Forbidden CityForbidden City

Beijing Shanghai Express

SG13: 6 Days Small Group Tour to Beijing - Shanghai
Tour Type: Small Group of 2-18 persons, guaranteed departures
Guide & Driver: English-speaking guide & air-conditioned, licensed limousine
Tour Highlights:
  • Must-see sights - Mutianyu Great Wall, Forbidden City, Temple of Heaven, the Bund
  • Cruise on the Huangpu River to take in the impressive skylines of Shanghai
  • Experience China's most developed high speed train from Beijing to Shanghai
  • Enjoy a la carte meals & taste authentic Chinese cuisines at superb restaurants
From $769 per person Free Inquiry
Great Wall of China
  • 1/3
  • 2/3
  • 3/3
Expand All
Collapse All
Day 1 Arrival in Beijing
Airport pick-up & airport-hotel transfer.
Your enjoyable escorted China tour starts with our helpful pick-up service. Upon your landing at Beijing airport, our guide will greet you outside the customs area, and then transfer you to the hotel in a clean and comfortable vehicle. The remainder of the day is free for you to refresh from fatigue after a long journey.
 
Accommodation: The Great Wall Hotel Beijing - the former Sheraton
Day 2 Beijing
Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, A la carte welcome lunch with Peking Duck, Temple of Heaven, Chinese Kung Fu Show. (B+L)
Great Wall of China
Our guests toasting on the Great Wall
After breakfast, you will meet with your fellow group members in the hotel lobby and then set off for today's visit. The first destination will be Tiananmen Square, the largest city square in the world. Then follow your guide to enter the Forbidden City. The halls with flying golden roofs and red walls, carved dragons, and lion statues in the palace reveal the past glory of the fallen imperial family. 

To avoid the cheap and low quality tourist restaurant, we specially serve you an a la carte welcome lunch (valued at CNY150.00 per person and included in our price) at a famous restaurant to taste authentic Chinese cuisine. Don't forget to order the yummy roasted duck.
 
In the afternoon, continue your visit to the Temple of Heaven, the imperial altar for the emperors of the Ming (1368 - 1644) and Qing (1644 - 1911) dynasties to worship the god of heaven. This evening, enjoy a sensational Chinese Kung Fu Show at the Red Theater.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte welcome lunch
Day 3 Beijing
Mutianyu Great Wall with a round-trip cable car, A toast with red wine on the wall, Olympic Bird's Nest. (B)
High Speed Train
The morning's excursion takes you to Mutianyu Great Wall, one of the world's wonders. Constructed in the Ming Dynasty, Mutianyu is one of the best preserved sections, with spectacular surrounding natural scenery. The wall, dotted with beacon towers, stretches along mountain ridges for miles, resembling a huge flying dragon. We arrange for you the roundtrip cable car to reach and descend the wall.

Restaurants nearby are of low quality, so we do not arrange lunch. We suggest that you have a big breakfast and have some fast food for lunch by yourself. Your guide will be also glad to provide you with advice. 

We will then drive you back to the city to enjoy some free time at a featured local market. You will also have a stopover for nice photo shots at the Olympic National Stadium (Bird's Nest) on the way..

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Day 4 Beijing - Shanghai
Summer Palace, Hutong Rickshaw Tour, Experience Chinese Paper Cutting, A la carte lunch, A 4.5-hour high speed train to Shanghai, Pick-up service. (B+L)
Today's visit starts with the Summer Palace, the largest and best preserved imperial garden in China. Constructed on the natural scenery of Kunming Lake and Wanshou Hill in the Qing Dynasty, the garden is a perfect combination of landscape and imperial palaces. Next you will have a Hutong tour by taking a ride on a rickshaw. Hutong means narrow alleys in Beijing's old blocks. The traditional courtyards, local culture and history and normal people's life, all that is what we want to show you here. There is also a chance to experience Chinese paper cutting. 

After an a la carte lunch (valued at CNY150.00 per person and included in our price), you will take an afternoon high-speed train for around 4.5 hours to reach Shanghai. Our local guide will meet you at the train station and take you to the hotel.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Accommodation: Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai
Day 5 Shanghai
Shanghai Museum, Yu Garden and its traditional bazaar, A la carte farewell lunch, Former French Concession, the Bund and Huangpu River cruise. (B+L)
Shanghai Bund at sunset
An entire day trip will show you a versatile Shanghai. In the morning, you will get a general knowledge about the history, culture and development of this city in Shanghai Museum. Then proceed to Yu Garden, a classical Chinese garden with a history of more than 400 years. In this garden, you will see traditional Chinese buildings with beautiful carvings and decorations, and artistic artificial hills and clear ponds with stone bridges. There is also a traditional bazaar near the garden.

Around noon, an a la carte farewell lunch (valued at CNY120.00 per person and included in our price) will be served at a popular restaurant. 

Then continue on to visit the Former French Concession and the Bund area, where you will also take a one-hour cruise tour along the Huangpu River. Upon returning to the hotel, our guide will see you into the lobby and bid you bon voyage.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte farewell lunch
Day 6 Departure from Shanghai
Hotel-airport transfer is on your own arrangement, A pleasant trip home! (B)
Airport drop-off is not included today. Please find your way to the airport for your homebound flight. You can choose to take a taxi to the airport. We wish you a nice trip home.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
B-- Breakfast L-- Lunch D-- Dinner
Prices are per person in US Dollars; departures are guaranteed even with two persons!
MonthArrival DateDeparture DateDouble OccupancySingle Room Supplement 
Jan. 2019Jan 05(Sat) Jan 10(Thu) $769$239
Jan 19(Sat) Jan 24(Thu) $769$239
Feb. 2019Feb 24(Sun) Mar 01(Fri) $769$239
Mar. 2019Mar 05(Tue) Mar 10(Sun) $799$279
Mar 12(Tue) Mar 17(Sun) $799$279
Mar 26(Tue) Mar 31(Sun) $799$279
Apr. 2019Apr 04(Thu) Apr 09(Tue) $799$279
Apr 11(Thu) Apr 16(Tue) $799$279
Apr 18(Thu) Apr 23(Tue) $799$279
Apr 25(Thu) Apr 30(Tue) $799$279
May. 2019May 09(Thu) May 14(Tue) $799$279
May 16(Thu) May 21(Tue) $799$279
May 23(Thu) May 28(Tue) $799$279
May 30(Thu) Jun 04(Tue) $799$279
Jun. 2019Jun 06(Thu) Jun 11(Tue) $799$279
Jun 13(Thu) Jun 18(Tue) $799$279
Jun 20(Thu) Jun 25(Tue) $799$279
Jun 27(Thu) Jul 02(Tue) $799$269
Jul. 2019Jul 04(Thu) Jul 09(Tue) $799$269
Jul 11(Thu) Jul 16(Tue) $799$269
Jul 18(Thu) Jul 23(Tue) $799$269
Jul 25(Thu) Jul 30(Tue) $799$269
Aug. 2019Aug 01(Thu) Aug 06(Tue) $799$269
Aug 08(Thu) Aug 13(Tue) $799$269
Aug 15(Thu) Aug 20(Tue) $799$269
Aug 22(Thu) Aug 27(Tue) $799$269
Aug 29(Thu) Sep 03(Tue) $799$279
Sep. 2019Sep 05(Thu) Sep 10(Tue) $819$289
Sep 12(Thu) Sep 17(Tue) $819$289
Sep 19(Thu) Sep 24(Tue) $819$289
Oct. 2019Oct 03(Thu) Oct 08(Tue) $819$289
Oct 10(Thu) Oct 15(Tue) $819$289
Oct 17(Thu) Oct 22(Tue) $819$289
Oct 24(Thu) Oct 29(Tue) $819$289
Oct 31(Thu) Nov 05(Tue) $819$289
Nov. 2019Nov 07(Thu) Nov 12(Tue) $819$289
Nov 21(Thu) Nov 26(Tue) $779$249
Dec. 2019Dec 08(Sun) Dec 13(Fri) $769$249
Dec 22(Sun) Dec 27(Fri) $769$249
Jan. 2020Jan 05(Sun) Jan 10(Fri) $769$249
Feb. 2020Feb 13(Thu) Feb 18(Tue) $769$249
Mar. 2020Mar 05(Thu) Mar 10(Tue) $799$279
Mar 12(Thu) Mar 17(Tue) $799$279
Mar 26(Thu) Mar 31(Tue) $799$279
Prices are per person in US Dollars; departures are guaranteed even with two persons!
MonthArrival DateDeparture DateDouble OccupancySingle Room Supplement 
Jan. 2020Jan 05(Sun) Jan 10(Fri) $769$249
Feb. 2020Feb 13(Thu) Feb 18(Tue) $769$249
Mar. 2020Mar 05(Thu) Mar 10(Tue) $799$279
Mar 12(Thu) Mar 17(Tue) $799$279
Mar 26(Thu) Mar 31(Tue) $799$279
Apr. 2020Apr 05(Sun) Apr 10(Fri) $799$279
Apr 12(Sun) Apr 17(Fri) $799$279
Apr 19(Sun) Apr 24(Fri) $799$279
Apr 26(Sun) May 01(Fri) $799$279
May. 2020May 03(Sun) May 08(Fri) $799$279
May 10(Sun) May 15(Fri) $799$279
May 17(Sun) May 22(Fri) $799$279
May 24(Sun) May 29(Fri) $799$279
May 31(Sun) Jun 05(Fri) $799$279
Jun. 2020Jun 07(Sun) Jun 12(Fri) $799$279
Jun 14(Sun) Jun 19(Fri) $799$279
Jun 21(Sun) Jun 26(Fri) $799$279
Jun 28(Sun) Jul 03(Fri) $799$269
Jul. 2020Jul 05(Sun) Jul 10(Fri) $799$269
Jul 12(Sun) Jul 17(Fri) $799$269
Jul 19(Sun) Jul 24(Fri) $799$269
Jul 26(Sun) Jul 31(Fri) $799$269
Aug. 2020Aug 02(Sun) Aug 07(Fri) $799$269
Aug 09(Sun) Aug 14(Fri) $799$269
Aug 16(Sun) Aug 21(Fri) $799$269
Aug 30(Sun) Sep 04(Fri) $799$279
Sep. 2020Sep 06(Sun) Sep 11(Fri) $819$289
Sep 13(Sun) Sep 18(Fri) $819$289
Sep 20(Sun) Sep 25(Fri) $819$289
Oct. 2020Oct 04(Sun) Oct 09(Fri) $819$289
Oct 11(Sun) Oct 16(Fri) $819$289
Oct 18(Sun) Oct 23(Fri) $819$289
Oct 25(Sun) Oct 30(Fri) $819$289
Nov. 2020Nov 01(Sun) Nov 06(Fri) $819$289
Nov 08(Sun) Nov 13(Fri) $819$289
Nov 15(Sun) Nov 20(Fri) $779$249
Dec. 2020Dec 08(Tue) Dec 13(Sun) $769$249
Dec 22(Tue) Dec 27(Sun) $769$249
Price Includes
  • High-speed train fare
  • Hotel accommodation with breakfasts
  • A la carte lunches as itinerary specifies
  • Professional English-speaking guides
  • Drivers & air-conditioned vehicles
  • Entrance fees to tourist sites
  • Tips or gratuities for hotel porters
Price Excludes
  • International airfares
  • Entry Visa fees
  • Personal expenses
  • Tips or gratuities for guides and drivers
Why Travel With Us
Itineraries you may also like:
  • Customer Reviews
  • Questions & Answers
  •  
    5.03 Reivews
    Alexandra S
    United States
    Posted on December 02, 2018
    We had a wonderful time. Thank you so much!!!! Everything worked out great. We were very happy with the two guides we had: Tony and William. We had a great time with them. They really gave their best. I hope to get another opportunity to come to China.
    Hannah Stewart
    Australia
    Posted on November 25, 2018
    So far so good, good communication so far.
    Roberto
    Chile
    Posted on November 15, 2018
    We returned from the 6-day trip. With regard to the service we received from this company it was very good and we are quite satisfied. In particular I want to mention our guide in Beijing Miss Lydia who was especially dedicated to make our tours and staying in Beijing, very nice and increasing our knowledge, culture and admiration to China and their population. I transmit this greeting to all the people who gave us the tour service in Beijing and Shanghai.
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings!
10% off - book 60 days in advance
5% off - book 30 days in advance