Jiangxinyu Island

Jiangxinyu Island is located in the middle reaches of the Oujiang River north of Wenzhou. It covers an area of about 70,000 square meters (17 acres). It is known as the 'Penglai (a fabled abode of immortals) of the Oujiang River' due to its beautiful natural sceneries, cultural and historical sties and its location. It is one of the four most renowned islands in China. The other three are Gulangyu Island, Dongmen Island (Fujian) and Orchid Island (Taiwan).

The island features various kinds of old green trees, such as the approximately thousand year-old banyan, the eight hundred year-old camphor tree and the four hundred year-old olive. Other species growing there include fragrant flowers, water plants and ferns. Among its most appealing features are the drizzle in spring, sunglow at sea, moonlight on the Oujiang River, bonfire on the shoal and limpid springs. Another natural attraction is the Bonsai Garden, which displays a variety of the middle and small sized bonsai trees. Also displayed are the micro sceneries of the Hezhang Peak and Guanyin Cave of Yan Dang Mountain.

Cultural and historical attractions are everywhere on the island. The most renowned is the Jiangxin Temple, which was rebuilt in 1789 and encompasses approximately 2,870 square meters (1 acre). The temple is comprised of four parts: The Heavenly Guardians Hall; the Main Hall; the Three Saints Hall; the Abbot's Room. To the left and right of the Heavenly Guardians Hall are the Bell Tower and Drum Tower. A bell of Song Dynasty (960-1279) is preserved in the Bell Tower. Sculptures of Sakyamuni and other Buddhas are located in the Main Hall, which also houses a superb collection of couplets and plaques. Three Saints Hall features sculptures of the Goddess of Mercy, Maitreya and Mahasthamaprapta. Between the Main Hall and the Three Saints Hall stands the Seven-Buddha Pagoda built in Later Liang (907-923). The abbot's room is located to the west of the Main Hall, and features some precious sutras and pictures.

To the east of the Jiangxin Temple lies the Wen Tianxiang Memorial Hall. Wen was a great national hero as well as a famous poet in the Song Dynasty. He led the army to fight with Yuan invaders who built the latter Yuan Dynasty (1271-1368). Finally, he was captured and killed by the invaders. The Hall displays a famous poem named 'Zheng Qi Ge' written by him and 20 steles inscribed with poems commemorating him. The Haoran Pavilion is situated to the east of the Wen Tianxiang Memorial Hall. Built in 1580, the pavilion features a unique wooden structure and has three rooms with a double-eaved roof.

The Xingqing Temple is another famous ancient building. Outside the Xingqing Temple, the Liuli Spring runs with cool water. The spring is one of the three most famous springs in Wenzhou. There is an old olive inside the temple, which is said to have been planted in 1587. The Wenzhou Museum is located in the temple and features cultural relics on display.

The East and West Pagodas are the most eye-catching buildings on Jiangxinyu Island. Rebuilt in 1141, the East Pagoda is a six-side and seven-storey pagoda. It is about 28 meters (92 feet) high and 8 meters (26 feet) in diameter at the bottom. On the top, the pagoda features a banyan with green leaves all the year round. The West Pagoda is built in the style of the Song Dynasty. It is also a six-side and seven-storey pagoda. Larger than the East Pagoda, it is about 32 meters (105 feet) high and 7 meters (23 feet) in diameter at the bottom. There is a small Buddha niche on each storey with a stone Buddha sculpture in it. Near each pagoda lie two stone steles and a pavilion. Visitors can rest in the pavilion and enjoy the stone steles.

Jiangxin Park is situated in the west of the island. It can be divided into two scenic areas: the Little Flying Rainbow Scenic Area and the Happiness City. A series of pavilions, verandas and terraces are built near the lake in the Little Flying Rainbow Scenic Area. The recreational facilities in the Happiness City will add additional entertainment to your trip.

Admission Fee: CNY 25 (including the ferry fee)
Bus Route: 11, 28, 33, 41, 51, 68, 71, 92, 106 to Jiangxin Wharf, then take the ferryboat to Jiangxinyu Island
 

- Last modified on Jun. 26, 2019 -
Questions & Answers on Jiangxinyu Island
Asked by Kathy from USA | Sep. 20, 2019 04:45Reply
Is Jiangxin Island open? I heard it was closed for construction.
A friend recently went to visit Jiangxin Island and found it closed and the ferries weren't running. She was told something was under construction on the Island. Do you know if it is open now, in September 2019?
Answers (1)
Answered by Ursula from USA | Sep. 22, 2019 23:59
00Reply


It has been closed from August.12. And there is no official announcement about when it will reopen.
Asked by Jorn from CHINA | Sep. 19, 2011 21:08Reply
Timetable of Wenzhou Jiagxinyu Island is 'open' for visits and last ferry, and the museum...
Hi, I was wondering until what time the island is 'open' for visits. When does the last ferry leave here? And what time does the museum close. Is this the same island that has the Buddhist temple?
Answers (1)
Answered by Jamie from CHINA | Sep. 20, 2011 02:01
00Reply


The opening hours is 8am-10pm and there is a ferry every 20 minutes. Yes, it has Jiangxin Temple, Xingqing Buddhist Temple and Longxiang Temple. Xingqing Temple was once the Wenzhou Museum, but the museum had moved to its new location.
Ask a Question
Question Summary (100 characters)
Details (optional) (2,000 characters)