Best of China from Shanghai

SG27: 9 Days Small Group Tour to Shanghai - Beijing - Xian - Shanghai
Tour Type: Small Group of 1-18 persons, guaranteed departures
Guide & Driver: English-speaking guide & air-conditioned, licensed limousine
Tour Highlights:
  • Must-see sights in China - the Great Wall, Forbidden City, Terracotta Warriors
  • View the soaring city skylines and feel the pulse of modern Shanghai
  • Walk into a local Chinese family, interact & dine with the hosts in their home
  • Enjoy a la carte meals, Kung Fu Show, Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Performance
From $1149 per person Free Inquiry
  • 1/5
  • 2/5
  • 3/5
  • 4/5
  • 5/5
Expand All
Collapse All
Day 1 Arrival in Shanghai
Airport pick-up & airport-hotel transfer.
Upon your arrival at Shanghai, our guide will be waiting for you outside the customs of the airport. The guide and the driver will transfer you to the 4-star Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, and they will help you with the check-in procedures.

We don't have any further arrangements for you today, as you will visit other major destinations in this small group itinerary first, and finally return to Shanghai for a visit before you leave China. Relax yourself in the hotel during the remainder of the day, or you can have a self-exploration with suggestions from the guide. 

Meals: No meals, advice freely available
Accommodation: Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Day 2 Shanghai - Beijing
Hotel-railway station transfer. A high speed train to Beijing, Railway station to hotel transfer. (B)
Our group visiting Badaling Great Wall, Beijing
After the buffet breakfast, our driver will pick you up from the hotel to Hongqiao Railway Station for an onward bullet train to Beijing. From 07:00 to 19:00, the train runs at a frequency of nearly 20 minutes, and the train duration lasts for around 4.5 hours. The ticket fare for a second class seat is already included in our price and we will choose a train with proper time schedule for you.

The hot water is offered onboard free of charge. You can also buy bottled water and some snacks. Prepare some food on your own before boarding.

Alternatively, frequent flights are available between these two cities, and the air journey takes about 2 hours. If you want a flight trip instead, please contact our travel consultant.

Upon arrival in Beijing, our guide will pick you up and then escort you to the Holiday Inn Central Plaza Hotel that we booked for you. After check-in, dine in a nearby restaurant on your own and have a good rest in the hotel. 

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Accommodation: The Great Wall Hotel Beijing - the former Sheraton
Day 3 Beijing
Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, A la carte lunch, Temple of Heaven, Kung Fu Show. (B+L)
After the breakfast, our guide will brief you on the following days' itinerary in the lobby of the hotel. And then you will set out for the first destination, Tiananmen Square. It is located at the heart of Beijing City, which is a symbolic square where many great events take place. After a leisure stroll on the square, you will be led to the Forbidden City behind the Tiananmen Tower. The well-preserved building complex used to be the imperial palace of 24 emperors in Ming and Qing dynasties (1368 - 1911). After 2-3 hours' visiting, it will be lunch time, and we specially serve you an a la carte lunch at a fancy restaurant to taste the authentic Chinese food. The meal is valued at CNY150 per person and is included in our price.

After a short break, continue your tour to the Temple of Heaven, an ancient imperial sacred place. The Echoing Wall inside is a manmade wonder, which you should never miss. The evening will be the highlight of the day. A wonderful Chinese Kung Fu show is waiting for you at the Red Theatre. If you are a Kung Fu fan, you will be surely amazed at the stunning performances. After this great feast of eyes, our guide and the driver will escort you to get back to the hotel.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Day 4 Beijing
Badaling Great Wall, Sacred Way, Bird's Nest (drive by). (B)
Forbidden City
A trip to the world wonder, Great Wall, will make your China group tours from Shanghai memorable and fruitful. Among all the sections, Badaling Great Wall is sure the best choice! After the breakfast, our guide and driver will pick you up and head for the Great Wall which is situated about 40 miles northwest of downtown Beijing. The drive ride takes about one hour. Climbing up the Great Wall, you would overtake the challenge for yourself.

The restaurants near the wall are in low quality but charge in high price. Thus we will not arrange the lunch for you today. You are advised to pack some easy-carry food for energy backup. Our guide will also be glad to offer you some suggestions.

Your trip will extend to the nearby Sacred Way, which is the approach path leading to Changling Tomb of the Ming Dynasty. The path starts with a memorial archway, and on the both sides of the path lie many stone statues of different animals. On your way back to the city proper, we will pass by the Bird's Nest (Olympic National Stadium), and you can appreciate it at a distance and capture the view with your camera.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Day 5 Beijing - Xian
Summer Palace, A la carte lunch, Hutong visit. Fly to Xian. Airport-hotel transfer. (B+L)
Our travel consultant with her clients
Our arrangement for today is to visit the Summer Palace, old hutongs and courtyards. The Summer Palace was once the resort of the imperial families. In the park, the highlight sights include the Longevity Hill, Long Gallery and Marble Boat. Rowing a boat on Kunming Lake is also worth a try. An a la carte lunch will be arranged in a decent restaurant, where you can taste the authentic Beijing cuisine. The meal is valued at CNY150 per person which is included in our price for this small group tour.

In the afternoon, following our guide, you will trace the history and culture by having a hutong tour. Hutong alley is a unique part of the local people's life. There are also well-preserved courtyard residences, where you can capture their leisure lifestyle.

At last, our Beijing guide will transfer you to the Capital Airport for a flight bound for anther ancient capital city, Xian. You will land after about two hours air journey. Our Xian guide and driver will receive you at the airport and help you to check in the 5-star Sheraton Hotel.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Accommodation: Sheraton Hotel
Day 6 Xian
Terracotta Warriors, A local family visit, Home-cooked lunch, Xian Museum and Small Wild Goose Pagoda, Tang Dynasty Show with dumpling dinner. (B+L+D)
Terracotta Army, Xian
The first destination of the day is the Terracotta Army Museum, a sound name card of Xian City. As Emperor Qin Shi Huang's underground guarding troop with a history of over 2,200 years, the pottery figures, horses and chariots are still perfectly remained. So far three pits are excavated and displayed to visitors, and you could see a lot of life-size soldiers arraying in the pits.

The one hour bus ride takes you back to downtown Xian, and a local family visit arranged by us comes after that. The hostess would cook an a la carte lunch to treat you in her house, and please make yourself at home. If interested, you can seize the chance to learn to cook some Chinese dishes.

After a short rest, our guide will take you to the nearby Xian Museum and Small Wild Goose Pagoda surviving from the Tang Dynasty (618 - 907 AD). Inside the park, you may strike the big bell to pray for health and affluence of your family. We will specially arrange today's dinner for you to try the famous local dumplings. After that, a splendid evening is in store when you are entertained by the fabulous Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show - a great way for you to imagine Xian's glorious past when it served as the capital of the Tang Dynasty.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, Home-cooked a la carte lunch, Dumpling Dinner
Day 7 Xian - Shanghai
City Wall, Shaanxi History Museum, A la carte lunch. Fly to Shanghai. Airport-hotel transfer. (B+L)
In the morning, you will visit the ancient City Wall with our guide's accompany. With a history of 600 years, the wall was constructed as the military defensive system in the Ming Dynasty. It surrounds the city center with a total length of 8.5 miles. Around the wall, there are a lot of local seniors doing morning exercise, such as sword playing and Tai Chi. You can either take a relaxing stroll or rent a bike to cycle on the wall.

Afterwards, our guide will transfer you to the Shaanxi History Museum. The exhibits in the museums amount to 370,000 pieces, which can be categorized into bronze ware, mural fresco, ceramics, mirrors and jade ware. There you can surely acquire more knowledge on the culture and history of this ancient city.

In the noon, an a la carte lunch valued at CNY120.00 per person is offered by us, ensuring you a joyful dining experience in a well-known local restaurant. Thereafter the guide and the driver will see you off in the airport and you will board a flight to Shanghai in the afternoon. Landing in Shanghai again, the Pullman Shanghai Jing An is still well arranged for you. 

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Accommodation: Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Day 8 Shanghai
Shanghai Museum, Yuyuan Garden, A la carte lunch, the Bund, Huangpu River cruise. (B+L)
Shanghai Bund
Your Shanghai tour will start with Shanghai Museum, where you can have a general overview about the past of this metropolis. After 2 hours' visiting, our guide will lead you to the next stop, Yuyuan Garden. It used to be the dwelling place owned by a celebrity in the Ming Dynasty, which is delicate and elegant in design. There you may witness the unparalleled classic garden architecture.

Since this is the last day of your guided China group tour, an a la carte farewell lunch will be served at a popular local restaurant, which is valued at CNY120 per person and included in our price. After lunch, the guide will take you to the Bund directly. The Bund area along the Huangpu River is the best place to appreciate the modern glamour of Shanghai, where skyscrapers tower around. You will also have a short cruise tour on the Huangpu River.

Upon returning to the hotel, our tour guide will say bon voyage to you in the lobby. 

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Day 9 Departure from Shanghai
Hotel-airport transfer is on your own arrangement. A pleasant trip home! (B)
Your China tour comes to an end today, and a homebound flight is waiting for you. Due to different flight schedules, the hotel-airport escorting service is not included, so you need to transfer to the airport on your own. Taxi is a good choice with less expensive price. If you want to extend your stay and explore further in China, please feel free to contact our travel consultant. We wish you a nice journey home.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
B-- Breakfast L-- Lunch D-- Dinner
Prices are per person in US Dollars; departures are guaranteed even with one person!
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings
10% off - book 60 days in advance, 5% off - book 30 days in advance
MonthArrival DateDeparture DateDouble OccupancySingle Room Supplement 
Oct. 2018Oct 03(Wed) Oct 11(Thu) $1309$489
Oct 10(Wed) Oct 18(Thu) $1309$489
Oct 17(Wed) Oct 25(Thu) $1309$489
Oct 24(Wed) Nov 01(Thu) $1309$489
Oct 31(Wed) Nov 08(Thu) $1309 $1243$559
Nov. 2018Nov 07(Wed) Nov 15(Thu) $1229 $1167$469
Nov 14(Wed) Nov 22(Thu) $1179 $1120$449
Dec. 2018Dec 07(Fri) Dec 15(Sat) $1149 $1034$449
Dec 21(Fri) Dec 29(Sat) $1149 $1034$449

Remark: The prices in red reflect the current discount.

Prices are per person in US Dollars; departures are guaranteed even with one person!
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings
12% off - book by Dec 31, 2018; 10% off - book by Jan 31, 2019
MonthArrival DateDeparture DateDouble OccupancySingle Room Supplement 
Jan. 2019Jan 04(Fri) Jan 12(Sat) $1239 $1090$399
Jan 18(Fri) Jan 26(Sat) $1239 $1090$399
Feb. 2019Feb 23(Sat) Mar 03(Sun) $1249 $1099$399
Mar. 2019Mar 04(Mon) Mar 12(Tue) $1279 $1125$439
Mar 11(Mon) Mar 19(Tue) $1279 $1125$439
Mar 25(Mon) Apr 02(Tue) $1279 $1125$439
Apr. 2019Apr 03(Wed) Apr 11(Thu) $1409 $1239$459
Apr 10(Wed) Apr 18(Thu) $1409 $1239$459
Apr 17(Wed) Apr 25(Thu) $1409 $1239$459
Apr 24(Wed) May 02(Thu) $1409 $1239$459
May. 2019May 08(Wed) May 16(Thu) $1409 $1239$459
May 15(Wed) May 23(Thu) $1409 $1239$459
May 22(Wed) May 30(Thu) $1409 $1239$459
May 29(Wed) Jun 06(Thu) $1419 $1248$449
Jun. 2019Jun 05(Wed) Jun 13(Thu) $1419 $1248$449
Jun 12(Wed) Jun 20(Thu) $1419 $1248$449
Jun 19(Wed) Jun 27(Thu) $1419 $1248$449
Jun 26(Wed) Jul 04(Thu) $1419 $1248$449
Jul. 2019Jul 03(Wed) Jul 11(Thu) $1429 $1257$439
Jul 10(Wed) Jul 18(Thu) $1429 $1257$439
Jul 17(Wed) Jul 25(Thu) $1429 $1257$439
Jul 24(Wed) Aug 01(Thu) $1429 $1257$439
Jul 31(Wed) Aug 08(Thu) $1429 $1257$439
Aug. 2019Aug 07(Wed) Aug 15(Thu) $1429 $1257$439
Aug 14(Wed) Aug 22(Thu) $1429 $1257$439
Aug 21(Wed) Aug 29(Thu) $1429 $1257$439
Aug 28(Wed) Sep 05(Thu) $1399 $1231$449
Sep. 2019Sep 04(Wed) Sep 12(Thu) $1419 $1248$479
Sep 11(Wed) Sep 19(Thu) $1419 $1248$479
Sep 18(Wed) Sep 26(Thu) $1419 $1248$479
Oct. 2019Oct 02(Wed) Oct 10(Thu) $1419 $1248$479
Oct 09(Wed) Oct 17(Thu) $1419 $1248$479
Oct 16(Wed) Oct 24(Thu) $1419 $1248$479
Oct 23(Wed) Oct 31(Thu) $1419 $1248$479
Oct 30(Wed) Nov 07(Thu) $1339 $1178$479
Nov. 2019Nov 06(Wed) Nov 14(Thu) $1339 $1178$479
Nov 20(Wed) Nov 28(Thu) $1279 $1125$419
Dec. 2019Dec 07(Sat) Dec 15(Sun) $1249 $1099$399
Dec 21(Sat) Dec 29(Sun) $1249 $1099$399
Jan. 2020Jan 04(Sat) Jan 12(Sun) $1249 $1124$399
Feb. 2020Feb 12(Wed) Feb 20(Thu) $1249 $1124$399
Mar. 2020Mar 04(Wed) Mar 12(Thu) $1269 $1142$429
Mar 11(Wed) Mar 19(Thu) $1269 $1142$429
Mar 25(Wed) Apr 02(Thu) $1269 $1142$429

Remark: The prices in red reflect 12% discount.

Price Includes
  • Domestic airfares & train fares
  • Hotel accommodation with breakfasts
  • A la carte lunches as itinerary specifies
  • Professional English-speaking guides
  • Drivers & air-conditioned vehicles
  • Entrance fees to tourist sites
  • Tips or gratuities for hotel porters
Price Excludes
  • International airfares
  • Entry Visa fees
  • Personal expenses
  • Tips or gratuities for guides and drivers
Why Travel With Us
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings!
10% off - book 60 days in advance
5% off - book 30 days in advance