|Central Auditorium, Yangjialing |
One of the most defining moments in China's long history occurred in the tiny village of Yangjia Ling in Shaanxi Province. It was here in November 1938 that the headquarters of China's Communist Party was situated. The village, a scant 2.5 kilometers (1.5 miles) northwest of Yan'an, would serve in this role until March 1947.
In 1953, the Yangjia Ling headquarters were renovated to commemorate the party's location. And six years later it was opened to the public. The site covers an area of 6.7 hectares (16.6 acres) and includes the Great Auditorium, the Office Building and the residences of some of the party's early leaders. Visitors can view the rooms where Chairman Mao, Premier Zhou En Lai and others once lived. Additionally hundreds of relics are exhibited.
The Great Auditorium was originally built in 1942 by the party officials themselves and includes a major hall and a dancing hall. A year earlier the three-storey Office Building was built near the rear of the auditorium. There is a boardroom and a military research hall on the first floor; the second floor contained offices for party officials, and the third floor housed the political bureau where many key decisions affecting China's future were made.
|Exterior of Central Auditorium || |
|Office Hall, Yangjialing |
The most significant event in Yangjia Ling's tenure was the successful convening of the Seventh National Congress of CCP in April 1945. Here the communist leaders commanded the war against Japan and launched the well-known Rectification Movement and the Large Scale Production Campaign. During this period of time Chairman Mao composed and released many important articles and was interviewed by American correspondent Anna Louis Strang. It was during this interview that the phrase 'paper tiger' was made famous worldwide.
Yangjia Ling has become a popular tourist attraction not only because of its historical significance, but also because it symbolizes the spirit of liberation during hard times.
|Former Residence of Mao Zedong || |
|Simple furniture in the cave |
|Admission Fee: ||Free |
|Opening Hours: ||08:00 to 18:00 |
|Recommended Time for a Visit: ||One and a half hours |
|Bus Route: ||1, 3, 7, 8, 13 |
Nearby scenic sight: Video of Yan'an Memorial Hall of Revolution
- Last modified on Apr. 12, 2021 -