Palace of Earthly Tranquility Pictures

Palace of Earthly Tranquility (Kunninggong) is one of the three major palaces in the Inner Court of the Forbidden City. It was first built in 1420 of the Ming Dynasty as the palace of the empresses. However, it was damaged by two fires in 1514 and 1596. After reconstruction in the Qing Dynasty, it was mainly used as the wedding chamber of the emperor and empress and altar for worshipping the the deities of Shamanism.

Attraction Intro: Palace of Earthly Tranquility
1 of 6 photos
- Last modified on Jan. 15, 2017 -
Ask a Question
Question Summary (100 characters)
Details (optional) (2,000 characters)