Zhou Dynasty

Zhou Dynasty

The Zhou Dynasty originated from the Zhou clan whose existence stretches back into history. By the 11th Century BC, this clan had become increasingly powerful and had extended throughout the present Shaanxi and Gansu Provinces. The Clan's mightiness increasingly menaced the Shang Dynasty and the conflict between the two groups intensified.

At that time, the Shang was under the rule of King Zhou. He was atrocious to his people and doted on his imperial concubine, Daji. All he did caused great rage amongst his people. The chief of the Zhou Tribe,Wenwang thought it was the right time to attack the Shang and entrusted his son Ji Fa to fulfill his last wish. After Wenwang died, his son Ji Fa ( Wuwang) succeeded him. He made full preparations for the war and killed King Zhou. Thus the Shang Dynasty ended in 1046 BC.

Bronze Cauldron
Bronze Cauldron
Bronze Bell
Bronze Bell
Later, Wuwang established the Zhou Dynasty and made Haojing (the present Chang'an County, Shaanxi Province) its capital. This dynasty was the longest in Chinese history. It lasted for over 800 years and included the reigns of 37 emperors.

The Zhou Dynasty is divided into two periods: the Western Zhou (11th century BC to 771 BC) and the Eastern Zhou (770 BC - 221 BC). It is so divided because the capital cities in the Western Zhou of Fengyi (presently in the southwest of Chang'an County, Shaanxi Province) and Haojing lie to the west of the Eastern Zhou's capital of Luoyi (present Luoyang, Henan Province). As to the Eastern Dynasty, it is divided into the Spring and Autumn Periods (770 BC-476 BC), and the Warring States Period (476 BC - 221 BC). Each of the periods featured turbulent wars.

The achievements during the Zhou Dynasty in economy, politics, science and culture, were much more illustrious than any which occurred during the Shang Dynasty.

In the year 221 BC, Qin defeated the other six states which existed during the Warring States Period and unified China. Thus, history moved forward to a new age called the Qin Dynasty.
Bronze Vessels of Zhou Dynasty
Zhou Bronze Vessels
Building Material, Western Zhou Dynasty
Building Material, Western Zhou Dynasty
- Last updated on Feb. 23, 2023 -
Questions & Answers on Zhou Dynasty
Asked by AROOSH from PAKISTAN | Sep. 16, 2023 10:49Reply
Zhou Dynast Emperor Names
Name the Emperors of Zhou Dynasty( All of Them )
Answers (1)
Answered by Emily | Sep. 17, 2023 23:43

There are 38 emperors in the Zhou Dynasty. Some of them are Jifa, Jisong, Jizhao, Jixia, Jiman, Ji Yihu, Jijian, Ji Bifang, Jixie, Jihu, Jibi, Jijing, Ji Gongsheng.
Asked by Braeden from USA | Feb. 23, 2023 05:52Reply
How big did the Zhou Dynasty cover?
Answers (1)
Answered by Nat | Feb. 23, 2023 19:09

The Western Zhou is about 1,010,000 square kilometers while Eastern Zhou is about 2,190,000 square kilometers.
Asked by Whowhatwhenwherewhy | Feb. 09, 2022 02:18Reply
I can't find the rulers?
Who are they
Answers (1)
Answered by Whowhatwhenwherewhy | Feb. 09, 2022 02:19

If there are any other than Wuwang
Asked by Lillie from USA | Aug. 24, 2017 08:30Reply
Where did the Dynasty of Zhou take place?
Answers (1)
Answered by Zoey from BELGIUM | Aug. 24, 2017 21:50

The Zhou Dynasties can be divided into two parts, Western Zhou (1046-771 BC) and Eastern Zhou (770-256 BC). The capital of Western Zhou is Haojing, current Xi'an, Shaanxi Province. The capital of Eastern Zhou is Luoyi,current Luoyang, Henan Province.
Asked by Cassiopeia-Annabelle from ANDORRA | Feb. 22, 2016 07:58Reply
Different websites are each saying that the it was established at different periods of time and different people; which date is more accurate? :
1040 BC
770 BC
256 BC
1046 BC
Answers (1)
Answered by Helen from SPAIN | Feb. 22, 2016 19:06

According to my searching, the period is divided into Western Zhou Dynasty and Eastern Zhou Dynasty. The former one lasted from 1046 BC to 771 BC while the latter ruled during 770 BC to 256 BC.
Ask a Question
Question Summary (100 characters)
Details (optional) (2,000 characters)