Best of China from Hong Kong

SG30: 10 Days Small Group Tour to Hong Kong - Beijing - Xian - Shanghai
Tour Type: Small Group of 1-18 persons, guaranteed departures
Guide & Driver: English-speaking guide & air-conditioned, licensed limousine
Tour Highlights:
  • Must-see sights in China - the Great Wall, Forbidden City, Terracotta Warriors
  • Feel the vibrant atmosphere & explore bustling markets freely in Hong Kong
  • Cruise on the Huangpu River to take in the most impressive skylines of Shanghai
  • Walk into a local Chinese family, interact & dine with the hosts in their home
From $1579 per person Free Inquiry
1/6
Show all...
Expand All
Day 1 Arrival in Hong Kong
Airport-hotel transport by yourself.
Our group at Stanley Market, Hong Kong
Hong Kong is renowned for its convenient public transport, including subway, buses, trams, ferries, and taxis. You can easily get to the destinations by yourself. In this case, we only reserve the two-night hotel stay for you in Hong Kong. All transfers and sightseeing visits will be on your own arrangement. English is widely spoken in Hong Kong, so it will be quite easy for you explore the city freely.

Upon arrival at Hong Kong Airport, please find your way to B P International Hotel booked for you by us. The hotel occupies a favorable location. It is close to Jordan Subway Station, Kowloon Park and Temple Street Night Market. Also, you can find many shopping malls and restaurants nearby. There are two modes of transport from Hong Kong Airport to the hotel for your reference.

You can take Airport Express to Kowloon Station. It costs HKD 90, and takes about 20 minutes. Then, take free shuttle bus K4 to the hotel. Or, you can take bus A21 from the airport to Prudential Center in about 65 minutes and costing HKD33. Then, walk south for about 150 yards, and turn west onto Austin Road. Head forward for another 200 yards to the hotel.

Meals: No meal, advice freely available
Accommodation: B P International House
Day 2 Hong Kong
Free time for the day. (B)
You may take the Peak Tram to the Victoria Peak, where you can have a panoramic view of the rippling Victoria Harbor and the whole city. Or, you may promenade along the graceful Repulse Bay or Aberdeen Harbor to enjoy the seaside view. Additionally, you can buy some delicate handicrafts and souvenirs at Stanley Market.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Day 3 Hong Kong - Beijing
Take a flight to Beijing by yourself. Pick up & airport-hotel transfer. (B)
Today, you will head for the airport by shuttle bus or taxi on your own, and then catch a flight to Beijing. The air ticket will be booked for you by us in advance. Upon landing at Beijing Capital Airport, our professional guide will meet you outside the customs, and escort you to the hotel with a comfortable drive. The remainder of the day is free for you to rest or explore the city.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Accommodation: The Great Wall Hotel Beijing - the former Sheraton
Day 4 Beijing
Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, A la carte lunch, Temple of Heaven, Kung Fu Show. (B+L)
Forbidden City, Beijing
Today's China group tour from Hong Kong will start with Tiananmen Square. After breakfast at the hotel, you will be accompanied by our guide to this famous city square. The guide will show you around to see solemn buildings around the square, including Tiananmen Tower, Monument to People's Heroes, and National Museum of China. Behind Tiananmen Tower is the Forbidden City, the imperial palace during the Ming and Qing dynasties (1368 - 1911). Emperors used to deal with state affairs and resided with their royal family there. The grand halls and palaces with delicate decorations will remind you of their past glory. Then, you will enjoy an a la carte lunch at a fancy restaurant, which is valued at CNY 150 per person and included in our price. This restaurant serves you delicious and authentic Chinese food.

In the afternoon, the guide will lead you to the Temple of Heaven, where ancient emperors worshipped the Heaven and prayed for a good harvest. The evening will be highlighted by a wonderful Chinese Kung Fu Show at the Red Theater. The marvelous martial arts show will definitely astonish you.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Day 5 Beijing
Badaling Great Wall, Sacred Way, Bird's Nest (drive by). (B)
Badaling Great Wall
In the morning, our guide and driver will pick you up at the hotel and take you to the Badaling Great Wall, which resembles a giant dragon crawling along mountain ridges. When ascending the Great Wall, you can touch the antique blue bricks, admire the grand emplacements, or take photos inside exquisite watchtowers. It will leave you an unforgettable memory. Next, you will be led to a jade factory to see how jade ware is made. Today's lunch is on your own arrangement because the nearby restaurants provide food of low quality but high price. Remember to bring with you some snacks.

In the afternoon, the guide will accompany you to pay a visit to the Sacred Way. It is said to be a road leading to the heaven, and is lined with stone sculptures, including 12 human figures and 24 animals. En route to downtown Beijing, we will drive by Bird's Nest (National Stadium), so that you can enjoy its unique exterior from a distance.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Day 6 Beijing - Xian
Summer Palace, A la carte lunch, Hutong visit. Fly to Xian. Airport-hotel transfer. (B+L)
Today's itinerary starts with the Summer Palace, the imperial garden during the Qing Dynasty (1644-1911). The guide will show you around to see traditional pavilions and bridges in perfect harmony with Longevity Hill and Kunming Lake. After dropping by a pearl store, you can enjoy an a la carte lunch at a decent restaurant specially arranged for you. The lunch is valued at CNY 150 per person and included in our price.

In the afternoon, the guide will lead you to trace old Beijing culture at Hutongs and traditional courtyards. Beside experiencing the local lifestyle, you can also taste delicious local food there, like Wan Dou Huang (Pea Flour Cake) and Huo Shao (Sesame Seed Cake). Then, you will be taken to Beijing Capital Airport for a flight to Xian. Upon landing, our Xian local guide will escort you to the hotel and help you with check-in procedures.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Accommodation: Sheraton Hotel
Day 7 Xian
Terracotta Warriors, A local family visit, Home-cooked lunch, Xian Museum and Small Wild Goose Pagoda, Tang Dynasty Show with dumpling dinner. (B+L+D)
Terracotta Army, Xian
In the morning, our guide and driver will take you to the Terracotta Army Museum. The life-sized pottery warriors stand or squat in battle array, wearing different facial expressions. Also, you will see terracotta battle steeds, exquisite bronze chariots, as well as many kinds of ancient weapons there, showing the powerful military strength of the Qin Dynasty (221 - 207BC). After that, you will drop by a pottery-making factory to learn how the terracotta figures are made. Then, you will be invited to a local family and enjoy an a la carte lunch, which is valued at CNY 120 per person and included in our price. It will be an unforgettable experience to taste authentic home cooked food in a Chinese family.

In the afternoon, our guide will lead you to the Xian Museum and Small Wild Goose Pagoda, which was built during the Tang Dynasty (618 - 907) for storing Buddhist sutras brought back from India. You can ascend the top along the winding wooden stairs to have a bird's eye view of the surroundings. In the evening, you will be entertained with the fabulous Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show while enjoying the delicious Dumpling Dinner.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch, Dinner
Day 8 Xian - Shanghai
City Wall, Shaanxi History Museum, A la carte lunch. Fly to Shanghai. Airport-hotel transfer. (B+L)
Our clients riding bicycles on the City Wall
Today, our guide will accompany you to the ancient City Wall. You can take a leisure walk on the time-honored City Wall, or rent a bike to cycle around at your own expense. Then, we will come to Shaanxi History Museum to get a basic knowledge of the splendid history of Xian and the whole Shaanxi Province. There are 370, 000 cultural and historical relics on show, such as terracotta warriors, Tang tri-colored glazed pottery, bronze ware, and murals. Afterwards, an a la carte lunch will be served at a well-known restaurant, which is valued at CNY 120 per person and included in our price.

In the afternoon, the guide and driver will see you off at Xian Airport, where you will catch a flight to Shanghai. Upon landing, our Shanghai local guide will pick you up at the airport and take you to the hotel.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Accommodation: Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Day 9 Shanghai
Shanghai Museum, Yuyuan Garden, A la carte lunch, the Bund, Huangpu River cruise. (B+L)
Shanghai Bund
Today's itinerary starts with Shanghai Museum, which shows ancient Chinese artworks, including bronze ware, porcelain, paintings and calligraphy. Then, our guide will lead you to Yuyuan Garden, a typical representative of classical gardens of south region. There are ancient halls, small ponds, waterside pavilions, small bridges, old opera stages, as well as many cultural relics. The tranquil atmosphere will delight and relax you. After dropping by a silk shop, you will enjoy an a la carte farewell lunch which is valued at CNY 120 and included in our price.

Afterwards, we will arrange a visit to the waterfront sightseeing belt, the Bund, by Huangpu River. Walking around, you can see a number of skyscrapers on the eastern bank, and many exotic buildings on the western bank. Then, we will take a short cruise tour along the Huangpu River. Upon returning to the hotel lobby, the guide will say bon voyage to you.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Day 10 Departure from Shanghai
Hotel-airport transfer is on your own arrangement. A pleasant trip home! (B)
Today, your 10 days' China small group tour from Hong Kong comes to an end. You will head for the airport by yourself as the hotel-airport transfer service is not included because of the different flight schedules of your group members. We wish you a nice trip home!

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
B-- Breakfast L-- Lunch D-- Dinner
Prices are per person in US Dollars; departures are guaranteed even with one person!
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings
10% off - book 60 days in advance, 5% off - book 30 days in advance
MonthArrival DateDeparture DateDouble OccupancySingle Room Supplement 
Jul. 2018Jul 03(Tue) Jul 12(Thu) $1769$539
Jul 10(Tue) Jul 19(Thu) $1769$539
Jul 17(Tue) Jul 26(Thu) $1769$539
Jul 24(Tue) Aug 02(Thu) $1769$539
Jul 31(Tue) Aug 09(Thu) $1769$549
Aug. 2018Aug 07(Tue) Aug 16(Thu) $1769$549
Aug 14(Tue) Aug 23(Thu) $1769$549
Aug 28(Tue) Sep 06(Thu) $1739 $1652$559
Sep. 2018Sep 04(Tue) Sep 13(Thu) $1769 $1680$579
Sep 11(Tue) Sep 20(Thu) $1769 $1680$579
Sep 18(Tue) Sep 27(Thu) $1769 $1680$579
Oct. 2018Oct 02(Tue) Oct 11(Thu) $1769 $1592$579
Oct 09(Tue) Oct 18(Thu) $1819 $1637$639
Oct 16(Tue) Oct 25(Thu) $1819 $1637$639
Oct 23(Tue) Nov 01(Thu) $1819 $1637$639
Oct 30(Tue) Nov 08(Thu) $1759 $1583$659
Nov. 2018Nov 06(Tue) Nov 15(Thu) $1729 $1556$629
Nov 13(Tue) Nov 22(Thu) $1689 $1520$609
Dec. 2018Dec 06(Thu) Dec 15(Sat) $1579 $1421$539
Dec 20(Thu) Dec 29(Sat) $1579 $1421$539

Remarks: The prices in red reflect the current discount.

Prices are per person in US Dollars; departures are guaranteed even with one person!
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings
10% off - book 60 days in advance, 5% off - book 30 days in advance
MonthArrival DateDeparture DateDouble OccupancySingle Room Supplement 
Jan. 2019Jan 03(Thu) Jan 12(Sat) $1639 $1475$469
Jan 17(Thu) Jan 26(Sat) $1639 $1475$469
Feb. 2019Feb 22(Fri) Mar 03(Sun) $1629 $1466$469
Mar. 2019Mar 03(Sun) Mar 12(Tue) $1709 $1538$559
Mar 10(Sun) Mar 19(Tue) $1709 $1538$559
Mar 24(Sun) Apr 02(Tue) $1709 $1538$559
Apr. 2019Apr 02(Tue) Apr 11(Thu) $1829 $1646$569
Apr 09(Tue) Apr 18(Thu) $1829 $1646$569
Apr 16(Tue) Apr 25(Thu) $1829 $1646$569
Apr 23(Tue) May 02(Thu) $1829 $1646$569
May. 2019May 07(Tue) May 16(Thu) $1829 $1646$569
May 14(Tue) May 23(Thu) $1829 $1646$569
May 21(Tue) May 30(Thu) $1829 $1646$569
May 28(Tue) Jun 06(Thu) $1839 $1655$549
Jun. 2019Jun 04(Tue) Jun 13(Thu) $1799 $1619$519
Jun 11(Tue) Jun 20(Thu) $1799 $1619$519
Jun 18(Tue) Jun 27(Thu) $1799 $1619$519
Jun 25(Tue) Jul 04(Thu) $1799 $1619$519
Jul. 2019Jul 02(Tue) Jul 11(Thu) $1859 $1673$549
Jul 09(Tue) Jul 18(Thu) $1859 $1673$549
Jul 16(Tue) Jul 25(Thu) $1859 $1673$549
Jul 23(Tue) Aug 01(Thu) $1859 $1673$549
Jul 30(Tue) Aug 08(Thu) $1859 $1673$549
Aug. 2019Aug 06(Tue) Aug 15(Thu) $1859 $1673$549
Aug 13(Tue) Aug 22(Thu) $1859 $1673$549
Aug 20(Tue) Aug 29(Thu) $1859 $1673$549
Aug 27(Tue) Sep 05(Thu) $1829 $1646$569
Sep. 2019Sep 03(Tue) Sep 12(Thu) $1859 $1673$599
Sep 10(Tue) Sep 19(Thu) $1859 $1673$599
Sep 17(Tue) Sep 26(Thu) $1859 $1673$599
Oct. 2019Oct 01(Tue) Oct 10(Thu) $1909 $1718$659
Oct 08(Tue) Oct 17(Thu) $1909 $1718$659
Oct 15(Tue) Oct 24(Thu) $1909 $1718$659
Oct 22(Tue) Oct 31(Thu) $1909 $1718$659
Oct 29(Tue) Nov 07(Thu) $1829 $1646$659
Nov. 2019Nov 05(Tue) Nov 14(Thu) $1749 $1574$579
Nov 19(Tue) Nov 28(Thu) $1699 $1529$519
Dec. 2019Dec 06(Fri) Dec 15(Sun) $1679 $1511$519
Dec 20(Fri) Dec 29(Sun) $1679 $1511$519
Jan. 2020Jan 03(Fri) Jan 12(Sun) $1639 $1475$479
Feb. 2020Feb 11(Tue) Feb 20(Thu) $1629 $1466$469
Mar. 2020Mar 03(Tue) Mar 12(Thu) $1709 $1538$559
Mar 10(Tue) Mar 19(Thu) $1709 $1538$559
Mar 24(Tue) Apr 02(Thu) $1709 $1538$559
Price Includes
  • Domestic airfares
  • Hotel accommodation with breakfasts
  • A la carte lunches as itinerary specifies
  • Professional English-speaking guides
  • Drivers & air-conditioned vehicles
  • Entrance fees to tourist sites
  • Tips or gratuities for hotel porters
Price Excludes
  • International airfares
  • Entry Visa fees
  • Personal expenses
  • Tips or gratuities for guides and drivers
Why Travel With Us
TravelChinaGuide
Facebook Page
Questions & Answers
See more...
Ask a Question
The above information except your email adress will be published on the website.