Best of China from Shanghai

SG32: 9 Days Small Group Tour of Shanghai - Beijing - Xi'an - Shanghai
Tour Type: Small Group of 1-18 travelers, guaranteed departures
Guide & Driver: English-speaking guide, experienced driver with an air-conditioned coach
Accommodation: 8 nights, nice 5-star hotels
Meals: 8 western buffet breakfasts, 5 lunches with some being a la carte style, 1 dumpling dinner
Tour Highlights:
  • Must-see sights in China - Mutianyu Great Wall, Forbidden City, Terracotta Army
  • View the soaring city skylines and feel the pulse of modern Shanghai
  • Walk into a local Chinese family, interact & dine with the hosts in their home
  • Enjoy a la carte meals, Kung Fu Show, Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Performance
From $1389 per person Free Inquiry
From US$1389 per person
Select Date and Travelers
Adult(>11 years old):
Child(2-11 years old):
Expand All
Collapse All
Day 1 Arrival in Shanghai
Upon your arrival in Shanghai, our guide will be waiting for you outside the customs of the airport. The guide and the driver will transfer you to the reserved hotel, and they will help you with the check-in procedures.

We don't have any further arrangements for you today, as you will visit other major destinations in this small group itinerary first, and finally return to Shanghai for a visit before you leave China. Relax yourself in the hotel during the remainder of the day, or you can have a self-exploration with suggestions from the guide.
 
Accommodation: Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Day 2 Shanghai - Beijing
Our group visiting the Great Wall, Beijing
After the buffet breakfast at the hotel, we will drive you from the hotel to Hongqiao Railway Station for an onward high speed train to Beijing. From 07:00 to 19:00, the train runs at a frequency of nearly 20 minutes, and the train duration lasts for around 4.5 hours. The ticket fare for a second class seat is already included in our price and we will choose a train with proper time schedule for you.

Alternatively, frequent flights are available between these two cities, and the air journey takes about 2 hours. If you want a flight trip instead, please contact our travel consultant.

When you arrive in Beijing, we will pick you up and then escort you to the hotel that we reserve for you. After check-in, dine in a nearby restaurant on your own and have a good rest in the hotel. 

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Accommodation: The Great Wall Hotel Beijing - the former Sheraton
Day 3 Beijing
A tour briefing, Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, A la carte welcome lunch with Peking Duck, Temple of Heaven, Chinese Kung Fu Show. (B+L)
Forbidden City
After breakfast, our guide will brief you on the following days' itinerary in the lobby of the hotel. And then you will set out for the first destination, Tiananmen Square. It is located at the heart of Beijing City, which is a symbolic square where many great events take place. After a leisure stroll on the square, you will be led to the Forbidden City behind the Tiananmen Tower. The well-preserved building complex used to be the imperial palace of 24 emperors in Ming and Qing dynasties (1368 - 1911). After 2-3 hours' visiting, it will be lunch time, and we specially serve you an a la carte lunch at a fancy restaurant to taste the real Chinese food and the famous Peking Roast Duck. The meal is valued at CNY150 per person and is included in our price.

After a short break, continue your visit to the Temple of Heaven, an ancient imperial sacred place. The Echoing Wall inside is a manmade wonder, which you should never miss. The evening will be the highlight of the day. A wonderful Chinese Kung Fu show is waiting for you at the Red Theatre. If you are a Kung Fu fan, you will be surely amazed at the stunning performances. After this great feast of eyes, our guide and the driver will escort you back to the hotel.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte welcome lunch
Day 4 Beijing
Mutianyu Great Wall with a round-trip cable car, A toast with red wine on the wall. (B)
A trip to the world wonder, Great Wall, will make your China group tours from Shanghai memorable and fruitful. After breakfast, our guide and driver will pick you up and head for Mutianyu Great Wall, about 45 miles to the north of Beijing. The drive takes around 2 hours. As you ascend the wall by cable car, you will be impressed with the splendor and majesty of this great project. Two more hours later, you will take the cable car down from the wall.

The restaurants near the wall are in low quality. Thus we will not arrange the lunch for you today. You are advised to pack some easy-carry food for energy backup. Our guide will also be glad to offer you some suggestions.

Then we will get back to the city proper and head for a thriving local market providing a wide variety of things including clothing, souvenirs and local products.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Day 5 Beijing - Xi'an
Summer Palace, Olympic Bird's Nest, A la carte lunch, Hutong Rickshaw Tour, Experience Chinese Paper Cutting, Fly to Xi'an, Airport-hotel transfer. (B+L)
Terracotta Army, Xi'an
Our arrangement for today is to visit the Summer Palace, Olympic Bird's Nest, old hutongs and courtyards. The Summer Palace was once the resort of the imperial families. In the park, the highlight sights include the Longevity Hill, Long Gallery and Marble Boat. Rowing a boat on Kunming Lake is also worth a try. Olympic National Stadium, also named Bird's Nest, is the main stadium of 2008 Beijing Olympic Games. We will pass by and appreciate it at a distance.

An a la carte lunch will be arranged in a decent restaurant, where you can taste the authentic Beijing cuisine. The meal is valued at CNY150 per person which is included in our price for this small group tour.

After lunch, following our guide, you will trace the history and culture by having a hutong tour. Hutong alley is a unique part of the local people's life. There are also well-preserved courtyard residences, where you can capture their leisure lifestyle. Moreover, you will have a chance to experience Chinese paper cutting during the Hutong visit. At last, our Beijing guide will transfer you to the Capital Airport for a flight bound for another ancient capital city, Xi'an. You will land after about two hours air journey. Our Xi'an guide and driver will greet you at the airport and help you check in at the hotel.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Accommodation: Sheraton Hotel
Day 6 Xi'an
Terracotta Army, A local family visit and an authentic home-cooked lunch, Small Wild Goose Pagoda and Xi'an Museum, Tang Dynasty Show with dumpling dinner. (B+L+D)
Our travel consultant Abbey with her clients
The first destination of the day is the Terracotta Army, a sound name card of Xi'an City. As Emperor Qin Shi Huang's underground guarding troop with a history of over 2,200 years, the pottery figures, horses and chariots are still perfectly remained. So far three pits are excavated and displayed to visitors, and you could see a lot of life-size soldiers arraying in the pits.

The one hour bus ride takes you back to downtown Xi'an, and a local family visit arranged by us comes after that. The hostess would cook an a la carte lunch to treat you in her house, and please make yourself at home. If interested, you can seize the chance to learn to cook some Chinese dishes.

After a short rest, our guide will take you to the nearby Xi'an Museum and Small Wild Goose Pagoda surviving from the Tang Dynasty (618 - 907 AD). Inside the temple, you may strike the big bell to pray for health and affluence of your family. We will specially arrange today's dinner for you to try the famous local dumplings. After that, a splendid evening is in store when you are entertained by the fabulous Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show - a great way for you to imagine Xi'an's glorious past when it served as the capital of the Tang Dynasty.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, Home-cooked a la carte lunch, Dumpling Dinner
 Friendly Tips

Since the theater is usually not open in Jan, Feb, Mar and Dec, we will not arrange the show and dumpling dinner for tours starting during the periods. Clients will enjoy free time to relax.
Day 7 Xi'an - Shanghai
Observe local life in the park, Tai Chi practice, Xi'an City Wall, A la carte lunch, Fly to Shanghai, Airport-hotel transfer. (B+L)
You will spend the whole morning in the City Wall area. Surrounding the wall, there is a park where you can see lots of seniors doing morning exercises, such as sword playing and Tai Chi. Here we will invite a master to teach you how to practice Tai Chi. Then you will visit the ancient City Wall with our guide's accompany. With a history of 600 years, the wall was constructed as the military defensive system in the Ming Dynasty. It surrounds the city center with a total length of 8.5 miles. You can either take a relaxing stroll or rent a bike to cycle on the wall. The bike rental fee is your responsibility.

In the noon, an a la carte lunch valued at CNY120.00 per person is offered by us, ensuring you a joyful dining experience in a well-known local restaurant. Thereafter the guide and the driver will see you off in the airport and you will board a flight to Shanghai in the afternoon. Landing in Shanghai again, you will be met and accompanied to check in at the hotel.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Accommodation: Sheraton Shanghai Hongkou Hotel
Day 8 Shanghai
Shanghai Museum, Yu Garden and its traditional bazaar, A la carte farewell lunch, Former French Concession, the Bund and Huangpu River cruise. (B+L)
Shanghai Bund
Your Shanghai tour will start with Shanghai Museum, where you can have a general overview about the past of this metropolis. After 2 hours' visiting, our guide will lead you to the next stop, Yu Garden. It used to be the dwelling place owned by a celebrity in the Ming Dynasty, which is delicate and elegant in design. There you may witness the unparalleled classic garden architecture. Then move on to a close-by bazaar which is a good place to taste local snacks and purchase souvenirs or craftworks for your family or friends. 

Since this is the last day of your guided China group tour, an a la carte farewell lunch will be served at a popular local restaurant, which is valued at CNY120 per person and included in our price. 

After lunch, the guide will take you to visit the Former French Concession and then go head to the Bund. The Bund area along the Huangpu River is the best place to appreciate the modern glamour of Shanghai, where skyscrapers tower around. You will also have a one-hour cruise tour on the Huangpu River. Upon returning to the hotel, our guide will say bon voyage to you in the lobby. 

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte farewell lunch
Day 9 Departure from Shanghai
Please check out before 12:00. We recommend the most efficient and money-saving way - taking a taxi by yourself from hotel to the airport, A pleasant trip home! (B)
Your China tour comes to an end today, and a homebound flight is waiting for you. Due to different flight schedules, the hotel-airport escorting service is not included, so you need to transfer to the airport on your own. Taxi is a good choice with less expensive price. If you want to extend your stay and explore further in China, please feel free to contact our travel consultant. We wish you a nice journey home.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
B-- Breakfast L-- Lunch D-- Dinner
Prices are per person in US Dollars; departures are guaranteed even with one person!
Arrival DateDeparture DateDouble OccupancySingle Room Supplement 
Jul 15(Wed)Jul 23(Thu)$1729$539
Jul 22(Wed)Jul 30(Thu)$1729$539
Jul 29(Wed)Aug 06(Thu)$1729$539
Aug 05(Wed)Aug 13(Thu)$1729$539
Aug 12(Wed)Aug 20(Thu)$1729$539
Aug 19(Wed)Aug 27(Thu)$1729$539
Aug 26(Wed)Sep 03(Thu)$1719$549
Sep 02(Wed)Sep 10(Thu)$1709$589
Sep 09(Wed)Sep 17(Thu)$1709$589
Sep 16(Wed)Sep 24(Thu)$1709$589
Sep 23(Wed)Oct 01(Thu)$1709$589
Oct 07(Wed)Oct 15(Thu)$1709$589
Oct 14(Wed)Oct 22(Thu)$1709$589
Oct 21(Wed)Oct 29(Thu)$1709$589
Oct 28(Wed)Nov 05(Thu)$1579$589
Nov 04(Wed)Nov 12(Thu)$1579$589
Nov 11(Wed)Nov 19(Thu)$1579$579
Nov 18(Wed)Nov 26(Thu)$1499$519
Dec 08(Tue)Dec 16(Wed)$1489$509
Dec 22(Tue)Dec 30(Wed)$1489$509
Prices are per person in US Dollars; departures are guaranteed even with one person!
Arrival DateDeparture DateDouble OccupancySingle Room Supplement 
Jan 08(Fri)Jan 16(Sat)$1389$469
Feb 19(Fri)Feb 27(Sat)$1389$469
Mar 03(Wed)Mar 11(Thu)$1429$509
Mar 10(Wed)Mar 18(Thu)$1429$509
Mar 24(Wed)Apr 01(Thu)$1429$509
Mar 31(Wed)Apr 08(Thu)$1579$529
Apr 07(Wed)Apr 15(Thu)$1579$529
Apr 14(Wed)Apr 22(Thu)$1579$529
Apr 21(Wed)Apr 29(Thu)$1579$529
May 05(Wed)May 13(Thu)$1579$529
May 12(Wed)May 20(Thu)$1579$529
May 19(Wed)May 27(Thu)$1579$529
May 26(Wed)Jun 03(Thu)$1589$509
Jun 02(Wed)Jun 10(Thu)$1589$509
Jun 09(Wed)Jun 17(Thu)$1589$509
Jun 16(Wed)Jun 24(Thu)$1589$509
Jun 23(Wed)Jul 01(Thu)$1589$509
Jun 30(Wed)Jul 08(Thu)$1619$509
Jul 07(Wed)Jul 15(Thu)$1619$509
Jul 14(Wed)Jul 22(Thu)$1619$509
Jul 21(Wed)Jul 29(Thu)$1619$509
Jul 28(Wed)Aug 05(Thu)$1619$509
Aug 04(Wed)Aug 12(Thu)$1619$509
Aug 11(Wed)Aug 19(Thu)$1619$509
Aug 18(Wed)Aug 26(Thu)$1619$509
Aug 25(Wed)Sep 02(Thu)$1609$519
Sep 01(Wed)Sep 09(Thu)$1599$549
Sep 08(Wed)Sep 16(Thu)$1599$549
Sep 15(Wed)Sep 23(Thu)$1599$549
Sep 22(Wed)Sep 30(Thu)$1599$549
Oct 06(Wed)Oct 14(Thu)$1599$549
Oct 13(Wed)Oct 21(Thu)$1599$549
Oct 20(Wed)Oct 28(Thu)$1599$549
Oct 27(Wed)Nov 04(Thu)$1479$549
Nov 03(Wed)Nov 11(Thu)$1479$549
Nov 10(Wed)Nov 18(Thu)$1479$539
Nov 19(Fri)Nov 27(Sat)$1409$489
Dec 03(Fri)Dec 11(Sat)$1399$469
Dec 22(Wed)Dec 30(Thu)$1399$469
Price Includes
  • Domestic airfares & train fares
  • Hotel accommodation with breakfasts
  • A la carte lunches as itinerary specifies
  • Professional English-speaking guides
  • Drivers & air-conditioned vehicles
  • Entrance fees to tourist sites
  • Tips or gratuities for hotel porters
Price Excludes
  • International airfares
  • Entry Visa fees
  • Personal expenses
  • Tips or gratuities for guides and drivers
Why Travel With Us
  • Customer Reviews
  • Questions & Answers
  •  
    5.01 Review
    Nikolay M
    Bulgaria
    Posted on October 13, 2018
    We were so impressed and completely satisfied with all the service provided to us from this company - from the amazing website, all long e-mail traffic before starting and all details during the sightseeing. Everything was organized and done perfectly well. We had a wonderful trip!

    All our guides were very helpful, with good English skills and excellent knowledge about sites, history and people. They were not only professional guides, but really kind persons as well, creative and fun to be around. All of them were very attentive with our needs and with excellent insight regarding any question we could have. The hotels were all nice and quite comfortable with a combination of both Western and Asian food for breakfast. The meals were generally very good. All drivers kept their vehicles clean and tidy and drove well in what seemed to us to be very chaotic conditions.

    We would definitely use Travel China Guide again in future. They are an excellent company with attention to details and who spare no effort to ensure our safety and comfort. We would highly recommend their services to our friends and any visitors to China. My wife and I really enjoyed ourselves and all thanks to the excellent service and facilities provided by TCG!
    ... More
Check our global tours at