Elephant Trunk Hill (Xiangbishan)
Elephant Trunk Hill is located on the western bank of Li River. The shape of the hill is just like a huge elephant drinking water from the river with its trunk, thus the mountain was named so.
Shui Yue Cave (Water Moon Cave) is between the trunk and the legs, which is a semi-round cave penetrated by water. The inverted reflection of the cave in water plus the part above forms a full moon. This phenomenon is unique and many laudatory inscriptions were found on the wall inside the cave. Visitors can boat through the cave to the river
Another cave regarded as the eyes of the elephant lies in the hillside. It provides tourists an ideal position to enjoy the panoramic view of Guilin.
On the top of the hill is a two-storey pagoda built in the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644) surrounded by green trees. The north seat of the second floor is inlaid with an image of Bodhisattva Puxian. The pagoda looks like a precious vase on the back of an elephant seen from distance and many beautiful legends about the pagoda with good wishes are said among people.
As the symbol of Guilin, the hill is the main scenic spot of the Elephant Trunk Hill Park, which also includes Yunfeng Monastery (a building with ancient style), Aiqing Dao (Love Island) and so on.
|Admission Fee:||CNY 75|
|Opening Hours:||06:30 - 21:30 (April to November) |
07:00 - 21:30 (December to March)
|Recommended Time for a Visit:||Half an hour|
|Bus Route:||Take bus no.2, 16, 23, 57, 58 or sightseeing bus no.1 and get off at Xiangshan Park. |
Guilin Bus Search
Recommended Tours including the Visit to Elephant Trunk Hill:
Essence of Guilin & Li River
Rooster Fighting Hill (Doujishan Hill)
Rooster Fighting Hill is made up of two hills (Tunnel Hill and Tortoise Hill) lying respectively on both banks of Li River. Opposite Elephant Trunk Hill, Tunnel Hill consists of five coterminous peaks that form the head, wings, tail and back of one rooster. Tortoise Hill looks like a bellicose rooster flapping its wings for a fight. The 138-meter (453 feet) relative elevation between the two hills makes Rooster Fighting Hill more vivid and lifelike. It seems that but for the river to separate them, they would have engaged in mortal combat.
There are many poems and couplets related to Doujishan Hill. Legend has it that a group of intellectuals went to Guilin to take the imperial examinations. While passing the hill in their boat, one of them composed 'Dou ji shan shang shan ji dou' (Two roosters are fighting on Rooster Fighting Hill) as the first part of a palindrome couplet all the others were meshed in thought but nobody worked out the second line. As they were having to prepare for the examination after reaching Guilin, the couplet was laid aside.
Years later, two of them went to take the imperial examinations in Guilin again and wanted to enjoy the beautiful scenery of Li River on the way. And words of a monk at Longyin Cave inspired one of them to think of 'Long yin yan zhong yan yin long' (A dragon is hiding in a rock inside Longyin Cave). Hence the couplet comes down to us.
Pagoda Hill got its name because of the hexagonal Longevity Buddha Pagoda on it. The seven-storey brick tower was built in the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644). It is a multi-eave pagoda and its plane is trapezoidal. On the north wall of the tower, a statue of Longevity Buddha (Amidabha Buddha) was encased - hence its name. The reflection of the hill in the water is one of the New Twenty-four Scenes of Guilin.
Many maple trees are planted at the foot of the hill. The fiery-red maple leaves of the hill are really charming and striking in late autumn.
Pagoda Hill and Tunnel Hill are both famous hills in Tunnel Hill Park. Together with Elephant Trunk Hill, they form part of the beautiful Li River Scenes.