giant pandagiant panda

Follow Pandas' Footprint

SG10: 9 Days Small Group Tour of Beijing - Xi'an - Chengdu
Tour Type: Small Group of 1-18 persons, guaranteed departures
Guide & Driver: English-speaking guide & air-conditioned, licensed limousine
Tour Highlights:
  • Must-see sights - Mutianyu Great Wall, Forbidden City, Terracotta Army, Giant Pandas
  • See the giant pandas up close in the Panda Breeding and Research Center
  • Try biking on the Ming Dynasty City Wall of Xi'an, or tour by electric car
  • Enjoy a la carte meals, Kung Fu Show, Tang Dynasty Music and Dance performance
From $1159 per person Free Inquiry
Forbidden CityMutianyu Great Wall
  • 1/7
  • 2/7
  • 3/7
  • 4/7
  • 5/7
  • 6/7
  • 7/7
Expand All
Collapse All
Day 1 Arrival in Beijing
Airport pick-up & airport-hotel transfer.
Upon your arrival, our guide will be expecting you outside the customs of the airport and transfer you to the already reserved hotel in a comfortable and clean car. For the remainder of the day, you can have a good rest to release the jet lag.
 
Accommodation: The Great Wall Hotel Beijing - the former Sheraton
Day 2 Beijing
Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, A la carte welcome lunch with Peking Duck, Temple of Heaven, Chinese Kung Fu Show. (B+L)
Forbidden City
People jumping happily in the Forbidden City
Your escorted China tour starts form the center of the city - Tiananmen Square. Walking northward across the square, you will reach the Forbidden City. As the world's largest and best preserved ancient architectural complex of wooden structure, it has over 8,000 pavilions and houses thousands of time-honored treasures.

For today's lunch, you will enjoy our special offer - the a la carte Chinese food with Peking Roast Duck at one of the best local restaurants (valued at CNY150.00 per person and included in our price) .  

In the afternoon, you will continue to visit the Temple of Heaven, the royal altar of the Ming and Qing dynasties. A fantastic Chinese Kung Fu Show at the Red Theatre will be tonight's highlight and you will be impressed by the excellent performance.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte welcome lunch
Day 3 Beijing
Mutianyu Great Wall with a round-trip cable car, A toast with red wine on the wall, Olympic Bird's Nest. (B)
Mutianyu Great Wall
Mutianyu Great Wall
Your guide will pick you up in the early morning for the trip to Mutianyu Great Wall. It is one of the most splendid and the most representative parts of China Great Wall. The round-trip cable car will take you up and down, which allows you more sightseeing time on the wall. The restaurants nearby the site are in low quality, so we do not arrange the lunch today. It may be the best that you have a big breakfast at the hotel and have some fast food for lunch by yourself.

After lunch, you will be driven back to the urban area. When passing by the Olympic National Stadium, you will have a chance to take photos of this large Bird's Nest. The whole day's sightseeing will come to an end after spending some leisure time at a traditional local market.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Day 4 Beijing - Xi'an
Summer Palace, Hutong Rickshaw Tour, Experience Chinese Paper Cutting, A la carte lunch, Fly to Xi'an, Airport-hotel transfer. (B+L)
Our clients visiting a local family
This morning you will visit the Summer Palace, a summer resort for the imperial royalty in Qing dynasty. Then, following your guide to trace the old Beijing by walking along the narrow but original Hutong alleys. You will feel excited to learn to make Chinese Paper Cutting with a folk artist in Hutong.

We will serve you an a la carte lunch (valued at CNY150.00 per person and included in our price) at a fancy restaurant with delicious food and great atmosphere. Then fly to the ancient capital city Xi'an. A local guide will pick you up and help you check in at the hotel.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Accommodation: Sheraton Hotel
Day 5 Xi'an
Terracotta Army, A local family visit and an authentic home-cooked lunch, Small Wild Goose Pagoda, Tang Dynasty Show with dumpling dinner. (B+L+D)
Terracotta warriors
Today you will go to one of the highlights of your 9 days China tour package, the Terracotta Army. The museum not only displays the world-known delicate figures of Qin Terracotta Warriors and Horses, but also shows visitors an array of precious ancient weapons.

At lunch time, you will visit a local family and have an a la carte lunch (valued at CNY120.00 per person and included in our price) in the family, where you can enjoy authentic home made Chinese dishes. A short cooking class is also prepared so that you can enjoy not only the gourmet food but also the fun of cooking them. 

After that, visit Xi'an Museum and the Small Wild Goose Pagoda. The pagoda was built in the Tang Dynasty (618 - 907) to store the Buddhist scriptures and statues. At night, after enjoying Dumpling Dinner you will be entertained at the Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, Home-cooked a la carte lunch, Dumpling dinner
 Friendly Tips

Since the theater is usually not open in Jan, Feb, Mar and Dec, we will not arrange the show and dumpling dinner for tours starting during the periods. Clients will enjoy free time to relax.
Day 6 Xi'an
Observe local life in the park, Tai Chi practice, Xi'an City Wall, A la carte lunch, Provincial History Museum, Great Mosque, Muslim Quarter. (B+L)
Volunteers doing haircut for old people in Xian City Wall Park
Today you will begin your visit to the City Wall Park. Encircling the old City Wall, the park is the most popular place for local people to relax, especially in the morning time. You will see people are attending different kinds of activities for fun. It is true that the park has brought the old wall live. Also in this park, you will learn to practice Tai Chi with the master. From the park, we head to the best-preserved Ming Dynasty City Wall. It will be a memorable experience to ride a bicycle on the wall. If feel interested, you can rent the bike at your own expense.

After an a la carte lunch (valued at CNY120.00 per person and included in our price), you will first visit Shaanxi Provincial History Museum. The large storage of precious cultural relics from the Shang Dynasty (17th - 11th Century BC) to the Qing Dynasty unfold the glorious Chinese history and culture in front of you. Then visit the Great Mosque. You can also have a taste of the local snacks on the Muslim Street when finishing the visit to the mosque.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Day 7 Xi'an - Chengdu
A 4-hour high-speed train to Chengdu, Train station to hotel transfer. (B)
Two giant pandas
This morning you will take a high-speed train for about 4 hours to Chengdu. Upon your arrival, our guide will pick you up and transfer you to the hotel, and then help you check in for a 2-night stay. The rest of the day is free for you to have a rest at the hotel or look around the city on your own. 

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Accommodation: Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
Day 8 Chengdu
Giant Panda Base, Broad and Narrow Alleys, Jinsha Site Museum, Leisure time at Renmin Park. (B)
Broad and Narrow Alleys, Chengdu
Today you will pay a visit to the lovely giant pandas in Chengdu Research Base of Giant Panda Breeding. Giant Panda only inhabits in China, so it is regarded as the national treasure. Then our guide will escort you to explore the Broad and Narrow Alleys of Chengdu. Lunch is arranged on your own, so you might try some local snacks in the alley or choose a courtyard restaurant to enjoy your lunch.

In the afternoon, you will proceed to visit Jinsha Site Museum. Covering an area of 5 square kilometers, it is the historical remains of the Shang and Zhou dynasties (1700BC-221BC) focusing on the cultural relics' exhibit and the sacrificial site. Then come to the last stop of your tour, Renmin Park, to experience the casual lifestyle of Chengdu people. Have a pot of tea and enjoy a relaxing time.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Day 9 Departure from Chengdu
Hotel-airport transfer is on your own arrangement, A pleasant onward trip! (B)
After breakfast, please check out the hotel before 12:00 and find your own way to the airport for your flight. You can take a taxi to Chengdu airport directly, at costing about CNY100. Wish you a pleasant journey!

For your reference, we also offer extension private tours after this 9 days China itinerary. There are many highlights and famous sites in Sichuan worth your visiting, such as Leshan Giant Buddha and Mt. Emei, Jiuzhaigou Valley and Huanglong. Please drop us an email freely to let us know your preference, and we will be glad to be helpful with your vacation to China.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
B-- Breakfast L-- Lunch D-- Dinner
Prices are per person in US Dollars; departures are guaranteed even with one person!
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings
10% off - book by Feb 28, 5% off - book from Mar 01
Arrival DateDeparture DateDouble OccupancySingle Room Supplement 
Feb 24(Sun) Mar 04(Mon) $1159 $1043$359
Mar 05(Tue) Mar 13(Wed) $1179 $1061$379
Mar 12(Tue) Mar 20(Wed) $1179 $1061$379
Mar 26(Tue) Apr 03(Wed) $1189 $1070$389
Apr 04(Thu) Apr 12(Fri) $1309 $1178$439
Apr 11(Thu) Apr 19(Fri) $1309 $1178$439
Apr 18(Thu) Apr 26(Fri) $1309 $1178$439
Apr 25(Thu) May 03(Fri) $1309 $1178$439
May 09(Thu) May 17(Fri) $1309 $1178$439
May 16(Thu) May 24(Fri) $1309 $1178$439
May 23(Thu) May 31(Fri) $1309 $1178$439
May 30(Thu) Jun 07(Fri) $1299 $1169$419
Jun 06(Thu) Jun 14(Fri) $1299 $1169$419
Jun 13(Thu) Jun 21(Fri) $1299 $1169$419
Jun 20(Thu) Jun 28(Fri) $1299 $1169$419
Jun 27(Thu) Jul 05(Fri) $1299 $1169$419
Jul 04(Thu) Jul 12(Fri) $1329 $1196$419
Jul 11(Thu) Jul 19(Fri) $1329 $1196$419
Jul 18(Thu) Jul 26(Fri) $1329 $1196$419
Jul 25(Thu) Aug 02(Fri) $1329 $1196$419
Aug 01(Thu) Aug 09(Fri) $1329 $1196$419
Aug 08(Thu) Aug 16(Fri) $1329 $1196$419
Aug 15(Thu) Aug 23(Fri) $1329 $1196$419
Aug 22(Thu) Aug 30(Fri) $1329 $1196$419
Aug 29(Thu) Sep 06(Fri) $1319 $1187$439
Sep 05(Thu) Sep 13(Fri) $1329 $1196$459
Sep 12(Thu) Sep 20(Fri) $1329 $1196$459
Sep 19(Thu) Sep 27(Fri) $1329 $1196$459
Oct 03(Thu) Oct 11(Fri) $1329 $1196$459
Oct 10(Thu) Oct 18(Fri) $1329 $1196$459
Oct 17(Thu) Oct 25(Fri) $1329 $1196$459
Oct 24(Thu) Nov 01(Fri) $1329 $1196$459
Oct 31(Thu) Nov 08(Fri) $1269 $1142$459
Nov 07(Thu) Nov 15(Fri) $1269 $1142$459
Nov 21(Thu) Nov 29(Fri) $1179 $1061$379
Dec 08(Sun) Dec 16(Mon) $1179 $1061$379
Dec 22(Sun) Dec 30(Mon) $1179 $1061$369

Remark: The prices in red reflect 10% discount.

Prices are per person in US Dollars; departures are guaranteed even with one person!
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings
10% off - book by Feb 28, 5% off - book from Mar 01
Arrival DateDeparture DateDouble OccupancySingle Room Supplement 
Jan 05(Sun) Jan 13(Mon) $1179 $1061$369
Feb 13(Thu) Feb 21(Fri) $1179 $1061$369
Mar 05(Thu) Mar 13(Fri) $1179 $1061$369
Mar 12(Thu) Mar 20(Fri) $1179 $1061$369
Mar 26(Thu) Apr 03(Fri) $1179 $1061$369
Apr 05(Sun) Apr 13(Mon) $1309 $1178$439
Apr 12(Sun) Apr 20(Mon) $1309 $1178$439
Apr 19(Sun) Apr 27(Mon) $1309 $1178$439
Apr 26(Sun) May 04(Mon) $1309 $1178$439
May 03(Sun) May 11(Mon) $1309 $1178$439
May 10(Sun) May 18(Mon) $1309 $1178$439
May 17(Sun) May 25(Mon) $1309 $1178$439
May 24(Sun) Jun 01(Mon) $1309 $1178$439
May 31(Sun) Jun 08(Mon) $1299 $1169$419
Jun 07(Sun) Jun 15(Mon) $1299 $1169$419
Jun 14(Sun) Jun 22(Mon) $1299 $1169$419
Jun 21(Sun) Jun 29(Mon) $1299 $1169$419
Jun 28(Sun) Jul 06(Mon) $1299 $1169$419
Jul 05(Sun) Jul 13(Mon) $1329 $1196$419
Jul 12(Sun) Jul 20(Mon) $1329 $1196$419
Jul 19(Sun) Jul 27(Mon) $1329 $1196$419
Jul 26(Sun) Aug 03(Mon) $1329 $1196$419
Aug 02(Sun) Aug 10(Mon) $1329 $1196$419
Aug 09(Sun) Aug 17(Mon) $1329 $1196$419
Aug 16(Sun) Aug 24(Mon) $1329 $1196$419
Aug 30(Sun) Sep 07(Mon) $1319 $1187$439
Sep 06(Sun) Sep 14(Mon) $1329 $1196$459
Sep 13(Sun) Sep 21(Mon) $1329 $1196$459
Sep 20(Sun) Sep 28(Mon) $1329 $1196$459
Oct 04(Sun) Oct 12(Mon) $1329 $1196$459
Oct 11(Sun) Oct 19(Mon) $1329 $1196$459
Oct 18(Sun) Oct 26(Mon) $1329 $1196$459
Oct 25(Sun) Nov 02(Mon) $1329 $1196$459
Nov 01(Sun) Nov 09(Mon) $1269 $1142$459
Nov 08(Sun) Nov 16(Mon) $1269 $1142$459
Nov 15(Sun) Nov 23(Mon) $1179 $1061$379
Dec 08(Tue) Dec 16(Wed) $1179 $1061$379
Dec 22(Tue) Dec 30(Wed) $1179 $1061$369

Remark: The prices in red reflect 10% discount.

Price Includes
  • Domestic airfares & train fares
  • Hotel accommodation with breakfasts
  • A la carte lunches as itinerary specifies
  • Professional English-speaking guides
  • Drivers & air-conditioned vehicles
  • Entrance fees to tourist sites
  • Tips or gratuities for hotel porters
Price Excludes
  • International airfares
  • Entry Visa fees
  • Personal expenses
  • Tips or gratuities for guides and drivers
Why Travel With Us
  • Customer Reviews
  • Questions & Answers
  •  
    5.05 Reviews
    Nancy L. T
    United States
    Posted on January 03, 2019
    I was so happy to meet our travel consultant Abbey at a local family in Xi’an. Thank you so much for coming. We both want to thank you so much for arranging the most wonderful trip for us. Everything was simply wonderful! The guides were always waiting for us. The hotels were very nice. The choice of restaurants and food was excellent. The service provided by the driver and especially the guides was simply outstanding. We have no complaints whatsoever, only compliments all the way! Thank you for a wonderful holiday. ... More
    Vyacheslav C
    USA
    Posted on December 07, 2018
    TravelChinaGuide organization was very helpful during our China trip from beginning to the end. Website is easy to navigate and information provided is plentiful. Sections such as nightlife, shopping, etc provide plenty of information. All quote and information requested were answered promptly and accurately via e-mail. Meals were fine and suggestions were good. I would recommend dumpling dinner in Xian. Guides were helpful, knowledgeable with good pronunciation. Transportation and drivers were very good. Hotels were great and food was very good. I wanted to see the Terracotta Warriors, since I saw them on the Discovery Channel. Trip exceeded my expectations. ... More
    Neil
    Canada
    Posted on November 25, 2018
    The travel consultant addressed my concerns and requests in a timely manner.
    Brian
    United States
    Posted on November 18, 2018
    It has been 2 weeks after we back to US. We enjoyed most of the meals, especially the ones we were able to help select the dishes. All our guides were excellent, knowledgeable and had excellent English skills. The transportation was excellent, too, clean coaches, timely pickups. Being picked up at the end of some of our long walks instead of having to walk way back to the coach was very convenient. The sights included in the tour were spectacular, the hotels lovely, have a local guide to ask all kinds of questions was the best part! We thoroughly enjoyed each day!! Thank you so much!! ... More
    David F
    United States
    Posted on November 08, 2018
    I want to say how much we enjoyed our journey with TCG. From the first internet contact to the end of the schedule, everyone from the company was extremely helpful and accommodating. We were a group of 16 from the US, England, Ireland, and New Zealand. We were especially lucky in that we were a very compatible group and enjoyed each other immensely. We were happy with the places of interest and felt that adequate time was allowed. That is not to say we couldn't have spent longer seeing the larger attractions, but that would have taken weeks. Each attraction was interesting and enjoyable.

    Meals: It is very hard to please a group of people since each person's tastes vary so much. Personally, we enjoyed the meals and felt that the variety served at each meal should have allowed everyone items they liked. The group remarked often how pleased they were with the meals and if anything, felt we were fed too much (gaining weight). Our favorite meal was the Dumplings, but we enjoyed all the meals. We particularly enjoyed having the 'Western' breakfasts at each hotel. That satisfied our desire for 'home style cooking'.

    Hotels: The accommodations were advertised as 4 to 5 stars and each one was excellent, living up to its rating. The beds were all a little hard though for our preference.

    Guides, buses and drivers: All three guides were excellent, knowledgeable, and helpful. They all were accommodating to the groups requests. Our drivers were all competent, courteous and helpful. The buses were good, however, the bus in Beijing was not as quite good shape as the others.

    The only helpful suggestion would be to try to program a couple of hours of free time for shopping. We had 15 minutes at a few places to shop at the sites we visited, an hour at the market in Xian, and a couple of hours in the afternoon in Shanghai, but I would have liked a little more time in a market place. I realize this is a woman's point of view and maybe a minority view. Maybe it is helpful to offer an option to drop some people at a market, take the rest to visit a site and come back to the market later or a variation of this idea. This suggestion should not be taken as a complaint, just a suggestion.

    Finally, the best compliment is word of mouth recommendations and I have been raving about our tour to China to all my friends and will continue to do so. Thank you for making our trip so memorable.
    ... More
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings!
10% off - book 60 days in advance
5% off - book 30 days in advance