• Free Inquiry
  • Lowest Price
  • Expert Guide & Driver
  • Downtown Hotels
  • A La Carte Meals
  • Chinese Family Visit
  • Free Cooking Class
  • Best Flight Times
  • Kudos from Clients
  • No Hidden Charges
  • No Forced Shopping
Best of China from Shanghai
SG27: 9 Days Small Group Shanghai Beijing Xian Shanghai
From $1049 per person Free Inquiry
  • Overview
  • Full Itinerary
  • Dates & Prices
  • Price Includes
Day01 Arrival in Shanghai
Airport pick-up & airport-hotel transfer.

Accommodation: Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Day02 Shanghai - Beijing
Hotel-railway station transfer. A high speed train to Beijing, Railway station to hotel transfer. (B)

Accommodation: Novotel Beijing Xin Qiao
Day03 Beijing
Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, A la carte lunch, Temple of Heaven, Kung Fu Show. (B+L)
Day04 Beijing
Badaling Great Wall, a jade factory, Sacred Way, Bird's Nest (drive by). (B)
Day05 Beijing - Xian
Summer Palace, a pearl store, A la carte lunch, Hutong visit. Fly to Xian. Airport-hotel transfer. (B+L)

Accommodation: Sheraton Hotel
Day06 Xian
Terracotta Warriors, a pottery-making factory, A local family visit, Home-cooked lunch, Xian Museum and Small Wild Goose Pagoda, Tang Dynasty Show with dumpling dinner. (B+L+D)
Day07 Xian - Shanghai
City Wall, Shaanxi History Museum, A la carte lunch. Fly to Shanghai. Airport-hotel transfer. (B+L)

Accommodation: Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Day08 Shanghai
Shanghai Museum, Yuyuan Garden, a silk shop, A la carte lunch, the Bund, Nanjing Road, an art and cultural street. (B+L)
Day09 Departure from Shanghai
Hotel-airport transfer is on your own arrangement. A pleasant trip home! (B)
B-- Breakfast L-- Lunch D-- Dinner
View Full Itinerary
Day01 Arrival in Shanghai
Upon your arrival at Shanghai, our guide will be waiting for you outside the customs of the airport. The guide and the driver will transfer you to the 4-star Pullman Shanghai Jing An Hotel, and they will help you with the check-in procedures.

We don't have any further arrangements for you today, as you will visit other major destinations in this small group itinerary first, and finally return to Shanghai for a visit before you leave China. Relax yourself in the hotel during the remainder of the day, or you can have a self-exploration with suggestions from the guide. 

Meals: No meals, advice freely available
Accommodation: Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Day02 Shanghai - Beijing
Our group visiting Badaling Great Wall, Beijing
After the buffet breakfast, our driver will pick you up from the hotel to Hongqiao Railway Station for an onward bullet train to Beijing. From 07:00 to 19:00, the train runs at a frequency of nearly 20 minutes, and the train duration lasts for around 5.5 hours. The ticket fare for a second class seat is already included in our price and we will choose a train with proper time schedule for you.

The hot water is offered onboard free of charge. You can also buy bottled water and some snacks, Prepare some food on your own before boarding.

Alternatively, frequent flights are available between these two cities, and the air journey takes about 2 hours. If you want a flight trip instead, please contact our travel consultant.

Upon arrival in Beijing, our guide will pick you up and then escort you to the Holiday Inn Central Plaza Hotel that we booked for you. After check-in, dine in a nearby restaurant on your own and have a good rest in the hotel. 

Meals: Western buffet breakfast

Accommodation: Novotel Beijing Xin Qiao
Day03 Beijing
After the breakfast, our guide will brief you on the following days' itinerary in the lobby of the hotel. And then you will set out for the first destination, Tiananmen Square. It is located at the heart of Beijing City, which is a symbolic square where many great events take place. After a leisure stroll on the square, you will be led to the Forbidden City behind the Tiananmen Tower. The well-preserved building complex used to be the imperial palace of 24 emperors in Ming and Qing dynasties (1368 - 1911). After 2-3 hours' visiting, it will be lunch time, and we specially serve you an a la carte lunch at a fancy restaurant to taste the authentic Chinese food. The meal is valued at CNY150 per person and is included in our price.

After a short break, continue your tour to the Temple of Heaven, an ancient imperial sacred place. The Echoing Wall inside is a manmade wonder, which you should never miss. The evening will be the highlight of the day. A wonderful Chinese Kung Fu show is waiting for you at the Red Theatre. If you are a Kung Fu fan, you will be surely amazed at the stunning performances. After this great feast of eyes, our guide and the driver will escort you to get back to the hotel.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Day04 Beijing
Forbidden City
A trip to the world wonder, Great Wall, will make your China group tours from Shanghai memorable and fruitful. Among all the sections, Badaling Great Wall is sure the best choice! After the breakfast, our guide and driver will pick you up and head for the Great Wall which is situated about 40 miles northwest of downtown Beijing. The drive ride takes about one hour. Climbing up the Great Wall, you would overtake the challenge for yourself.

The restaurants near the wall are in low quality but charge in high price. Thus we will not arrange the lunch for you today. You are advised to pack some easy-carry food for energy backup. Our guide will also be glad to offer you some suggestions. After that, we will drop by a jade factory, where you can witness the process of jade carving and polishing.

Your trip will extend to the nearby Sacred Way, which is the approach path leading to Changling Tomb of the Ming Dynasty. The path starts with a memorial archway, and on the both sides of the path lie many stone statues of different animals. On your way back to the city proper, we will pass by the Bird's Nest (Olympic National Stadium), and you can appreciate it at a distance and capture the view with your camera.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Day05 Beijing - Xian
Our travel consultant with her clients
Our arrangement for today is to visit the Summer Palace, old hutongs and courtyards. The Summer Palace was once the resort of the imperial families. In the park, the highlight sights include the Longevity Hill, Long Gallery and Marble Boat. Rowing a boat on Kunming Lake is also worth a try. After the visit, our guide will take you to a pearl store for a short break. An a la carte lunch will be arranged in a decent restaurant, where you can taste the authentic Beijing cuisine. The meal is valued at CNY150 per person which is included in our price for this small group tour.

In the afternoon, following our guide, you will trace the history and culture by having a hutong tour. Hutong alley is a unique part of the local people's life. There are also well-preserved courtyard residences, where you can capture their leisure lifestyle.

At last, our Beijing guide will transfer you to the Capital Airport for a flight bound for anther ancient capital city, Xian. You will land after about two hours air journey. Our Xian guide and driver will receive you at the airport and help you to check in the 5-star Sheraton Hotel.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Accommodation: Sheraton Hotel
Day06 Xian
Terracotta Army, Xian
The first destination of the day is the Terracotta Army Museum, a sound name card of Xian City. As Emperor Qin Shi Huang's underground guarding troop with a history of over 2,200 years, the pottery figures, horses and chariots are still perfectly remained. So far three pits are excavated and displayed to visitors, and you could see a lot of life-size soldiers arraying in the pits. After the visit, our guide will lead you to a pottery art shop, and there you may learn how the pottery crafts are made.

The one hour bus ride takes you back to downtown Xian, and a local family visit arranged by us comes after that. The hostess would cook an a la carte lunch to treat you in her house, and please make yourself at home. If interested, you can seize the chance to learn to cook some Chinese dishes.

After a short rest, our guide will take you to the nearby Xian Museum and Small Wild Goose Pagoda surviving from the Tang Dynasty (618 - 907 AD). Inside the park, you may strike the big bell to pray for health and affluence of your family. We will specially arrange today's dinner for you to try the famous local dumplings. After that, a splendid evening is in store when you are entertained by the fabulous Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show - a great way for you to imagine Xian's glorious past when it served as the capital of the Tang Dynasty.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, Home-cooked a la carte lunch, Dumpling Dinner
Day07 Xian - Shanghai
In the morning, you will visit the ancient City Wall with our guide's accompany. With a history of 600 years, the wall was constructed as the military defensive system in the Ming Dynasty. It surrounds the city center with a total length of 8.5 miles. Around the wall, there are a lot of local seniors doing morning exercise, such as sword playing and Tai Chi. You can either take a relaxing stroll or rent a bike to cycle on the wall.

Afterwards, our guide will transfer you to the Shaanxi History Museum. The exhibits in the museums amount to 370,000 pieces, which can be categorized into bronze ware, mural fresco, ceramics, mirrors and jade ware. There you can surely acquire more knowledge on the culture and history of this ancient city.

In the noon, an a la carte lunch valued at CNY120.00 per person is offered by us, ensuring you a joyful dining experience in a well-known local restaurant. Thereafter the guide and the driver will see you off in the airport and you will board a flight to Shanghai in the afternoon. Landing in Shanghai again, the Pullman Shanghai Jing An is still well arranged for you. 

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Accommodation: Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Day08 Shanghai
Shanghai Bund
Your Shanghai tour will start with Shanghai Museum, where you can have a general overview about the past of this metropolis. After 2 hours' visiting, our guide will lead you to the next stop, Yuyuan Garden. It used to be the dwelling place owned by a celebrity in the Ming Dynasty, which is delicate and elegant in design. There you may witness the unparalleled classic garden architecture. Exit the garden, following our guide, you will drop by a silk shop where you can find quality silk products like handkerchiefs, scarves and clothes.

Since this is the last day of your guided China group tour, an a la carte farewell lunch will be served at a popular local restaurant, which is valued at CNY120 per person and included in our price. After lunch, the guide will take you to the Bund directly. The Bund area along the Huangpu River is the best place to appreciate the modern glamour of Shanghai, where skyscrapers tower around. Strolling west all the way, the guide will show you the Nanjing Road, a famous commercial street for shopping.

Our last stop for you is Tianzifang, a culture and art quarter, which is clustered with galleries, crafts shops, workshops, studios, restaurants, tea houses and cafés. Just select some souvenirs for your memory. Upon returning to the hotel, our tour guide will say bon voyage to you in the lobby. 

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Day09 Departure from Shanghai
Your China tour comes to an end today, and a homebound flight is waiting for you. Due to different flight schedules, the hotel-airport escorting service is not included, so you need to transfer to the airport on your own. Taxi is a good choice with less expensive price. If you want to extend your stay and explore further in China, please feel free to contact our travel consultant. We wish you a nice journey home.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
  • 2017 Prices
  • 2018 Prices
Prices are per person in US Dollars; departures are guaranteed even with one person! Currency Converter
MonthArrival DateDeparture DateDouble OccupancySingle Room Supplement 
Jan. 2017Jan 04(Wed) Jan 12(Thu) $1049$359Full
Feb. 2017Feb 13(Mon) Feb 21(Tue) $1049$359Full
Mar. 2017Mar 04(Sat) Mar 12(Sun) $1079$389Full
Apr. 2017Apr 05(Wed) Apr 13(Thu) $1249$449Full
May. 2017May 03(Wed) May 11(Thu) $1249$449
May 10(Wed) May 18(Thu) $1249$449
May 17(Wed) May 25(Thu) $1249$449
May 24(Wed) Jun 01(Thu) $1249$449
May 31(Wed) Jun 08(Thu) $1189$399
Jun. 2017Jun 07(Wed) Jun 15(Thu) $1189$399
Jun 14(Wed) Jun 22(Thu) $1189$399
Jun 21(Wed) Jun 29(Thu) $1189$399
Jun 28(Wed) Jul 06(Thu) $1239 $1115$399
Jul. 2017Jul 05(Wed) Jul 13(Thu) $1239 $1115$399
Jul 12(Wed) Jul 20(Thu) $1239 $1115$399
Jul 19(Wed) Jul 27(Thu) $1239 $1115$399
Jul 26(Wed) Aug 03(Thu) $1239 $1115$399
Aug. 2017Aug 02(Wed) Aug 10(Thu) $1249 $1124$409
Aug 09(Wed) Aug 17(Thu) $1249 $1124$409
Aug 16(Wed) Aug 24(Thu) $1249 $1124$409
Aug 23(Wed) Aug 31(Thu) $1249 $1124$409
Aug 30(Wed) Sep 07(Thu) $1239 $1115$489
Sep. 2017Sep 06(Wed) Sep 14(Thu) $1249 $1124$449
Sep 13(Wed) Sep 21(Thu) $1249 $1124$449
Sep 20(Wed) Sep 28(Thu) $1249 $1124$449
Oct. 2017Oct 04(Wed) Oct 12(Thu) $1249 $1124$449
Oct 11(Wed) Oct 19(Thu) $1249 $1124$449
Oct 18(Wed) Oct 26(Thu) $1249 $1124$449
Oct 25(Wed) Nov 02(Thu) $1249 $1124$449
Nov. 2017Nov 01(Wed) Nov 09(Thu) $1119 $1007$439
Nov 08(Wed) Nov 16(Thu) $1119 $1007$439
Nov 15(Wed) Nov 23(Thu) $1099 $989$419
Dec. 2017Dec 08(Fri) Dec 16(Sat) $1079 $971$389
Dec 21(Thu) Dec 29(Fri) $1079 $971$389
Jan. 2018Jan 05(Fri) Jan 13(Sat) $1079 $971$389
Feb. 2018Feb 02(Fri) Feb 10(Sat) $1079 $971$389
Mar. 2018Mar 03(Sat) Mar 11(Sun) $1079 $971$389
Mar 10(Sat) Mar 18(Sun) $1079 $971$389
Mar 24(Sat) Apr 01(Sun) $1079 $971$389

Remark: Prices in red reflect the 10% discount.

Price Includes
  • Domestic airfares & train fares
  • Hotel accommodation with breakfasts
  • A la carte lunches as itinerary specifies
  • Professional English-speaking guides
  • Drivers & air-conditioned vehicles
  • Entrance fees to tourist sites
  • Tips or gratuities for hotel porters
Price Excludes
  • International airfares
  • Entry Visa fees
  • Personal expenses
  • Tips or gratuities for guides and drivers
For more information on reservation, payment and cancellation, please read Terms & Conditions.
Book a 2017 tour 30 days in advance and you will enjoy a guaranteed discount of 10% off the total price. The promotion is valid until May 31, 2017.