the flight to Bangkok. After around 4.5 hours' flight journey, you will reach Bangkok, where the local guide and driver will greet you at the airport and transfer you to the hotel. The rest of the day is free on your own leisure.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Accommodation: Majestic Grande Sukhumvit
Day 9 Bangkok
Wat Pho, Grand Palace, Wat Phra Kaew, A private boat trip on Klong Bang Luang, A puppet show, Wat Arun. (B+L)
We will start our Bangkok tour with a visit to the Wat Pho, which holds the biggest Reclining Buddha in the world. In particular, we will experience the monks' morning chanting ritual here at around 9:00 o'clock. Then our visit continues to the magnificent Grand Palace where we will also see the Emerald Buddha enshrined at the Wat Phra Kaew inside the palace. Appropriate dress is required or can be rented on site.

After having lunch, we will take a private long-tail boat trip on the tranquil Klong Bang Luang. As the boat drifts gently along the small canals, we feel the noise of the city become a far-off whisper. Later, the boat stops at the 100-year-old Baan Silapin, where we will visit art galleries, experience handicraft making and explore the local community. If we are lucky enough, we can also enjoy a unique puppet show performed by puppeteers trained under the Joe Louis School of puppetry. Our last stop today is the beautiful Wat Arun, one of the most prominent riverside landmarks of Bangkok. Afterwards, we will drive you back to the hotel.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, Lunch
Grand Palace, Bangkok
Grand Palace, Bangkok
Day 10 Bangkok - Ayutthaya - Bangkok
Drive to Ayutthaya, Wat Yai Chaimongkol, Wat Phra Srisanphet, Wat Mahathat, Muslim Quarter, Travel back to Bangkok by cruising on the Chao Phraya River. (B+L)
In the morning our guide will meet you in the hotel lobby and then we will drive north out of Bangkok to Ayutthaya, the ancient capital of Siam. We will visit the representative Wat Yai Chaimongkol, Wat Phra Srisanphet and Wat Mahathat where the Buddha face is naturally emerged out of the tree. Then continue to explore the local Muslim Quarter.

In the afternoon, we will travel back to Bangkok by taking a luxurious, air-conditioned cruise, the Grand Pearl, on the Chao Phraya River. Enjoy a superb buffet lunch while witnessing rural life and Thai architecture along the River of the Kings. Return to Bangkok in the late afternoon and we will take you back to the hotel.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, Lunch
Wat Yai Chaimongkol Ayutthaya
Buddha statues at Wat Yai Chaimongkol
Ayutthaya ruins
Ayutthaya ruins
Day 11 Departure from Bangkok
Bid farewell at the airport, A pleasant trip home! (B)
Our guide will pick you up from your hotel and escort you to the airport for your departure flight. We hope you have had an enjoyable time with us and further, we hope to see you again in the future.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
B-- Breakfast L-- Lunch D-- Dinner
Prices are per person in US Dollars; departures are guaranteed even with two persons!
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings
12% off - book by Dec 31, 2020
Arrival DateDeparture DateDouble OccupancySingle Room Supplement 
Jan 09(Sat)Jan 19(Tue)$2499 $2199$529
Feb 20(Sat)Mar 02(Tue)$2499 $2199$529
Mar 04(Thu)Mar 14(Sun)$2539 $2234$559
Mar 11(Thu)Mar 21(Sun)$2539 $2234$559
Mar 25(Thu)Apr 04(Sun)$2539 $2234$559
Apr 01(Thu)Apr 11(Sun)$2709 $2383$579
Apr 08(Thu)Apr 18(Sun)$2709 $2383$579
Apr 15(Thu)Apr 25(Sun)$2709 $2383$579
Apr 22(Thu)May 02(Sun)$2709 $2383$579
May 06(Thu)May 16(Sun)$2709 $2383$579
May 13(Thu)May 23(Sun)$2709 $2383$579
May 20(Thu)May 30(Sun)$2709 $2383$579
May 27(Thu)Jun 06(Sun)$2719 $2392$569
Jun 03(Thu)Jun 13(Sun)$2709 $2383$559
Jun 10(Thu)Jun 20(Sun)$2709 $2383$559
Jun 17(Thu)Jun 27(Sun)$2709 $2383$559
Jun 24(Thu)Jul 04(Sun)$2709 $2383$559
Jul 01(Thu)Jul 11(Sun)$2709 $2383$559
Jul 08(Thu)Jul 18(Sun)$2709 $2383$559
Jul 15(Thu)Jul 25(Sun)$2709 $2383$559
Jul 22(Thu)Aug 01(Sun)$2709 $2383$559
Jul 29(Thu)Aug 08(Sun)$2709 $2383$559
Aug 05(Thu)Aug 15(Sun)$2709 $2383$559
Aug 12(Thu)Aug 22(Sun)$2709 $2383$559
Aug 19(Thu)Aug 29(Sun)$2709 $2383$559
Aug 26(Thu)Sep 05(Sun)$2719 $2392$569
Sep 02(Thu)Sep 12(Sun)$2719 $2392$599
Sep 09(Thu)Sep 19(Sun)$2719 $2392$599
Sep 16(Thu)Sep 26(Sun)$2719 $2392$599
Sep 23(Thu)Oct 03(Sun)$2769 $2436$599
Oct 07(Thu)Oct 17(Sun)$2769 $2436$599
Oct 14(Thu)Oct 24(Sun)$2769 $2436$599
Oct 21(Thu)Oct 31(Sun)$2769 $2436$599
Oct 28(Thu)Nov 07(Sun)$2639 $2322$599
Nov 04(Thu)Nov 14(Sun)$2639 $2322$599
Nov 11(Thu)Nov 21(Sun)$2639 $2322$589
Nov 20(Sat)Nov 30(Tue)$2559 $2251$539
Dec 04(Sat)Dec 14(Tue)$2549 $2243$529
Dec 23(Thu)Jan 02(Sun)$2549 $2243$529

Remark: The prices in red reflect the current discount.

Price Includes
  • Three flights (economy class seat): Beijing - Xian - Shanghai - Bangkok
  • Hotel accommodation with breakfasts
  • A la carte lunches as itinerary specifies
  • Professional English-speaking guides
  • Drivers & air-conditioned vehicles
  • Entrance fees to tourist sites
  • Tips or gratuities for hotel porters
Price Excludes
  • International flight into Beijing and out Bangkok
  • Meals other than those mentioned in the itinerary
  • Personal expenses (such as laundry, telephone, drinks, etc.)
  • Tips or gratuities for guides and drivers
  • Personal travel insurance
  • China and Thailand Visa fees
Why Travel With Us
  • Customer Reviews
  • Questions & Answers
  •  
    5.02 Reviews
    Barbara
    Saudi Arabia
    Posted on December 01, 2018
    Our trip was more than we expected. Our guides Rebecca in Beijing and Fang in Xian were both wonderful and made our China experience memorable. And Phong, our Thai guide was very enthusiastic and always asked what else we need. The drivers, Mr. Wong and Mr. Chin were both very competent and we felt very safe with them. All our guides were very knowledgeable and were able to answer all our questions. The hotels were excellent and the food was good. The two suggestions I would offer to make the trip better is cut back on the number of sites to visit each day, and add some time for shopping.

    Several families here in Saudi Arabia have asked about our trip and who we used. I have highly recommended your organization and if we were ever to return to travel, I would not hesitate to use Travel China Guide again. Thank you again for making our experience so memorable.
    ... More
    Bob
    Japan
    Posted on November 10, 2018
    We want to say that our trip to China and Thailand was wonderful; thank you for the well-organized tours and the well-informed guides. Of course, we didn't want to leave and return to our jobs here in Japan. Everyone was extremely friendly and willing to try speaking English with us. We were surprised at the English ability of so many people. Accents, vocabulary and pronunciation were excellent. There is no complaint on our expedition.
Check our global tours at