Baimian Yao Village & Yinshui Dong Village
Baimian Yao Village
Located in the Longsheng Hot Springs National Forest Park, the Baimian Yao Village is about six kilometers (four miles) from Longsheng Hot Spring. Surrounded by luxuriant forests, the village houses the Red Yao people's community.
The Baimian Yao Village covers a total area of about 35,000 square meters (nine acres) and the building area is approximately 3,000 square meters (one acre). In front of the village gate stands a tablet which is inscribed with the village rules. Outside the gate there is a pillar, the totem of the Red Yao people. Below the village, a huge rock resembling the dragon's tongue protrudes from the mountainside. Hence its name: the Dragon Tongue Rock. The rock has other names, such as the Red Army Rock or Kuangming Rock to commemorate the victory of the Long March.
The Baimian Yao Village has a special custom in that the local men often marry into and live in their bride's family. This tradition has passed down from generation to generation. Another attractive feature of that place is that the young people sing folk songs to attract their sweethearts.
Those who visit the village can take part in the traditional sporting activities, including propping the bamboo bars or playing tug of war with the elephant. They can also appreciate the wonderful dances performed by those Red Yao girls with their long hair.
|Admission Fee:||CNY 35|
|Bus Route:||Take the bus from Longsheng Bus Station to the Longsheng Hot Spring National Forest Park.|
Yinshui Dong Village
Situated 1.5 kilometers (0.9 miles) west of Longsheng County, Guilin City, Yinshui Dong Village is a typical Dong village with a picturesque scenery. It is built in a valley, and the mountain slopes are very steep. The waterfall is like a silver chain hanging off the mountain slope, hence the attractive name of Yinshui: 'Silver Water'.
The village has a long history. As early in the Tang Dynasty (618-907), the Dong nationality had settled there. After the hard work and construction of several generations, the village grew into a populous town. Unfortunately, in the reign of Emperor Qianlong in the Qing Dynasty (1644-1911), the Dong people revolted against the Qing Government. The uprising was put down. In order to escape persecution, the villagers fled and abandoned their village. But in 1993, Yinshui Dong Village was renovated under the auspicious of Longsheng County Government.
The architecture in the village is quite unique and with a distinctive style. The most renowned structures are the Wind and Rain Bridge, and the Drum Tower with its square piled-eaves. The bridge is a unique integration of bridge, pavilion and corridor.
The Dong people still retains their unique national identity. Almost everyone of Dong nationality is good at singing their folk songs and dancing.
Tourists who visit can also taste the delicacies of the distinctive local cuisine of Dong, such as their duck, fish and meat dishes.
|Admission Fee:||CNY 50|
And in Fulu, the Sanyuesan Festival, namely Firecracker Festival, is also celebrated. You can take a bus at Guilin General Bus Station to Baise first. Then transfer to a taxi or hire a car to reach Fulu Village.