Nanguan Mosque & Jade Emperor Pavilion
There is a number of mosques in the Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region, as most of the Huis are believers of Islam. The Nanguan Mosque is a famous one among thousands of mosques in Ningxia. The original Nanguan Mosque was built at the end of the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644). After its expansion in 1953, it became a traditional, large architectural complex with an area of over 3,000 square meters (about 0.7 acre). Unfortunately it was pulled down during the 1960s. The present mosque was rebuilt in the 1980s and occupies an area of 2,074 square meters (about 0.5 acre).
The Nanguan Mosque is endowed with Islamic architectural style that is characterized by grand domes, long tines and arch doors and windows. There are five green domes on the top of this two-storey building. It is said that the biggest one in the center symbolizes the Mohammed, the prophet of Islamism, and that the other four symbolize four famous imams. On the first floor is a chapel, residences for the imams and bathing houses which are connected by the cloisters. Visitors can get to the upper floor by the spiral stairs outside.The spacious prayer hall on the second floor can accommodate about 1,000 worshipers at a time. The tabernacle in the hall is enchased with white marble and is engraved with the lection of Alcoran.
In front of the hall you will find a fountain featuring a leaping display of water. In the 1990s, two square 'Bangke' towers and winding corridors were set up in the forecourt. The high 'Bangke' tower is believed to help summon Muslims to attend church. The buildings are a mixture of elegance, gaudiness and sobriety, presenting a scene of Islamic characteristics.
|Admission Fee:||CNY 15|
Jade Emperor Pavilion
The Jade Emperor Pavilion (Yu Huang Ge) is dedicated to the eponymous deity, who according to Chinese legend is the leader of all the gods. The Jade Emperor is considered the omnipotent ruler of Heaven and Earth as well as the spirit world. The bronze statue of this all powerful Emperor, once worshiped by the faithful, stands in the pavilion.
Situated at the crossroads of Jiefang Road and Yuhuangge Street in Yinchuan City, the pavilion, with its history of more than 600 years, was built originally during the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644). It was destroyed by earthquake during the Qing Dynasty in the reign of Qianlong (1711-1799), and was rebuilt later.
The Jade Emperor Pavilion is the main structure within a group of buildings and has a height of about 22 meters (72 feet) and covers an area of about 1040 square meters (1244 square yards). It stands on a rectangular rammed-earth base, through which runs a north-south archway; there are steps providing access to the pavilion on the north-western side.
This is the only remaining traditional wooden structure in Yinchuan and you are sure to be left with a deep impression by the exquisitely designed and constructed winged eaves, curved-canopy roofs, the cloisters and the red-lacquered balustrades. Together with the bell tower and the drum tower, standing respectively to the east and west, the overall complex resembles a flying roc with great majesty and beauty.
The Jade Emperor Pavilion is an embodiment of the consummate skill of the ancient craftsmen of Yinchuan and contributes greatly to the study of the architectural style and materials used during the Ming Dynasty. Considerable attention has been paid to protection work and the pavilion is now open as one of Yinchuan's major tourist attractions.