Halong BayHalong Bay

Oriental Culture

SG27: 12 Days Small Group Tour of Beijing - Xi'an - Shanghai - Hanoi - Halong - Hanoi
Tour Type: Small Group of 2-18 travelers, guaranteed departures
Guide & Driver: English-speaking guide, experienced driver with an air-conditioned coach
Accommodation: 11 nights, nice 5-star & 4-star hotels
Meals: 11 western buffet breakfasts, 8 lunches with some being a la carte style, 2 dinners
Tour Highlights:
  • Must-see sights - Mutianyu Great Wall, Forbidden City, Terracotta Army, Halong Bay
  • Walk into a local Chinese family, interact & dine with the hosts in their home
  • View the soaring city skylines and feel the pulse of modern Shanghai
  • Cruise on the Halong Bay and enjoy the limestone islands emerging from water
From $2359 per person Free Inquiry
From US$2359 per person
Select Date and Travelers
Adult(>11 years old):
Child(2-11 years old):
Expand All
Collapse All
Day 1 Arrival in Beijing
Arrive at any time, Airport pick-up & airport-hotel transfer.
Welcome to China! Our guide is at the Arrival Hall of the airport to meet you and the driver will drive you to the hotel, where you may either relax or get an early start in city exploring on your own.
 
Accommodation: The Great Wall Hotel Beijing - the former Sheraton
Day 2 Beijing
A tour briefing, Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, A la carte welcome lunch with Peking Duck, Temple of Heaven, Chinese Kung Fu Show. (B+L)
Our group at the Great Wall
We will meet the other group members at the hotel lobby after a bumper breakfast. Your exciting tour starts from a lively exploration to the downtown area. First we have a stopover at the Tiananmen Square, the city's central square. Then walk northward to reach the Forbidden City, which is the star of today's show. It had seen 24 Emperors come and go in the Ming and Qing Dynasties.

An a la carte welcome lunch with Peking Roast Duck (valued at CNY150.00 per person and included in our package) will be served at a nice local restaurant. In the afternoon, we visit the Temple of Heaven, to be followed later by a lively Chinese Kung Fu evening Show at Red Theatre.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte welcome lunch
Day 3 Beijing
Mutianyu Great Wall with a round-trip cable car, A toast with red wine on the wall. (B)
Prepare yourselves well for the Great Wall visit. Upon mounting the majestic Mutianyu Great Wall, you get promptly rewarded with the breathtaking scenery. We include the round-trip cable car so you can spend more time enjoying the views at the most beautiful part of the wall. We do not arrange a sit down lunch today, but you may pack your own lunch or try a fast food outlet. Then a visit to a well-known local market is followed. Enjoy some free time there to get relaxed.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Day 4 Beijing - Xi'an
Summer Palace, Olympic Bird's Nest, A la carte lunch, Hutong Rickshaw Tour, Experience Chinese Paper Cutting, Fly to Xi'an, Airport-hotel transfer. (B+L)
A relaxing tour of the Summer Palace and the ancient Hutong alleys highlights your last day in Beijing. It will be a great experience to take a rickshaw ride through the old Hutongs and learn to make Chinese paper cutting with a folk artist. We will also pass by the Olympic Stadium - the Bird's Nest for a photo opportunity. Around noon, a delicious a la carte lunch (valued at CNY150.00 per person and included in our price) is specially served to you at a decent local restaurant. 

In the afternoon, we will get you to the airport for your flight to Xi'an, an ancient capital for 13 dynasties. With the company of your local guide and driver, you will be taken to the hotel.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Accommodation: Sheraton Hotel
Day 5 Xi'an
Terracotta Army, A local family visit and an authentic home-cooked lunch, Small Wild Goose Pagoda and Xi'an Museum, Tang Dynasty Show with dumpling dinner. (B+L+D)
Terracotta Army
Our morning sightseeing begins with the famous Terracotta Army, containing the tomb guards made more than 2,200 years ago by the first Emperor Qin Shi Huang. In this museum, you will see the sophisticated craft skill of the craftsman in the ancient time, and learn about the Qin Dynasty and its impact on generations. After that, we head to visit a local host family, where a specially arranged home-cooked lunch (valued at CNY120.00 per person and included in our price) is waiting. If you are interested, you may also learn to cook one or two Chinese dishes from the host.

Later, we will visit the Small Wild Goose Pagoda and Xi'an Museum. In the evening, a unique Dumpling Dinner accompanied by the Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show at Shaanxi Theatre is scheduled to round off the day.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, Home-cooked a la carte lunch, Dumpling Dinner
 Friendly Tips

Clients visiting in Jan, Feb, Mar and Dec need to arrange the dinner and evening activity on their own for this day, since the theater is usually not open at that time.
Day 6 Xi'an - Shanghai
Observe local life in the park, Tai Chi practice, Xi'an City Wall, A la carte lunch, Fly to Shanghai, Airport-hotel transfer. (B+L)
We start the morning at the City Wall Park, where you will see the locals go about their daily lives and learn to practice Tai Chi with the master. It is a good way of immersing in the local culture. After that, we ascend the ancient City Wall, which is the best preserved of its kind in China. A bicycle rental is available for those who want to ride around in the time allowed.

After having an a la carte lunch (included in our price) at a well selected local restaurant, we'll drive you to the airport to take a flight to Shanghai. Your guide in Shanghai will escort you to the hotel and help you with the check-in procedure.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Accommodation: Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Day 7 Shanghai
Shanghai Museum, Yu Garden and its traditional bazaar, A la carte lunch, Former French Concession, the Bund and Huangpu River cruise. (B+L)
We spend the morning with the rich collections at Shanghai Museum, the tranquil Yu Garden and its nearby bustling bazaar. A la carte lunch will be served at a good local restaurant (valued at CNY120.00 per person and included in our price). In the afternoon, we will visit the Former French Concession and stroll around the Bund area, where you will also have a one-hour cruise tour on the Huangpu River. 

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Day 8 Shanghai - Hanoi
Relax in the morning, Fly to Hanoi, Airport-hotel transfer. (B)
Our group at Shanghai Bund
You may do last minutes shopping in the morning, or ready yourselves for travel. Your guide will meet you at the hotel lobby and transfer you punctually to the airport for your flight to Hanoi. Let's start our next leg of journey to Vietnam.

On landing in Hanoi's Noi Bai International Airport, you will be met by our professional guide after you fetch your luggage and clear the customs. Transfer you to the hotel for a well-earned rest.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Accommodation: Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Day 9 Hanoi
Ho Chi Minh Complex, One Pillar Pagoda, Tran Quoc Pagoda, Quan Thanh Temple, Temple of Literature and History Museum. (B+L)
Ho Chi Minh’s Mausoleum Complex
Today we will do a full day's city exploration from Ba Dinh Square area. We get an introduction to Ho Chi Minh, his life and times by visiting Ho Chi Minh Complex: Ho Chi Minh's Mausoleum and his former residence. Then we have a stopover at the nearby One Pillar Pagoda. After that we move to West Lake area where you will also pay a visit to the Tran Quoc Pagoda and Quan Thanh Temple besides the beautiful lake view. For the rest of the time, continue your visit to the Temple of Literature and the History Museum or the Ethnology Museum as you like. Then we get you back to the hotel for the evening.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, Lunch
Day 10 Hanoi - Halong Bay
Drive to Halong Bay, Board the cruise for a one-night stay, Enjoy the picturesque scenery. (B+L+D)
Street Scene in Hanoi
After a full breakfast, we go to Halong Bay to board a fun cruise trip. Getting to the cruise pier takes about 3.5 hours, thus expect a noon time start with a bumper welcome lunch. As you sail into Halong Bay, thousands of limestone islands towering out of the water come into view. Enjoy the breathtaking gift of nature while aboard.

In the afternoon, an excursion to the Thien Cung (or Dau Go or Sung Sot) is arranged for you to explore the limestone cave. You may join activities during the cruise such as: Kayaking, diving or swimming. You will spend the night on the cruise.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Accommodation: Indochina Sails - Superior Cabin
Day 11 Halong Bay - Hanoi
Disembark the cruise, Drive to Hanoi, Opera House, Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem Lake, Ngoc Son Temple, Water Puppet Performance. (Brunch)
Today you will continue visiting some nearby islands. Rejoin the cruise at brunch as you sail back to Halong pier. Upon arrival, your guide and driver will pick you up and drive you to Hanoi. In the afternoon, let's fulfill our city tour at Hanoi central area to the Opera House, Old Quarter where one may find shops, restaurants, bars etc, Hoan Kiem Lake and Ngoc Son Temple. Your tour comes to the end after you enjoy a special Water Puppet Performance at Hoan Kiem Lake area.

Meals: Brunch
Accommodation: Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Day 12 Departure from Hanoi
Bid farewell at the airport, A pleasant trip home! (B)
Finally, we will escort you to the airport for your homeward flight. Wish you a pleasant journey!

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
B-- Breakfast L-- Lunch D-- Dinner
Prices are per person in US Dollars; departures are guaranteed even with two persons!
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings
12% off - book by Jan 31, 2020, 10% off - book by Feb 29, 2020
Arrival DateDeparture DateDouble OccupancySingle Room Supplement 
Feb 13(Thu) Feb 24(Mon) $2359 $2075$689
Mar 05(Thu) Mar 16(Mon) $2389 $2102$709
Mar 12(Thu) Mar 23(Mon) $2389 $2102$709
Mar 26(Thu) Apr 06(Mon) $2389 $2102$709
Apr 02(Thu) Apr 13(Mon) $2549 $2243$739
Apr 09(Thu) Apr 20(Mon) $2549 $2243$739
Apr 16(Thu) Apr 27(Mon) $2549 $2243$739
Apr 23(Thu) May 04(Mon) $2549 $2243$669
May 07(Thu) May 18(Mon) $2549 $2243$669
May 14(Thu) May 25(Mon) $2549 $2243$669
May 21(Thu) Jun 01(Mon) $2549 $2243$669
May 28(Thu) Jun 08(Mon) $2519 $2216$649
Jun 04(Thu) Jun 15(Mon) $2509 $2207$649
Jun 11(Thu) Jun 22(Mon) $2509 $2207$649
Jun 18(Thu) Jun 29(Mon) $2509 $2207$649
Jun 25(Thu) Jul 06(Mon) $2509 $2207$649
Jul 02(Thu) Jul 13(Mon) $2549 $2243$649
Jul 09(Thu) Jul 20(Mon) $2549 $2243$649
Jul 16(Thu) Jul 27(Mon) $2549 $2243$649
Jul 23(Thu) Aug 03(Mon) $2549 $2243$649
Jul 30(Thu) Aug 10(Mon) $2549 $2243$649
Aug 06(Thu) Aug 17(Mon) $2549 $2243$649
Aug 13(Thu) Aug 24(Mon) $2549 $2243$649
Aug 20(Thu) Aug 31(Mon) $2549 $2243$649
Aug 27(Thu) Sep 07(Mon) $2529 $2225$659
Sep 03(Thu) Sep 14(Mon) $2529 $2225$689
Sep 10(Thu) Sep 21(Mon) $2529 $2225$689
Sep 17(Thu) Sep 28(Mon) $2529 $2225$689
Sep 24(Thu) Oct 05(Mon) $2529 $2225$759
Oct 08(Thu) Oct 19(Mon) $2569 $2260$759
Oct 15(Thu) Oct 26(Mon) $2569 $2260$759
Oct 22(Thu) Nov 02(Mon) $2569 $2260$759
Oct 29(Thu) Nov 09(Mon) $2449 $2155$759
Nov 05(Thu) Nov 16(Mon) $2449 $2155$759
Nov 12(Thu) Nov 23(Mon) $2439 $2146$749
Nov 19(Thu) Nov 30(Mon) $2439 $2146$699
Dec 09(Wed) Dec 20(Sun) $2439 $2146$729
Dec 23(Wed) Jan 03(Sun) $2439 $2146$729

Remark: The prices in red reflect the current discount.

Prices are per person in US Dollars; departures are guaranteed even with two persons!
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings
12% off - book by Jan 31, 2020, 10% off - book by Feb 29, 2020
Arrival DateDeparture DateDouble OccupancySingle Room Supplement 
Jan 09(Sat) Jan 20(Wed) $2429 $2137$709
Feb 20(Sat) Mar 03(Wed) $2429 $2137$709
Mar 04(Thu) Mar 15(Mon) $2459 $2163$729
Mar 11(Thu) Mar 22(Mon) $2459 $2163$729
Mar 25(Thu) Apr 05(Mon) $2459 $2163$729
Apr 01(Thu) Apr 12(Mon) $2619 $2304$759
Apr 08(Thu) Apr 19(Mon) $2619 $2304$759
Apr 15(Thu) Apr 26(Mon) $2619 $2304$759
Apr 22(Thu) May 03(Mon) $2619 $2304$689
May 06(Thu) May 17(Mon) $2619 $2304$689
May 13(Thu) May 24(Mon) $2619 $2304$689
May 20(Thu) May 31(Mon) $2619 $2304$689
May 27(Thu) Jun 07(Mon) $2599 $2287$669
Jun 03(Thu) Jun 14(Mon) $2589 $2278$659
Jun 10(Thu) Jun 21(Mon) $2589 $2278$659
Jun 17(Thu) Jun 28(Mon) $2589 $2278$659
Jun 24(Thu) Jul 05(Mon) $2589 $2278$659
Jul 01(Thu) Jul 12(Mon) $2619 $2304$659
Jul 08(Thu) Jul 19(Mon) $2619 $2304$659
Jul 15(Thu) Jul 26(Mon) $2619 $2304$659
Jul 22(Thu) Aug 02(Mon) $2619 $2304$659
Jul 29(Thu) Aug 09(Mon) $2619 $2304$659
Aug 05(Thu) Aug 16(Mon) $2619 $2304$659
Aug 12(Thu) Aug 23(Mon) $2619 $2304$659
Aug 19(Thu) Aug 30(Mon) $2619 $2304$659
Aug 26(Thu) Sep 06(Mon) $2609 $2295$669
Sep 02(Thu) Sep 13(Mon) $2599 $2287$709
Sep 09(Thu) Sep 20(Mon) $2599 $2287$709
Sep 16(Thu) Sep 27(Mon) $2599 $2287$709
Sep 23(Thu) Oct 04(Mon) $2599 $2287$779
Oct 07(Thu) Oct 18(Mon) $2639 $2322$779
Oct 14(Thu) Oct 25(Mon) $2639 $2322$779
Oct 21(Thu) Nov 01(Mon) $2639 $2322$779
Oct 28(Thu) Nov 08(Mon) $2519 $2216$779
Nov 04(Thu) Nov 15(Mon) $2519 $2216$779
Nov 11(Thu) Nov 22(Mon) $2509 $2207$769
Nov 20(Sat) Dec 01(Wed) $2509 $2207$719
Dec 04(Sat) Dec 15(Wed) $2509 $2207$749
Dec 23(Thu) Jan 03(Mon) $2509 $2207$749

Remark: The prices in red reflect the current discount.

Price Includes
  • Three flights (economy class seat): Beijing - Xian - Shanghai - Hanoi
  • Hotel accommodation with breakfasts
  • A la carte lunches as itinerary specifies
  • Professional English-speaking guides
  • Drivers & air-conditioned vehicles
  • Entrance fees to tourist sites
  • Tips or gratuities for hotel porters
Price Excludes
  • International flight into Beijing and out Hanoi
  • Meals other than those mentioned in the itinerary
  • Personal expenses (such as laundry, telephone, drinks, etc.)
  • Tips or gratuities for guides and drivers
  • Personal travel insurance
  • China and Vietnam Visa fees
Why Travel With Us
  • Customer Reviews
  • Questions & Answers
  •  
    5.02 Reviews
    Richard G
    United States
    Posted on November 21, 2018
    The service we received from this agency and Abbey was excellent. They delivered on every promise to us, their people were exceedingly helpful and knowledgeable, and every financial dealing was exactly as represented. Abbey is beyond reproach and a truly professional consultant. I would recommend Travel China Guide and employees to anyone who intends to travel in Asia without hesitation.
    Jay D H
    usa
    Posted on October 27, 2018
    We have been back from the trip for more than two months. We enjoyed all of the spots. It was very hot during our visits, and it was nice that no one spot spent too much time outdoors in the direct sunlight. If we were outdoors, there always seems to be shade or a cooler place to rest for a short time.

    The meals were ABSOLUTELY excellent and plentiful. It would be impossible to pick one meal we enjoyed more than others. We were very surprised that there was very little duplication between meals. Every day was something new, fresh and delightful! All the guides met or exceeded our expectations. They were all fantastic. Candy, Helen, Frank as well as Luong in Vietnam were especially personable and friendly. I had left some expensive prescription sunglasses on the plane, and Candy helped me recover them. I am especially grateful to her for going the extra mile! All guides were extremely knowledgeable about the site, and the history and much, much more. All the guides spoke adequate English. The drivers were superb drivers. Very quiet, very professional. The hotels were superb. Sheraton hotel in Xian was the best. Breakfasts were amazing, and provided both Western and Asian dishes. Excellent! Thank you for the excellent trip! ... More
Check our global tours at
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings!
10% off - book 60 days in advance
5% off - book 30 days in advance