Jiao Hill lies in the Yangtze River, 4.5 kilometers (about 2.8 miles) to the northeast of Zhenjiang City, Jiangsu Province. It is 71 meters (about 233 feet) above the sea level and covers an area of 38 hectares (about 94 acres). As one of the famous "three hills" of Jingkou District, it is distinguished by its abundant steles and stone inscriptions, so named the "Hill of Calligraphy."
The temples and pavilions of Jiao Hill complement one another to create a scene that gives the impression that the temples and pavilions are actually being wrapped by the hill.
To the south of Jiao Hill is Dinghui Temple, one of the most famous temples in the southern Yangtze area. The Dinghui Temple was originally built during the Eastern Han Dynasty (25-220). It was called Puji Temple in the Song Dynasty (960-1279). In the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644) the temple was rebuilt. In the Qing Dynasty (1644-1911) it was renamed Dinghui Temple and the name is used till today. The temple still remains within the architectural style of the Ming Dynasty. Three magnificent statues of Buddha and several statues of arhat in the hall contribute towards making the temple dignified and sacred.
To the southwest of Dinghui Temple lies Huayan Pavilion, a two-storey structure well suited to appreciating views of the moon. Huayan is derived from Huayan Scripture, which refers to the wonderful environment of the all-embracing hill.
To the east of the Jiao Hill sits the Forest of Steles. There are over 400 inscriptions of past dynasties found here. This makes this site slightly inferior in its number of inscriptions to the Forest of Stone Steles Museum of Xi'an. These inscriptions are regarded as the key culture relics of the nation. The Inscription of Crane is found here. This inscription enjoys a reputation all over the world. The newly built International Forest of Steles is also popular with calligraphy fans.
On the top of the hill stands Wanfo Tower, an archaized tower of the Ming and Qing style. Constructed with eight sides the tower stands 42 meters (about 138 feet) high of seven storeys. The tower occupies an area of 583 square meters (about 697 square yards). Stepping onto the tower you are presented with far reaching views. At night, the light radiating from the tower also acts as a beacon for ferrying boats.
To the north of the east and west summits of Jiao Hill a square-shaped courtyard named Biefeng An is seen. Biefeng translates to mean "distinct from the main summits". The outstanding painter and calligrapher of the Qing Dynasty, Zheng Banqiao, once studied here. This has contributed towards Biefeng An being famous near and far.
In addition to the picturesque scenery, a lot of unique local products are available to visitors of Jiao Hill. Yangtze saury, pickle, Zhenjiang savory vinegar, Crystal Pig's Trotters, Zhenjiang Steamed Hilsa Herring, Dumplings with Juicy Crab Meat to name a few. From September to October of each year the Osmanthus Festival of Jiao Hill is held. The International Calligraphy Festival is also held from October 18th -20th of each year.
The recommended route when visiting the hill is: Bubo Pavilion-Dinghui Temple-Dongling Spring-Guanlan Pavilion-Forest of Steles -Emplacement-Huayan Pavilion-Cliff Stone Inscription-Sanzhao Cave-Zhuangguan Pavilion-Biefeng An-Baishou Pavilion-Xijiang Pavilion.
|Admission Fee:||CNY 50 for the entrance fee |
CNY 15 for ascending Ten Thousand Buddha Pagoda
|Bus Route:|| |
1. take bus no. 4, 104 or 133, and get off at Jiaoshangongyuan Station