Water TownWater Town

Heritage Discoveries

SG21: 9 Days Small Group Tour to Beijing - Xian - Shanghai - Suzhou - Shanghai
Tour Type: Small Group of 1-18 persons, guaranteed departures
Guide & Driver: English-speaking guide & air-conditioned, licensed limousine
Tour Highlights:
  • Must-see sights in China - the Great Wall, Forbidden City, Terracotta Warriors
  • Take in the impressive skylines of Shanghai as you walk along the Bund
  • Experience an interesting tricycle tour in the old town of Suzhou
  • Visit the largest classical garden and ancient water town of Tongli
From $1159 per person Free Inquiry
  • 1/6
  • 2/6
  • 3/6
  • 4/6
  • 5/6
  • 6/6
Expand All
Collapse All
Day 1 Arrival in Beijing
Airport pick-up & airport-hotel transfer.
Today your international flight will touch down in Beijing. Our professional local guide will meet you at the Airport after you reclaim your luggage and clear the customs. On the way to the hotel, we will give you a brief introduction to our capital city. After we help you check in at the hotel, you will have free time for the rest of the day.

Meals included: No meals, advice freely available
Accommodation: The Great Wall Hotel Beijing - the former Sheraton
Day 2 Beijing
Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, A la carte lunch, Temple of Heaven, Kung Fu Show. (B+L)
Forbidden City, Beijing
Photo by our client Mr. Thomas James Galbraith Macpherson
Before your escorted tour starts, an introductory talk will be given at the hotel. You will meet the other members of your group at that time. We begin the trip with a visit to Tiananmen Square. Every early morning and sunset, people can watch the most majestic national flag raising and lowering ceremonies. After that, you will walk for a few minutes to the Forbidden City, the imperial palace of the Ming and Qing dynasties. It is the most comprehensive palace museum, as well as the largest ancient culture and art museum, containing a great collection of valuable historical items in China. 

To avoid the cheap tourist restaurants as the most are doing now, we specially serve you an a la carte lunch (valued at CNY150.00 per person and included in our price) at a famous and elegant restaurant. 

The afternoon visit will take you to the Temple of Heaven. Four times larger than the Forbidden City in area, the Temple of Heaven has always been a sacred imperial temple for the emperors to sacrifice to the God of Heaven and pray for a good harvest year. Not far away from the site of the Temple of Heaven, it is the Red Theater, where you will enjoy a grand visual feast of the splendid Chinese Kung Fu Show

Meals included: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Day 3 Beijing
Badaling Great Wall, Sacred Way, Bird's Nest (drive by). (B)
Summer Palace, Beijing
Today you will come to visit the highlight of your trip, Badaling Great Wall. Badaling is the most elite section of China Great Wall. No travelers can help feeling the excitement of witnessing this world wonder. At this time, you may think of drinking a glass of red wine to celebrate the memorable moment. Please rest assured; we will leave no regret for you. We would like to arrange red wine for our valued guests toasting on the amazing wall. 

The restaurants nearby the sites are in low quality, which absolutely are not up to our standard, so we do not arrange the lunch today. It may be the best that you have a big breakfast and have some fast food for lunch by yourself. 

The afternoon journey will take you to the Sacred Way, a road leading to the Ming mausoleums. Different from the other sites, which are always congested with crowds, the Sacred Way is quite a peaceful place at any time you visit. Stone statues lined both sides of the road featuring various shapes and postures, still keep the thousand years' silence. Finally we will drive you back to the hotel. Along the way, you will have a chance to see the Bird's Nest at close range. 

Meals included: Western buffet breakfast
Day 4 Beijing - Xian
Summer Palace, A la carte lunch, Hutong visit. Fly to Xian. Airport-hotel transfer. (B+L)
Our travel consultant Sophie with her guests at a local family
After breakfast this morning, you will check out of the hotel. Our guide will first transfer you to visit the Summer Palace, the largest and best-preserved imperial garden. It is mainly composed of the Longevity Hill and Kunming Lake and three quarters of the garden is water area. Focusing on the essence of garden art, the 728 meters Long Corridor with delicate artistic drawings and designs is the most representative part of the palace. 

An a la carte lunch (valued at CNY150.00 per person and included in our price) will be served at a decent local restaurant. You may order your favorite Chinese dishes and enjoy it leisurely. 

The afternoon visit will involve the traditional Hutongs, where the narrow alleys, old-style courtyards, pedlars along the streets and these amiable local people will surely leave you with unique impressions of old Beijing. Then you will go to the airport to take a flight to Xian. Your local guide will meet you outside the baggage claim area of the airport, and get you checked in at the hotel.

Meals included: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Accommodation: Sheraton Hotel
Day 5 Xian
Terracotta Warriors, A local family visit and home-cooked lunch, Xian Museum and Small Wild Goose Pagoda, Tang Dynasty Show with dumpling dinner. (B+L+D)
Our clients cycling on the City Wall, Xian
There will be an expected trip to the Terracotta Warriors and Horses Museum this morning. Thousands of life-size pottery soldiers had been made to guard the first Emperor of Qin after his death. Don't be surprised that you could not find two soldiers alike as they were made exactly identical with the real royal army 2200 years ago.

To avoid the mass-produced food at the cheap tourist restaurants near the warrior site, we will offer you a home cooking a la carte lunch (valued at CNY120.00 per person and included in our price) at a family house. You can take this opportunity to have a close contact with the locals and get to know the way of their lives by talking with the host. If you are interested, the host can also teach you how to cook Chinese food with the assistance of your guide. 

After lunch, you will visit the Xian Museum and then the Small Wild Goose Pagoda, which was a famous ancient stupa initially built about 1300 years ago. This evening, the Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show will impress you while enjoying the famous Dumpling Dinner.

Meals included: Western buffet breakfast, Home-cooked a la carte lunch, Dumpling dinner
 Friendly Tips

Since the Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show will be closed in Jan, Feb, Mar and Dec, we do not calculate the price of the show and dumpling dinner for tours starting during this period. Clients will enjoy a free night by themselves.
Day 6 Xian - Shanghai
City Wall, Shaanxi History Museum, A la carte lunch. Fly to Shanghai. Airport-hotel transfer. (B+L)
After breakfast, you will visit the City Wall. With about 600 years' history, the City Wall is the most well-preserved ancient fortification in China. Travelers can ride a bicycle or electric car on the top of the wall, but you need to pay the rental fee on the spot by yourself. It should be a fascinating experience. Afterwards we head to the Shaanxi History Museum. It has a huge collection of 370,000 pieces of cultural relics from ancient times, down to the year 1840. 

Around noon, we will serve you an a la carte lunch (valued at CNY120.00 per person and included in our price) at a popular local restaurant with tasty food. Please take your time to enjoy it. 

In the afternoon, you will board a flight to Shanghai. Transfer from the airport to the hotel will be arranged. You will have a three-night stay at this hotel.

Meals included: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Accommodation: Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Day 7 Shanghai
Shanghai Museum, Yuyuan Garden, A la carte lunch, the Bund, Huangpu River cruise. (B+L)
Shanghai Yuyuan Garden Photo by our client Mr. Robin Pollock
This morning you will start from the famous Shanghai Museum, which is a large museum of ancient Chinese art built in 1952. Among its huge collections, the displays of bronze vessels in Shang and Zhou dynasties, ceramic objects of different historical periods and ancient paintings and calligraphy, grace the museum with their incalculable value. The next stop is the Yuyuan Garden, a classical Chinese garden built in 1559. 

To taste the good Shanghai cuisine, we would like to arrange a farewell a la carte lunch (valued at CNY120.00 per person and included in our price) for you at a famous local restaurant. 

In the afternoon, our guide will take you to the Bund area, where you will take a short cruise tour along the Huangpu River. You will have some free time to stroll along the Bund. The most attractive site in the Bund area is a group of western-style buildings from the colonial period, including Gothic, Baroque, Romanesque, Classicism and the Renaissance. 

Meals included: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Day 8 Shanghai - Suzhou - Shanghai
Land transfer to Suzhou. Humble Administrator's Garden, Suzhou old town area, Tongli Water Town. (B+L)
Humble Administrator's Garden, Suzhou
In the morning, you will be transferred to Suzhou. Then start your Suzhou exploration with a visit to the Humble Administrator's Garden, which is the most famous and largest classical landscape garden among other ones. Then you will take a tricycle to tour the Suzhou old town. Lunch is served at a local nice restaurant.

The last destination in Suzhou is the Tongli Water Town, where you can appreciate the ancient buildings of the Ming and Qing dynasties and immerse yourself in this peaceful environment by strolling around the old town. Your amazing journey comes to an end when the guide transfers you back to Shanghai and say goodbye at the hotel lobby.

Meals included: Western buffet breakfast, Lunch
Day 9 Departure from Shanghai
Hotel-airport transfer is on your own arrangement. A pleasant trip home! (B)
After having breakfast, you are supposed to check out the hotel before 12:00 and find your own way to the airport. We suggest you book a taxi at the hotel in advance. It takes around one hour driving to the Pudong airport. We wish you a happy and smooth trip back home. 

Meals included: Western buffet breakfast
B-- Breakfast L-- Lunch D-- Dinner
Prices are per person in US Dollars; departures are guaranteed even with one person!
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings
10% off - book 60 days in advance, 5% off - book 30 days in advance
MonthArrival DateDeparture DateDouble OccupancySingle Room Supplement 
Oct. 2018Oct 04(Thu) Oct 12(Fri) $1329$409
Oct 11(Thu) Oct 19(Fri) $1329$409
Oct 18(Thu) Oct 26(Fri) $1329$409
Oct 25(Thu) Nov 02(Fri) $1329$409
Nov. 2018Nov 01(Thu) Nov 09(Fri) $1309$489
Nov 08(Thu) Nov 16(Fri) $1229$389
Nov 15(Thu) Nov 23(Fri) $1209 $1148$369
Dec. 2018Dec 08(Sat) Dec 16(Sun) $1159 $1101$349
Dec 22(Sat) Dec 30(Sun) $1159 $1043$349

Remark: The prices in red reflect the current discount.

Prices are per person in US Dollars; departures are guaranteed even with one person!
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings
12% off - book by Dec 31, 2018; 10% off - book by Jan 31, 2019
MonthArrival DateDeparture DateDouble OccupancySingle Room Supplement 
Jan. 2019Jan 05(Sat) Jan 13(Sun) $1299 $1143$369
Jan 19(Sat) Jan 27(Sun) $1299 $1143$369
Feb. 2019Feb 24(Sun) Mar 04(Mon) $1309 $1151$369
Mar. 2019Mar 05(Tue) Mar 13(Wed) $1329 $1169$409
Mar 12(Tue) Mar 20(Wed) $1329 $1169$409
Mar 26(Tue) Apr 03(Wed) $1329 $1169$409
Apr. 2019Apr 04(Thu) Apr 12(Fri) $1459 $1283$429
Apr 11(Thu) Apr 19(Fri) $1459 $1283$429
Apr 18(Thu) Apr 26(Fri) $1459 $1283$429
Apr 25(Thu) May 03(Fri) $1459 $1283$429
May. 2019May 09(Thu) May 17(Fri) $1459 $1283$429
May 16(Thu) May 24(Fri) $1459 $1283$429
May 23(Thu) May 31(Fri) $1459 $1283$429
May 30(Thu) Jun 07(Fri) $1469 $1292$419
Jun. 2019Jun 06(Thu) Jun 14(Fri) $1469 $1292$419
Jun 13(Thu) Jun 21(Fri) $1469 $1292$419
Jun 20(Thu) Jun 28(Fri) $1489 $1310$419
Jun 27(Thu) Jul 05(Fri) $1459 $1283$409
Jul. 2019Jul 04(Thu) Jul 12(Fri) $1489 $1310$409
Jul 11(Thu) Jul 19(Fri) $1489 $1310$409
Jul 18(Thu) Jul 26(Fri) $1489 $1310$409
Jul 25(Thu) Aug 02(Fri) $1489 $1310$409
Aug. 2019Aug 01(Thu) Aug 09(Fri) $1489 $1310$409
Aug 08(Thu) Aug 16(Fri) $1489 $1310$409
Aug 15(Thu) Aug 23(Fri) $1489 $1310$409
Aug 22(Thu) Aug 30(Fri) $1489 $1310$409
Aug 29(Thu) Sep 06(Fri) $1459 $1283$429
Sep. 2019Sep 05(Thu) Sep 13(Fri) $1469 $1292$429
Sep 12(Thu) Sep 20(Fri) $1469 $1292$429
Sep 19(Thu) Sep 27(Fri) $1469 $1292$429
Oct. 2019Oct 03(Thu) Oct 11(Fri) $1469 $1292$429
Oct 10(Thu) Oct 18(Fri) $1469 $1292$429
Oct 17(Thu) Oct 25(Fri) $1469 $1292$429
Oct 24(Thu) Nov 01(Fri) $1469 $1292$429
Oct 31(Thu) Nov 08(Fri) $1389 $1222$429
Nov. 2019Nov 07(Thu) Nov 15(Fri) $1389 $1222$429
Nov 21(Thu) Nov 29(Fri) $1329 $1169$379
Dec. 2019Dec 08(Sun) Dec 16(Mon) $1309 $1151$379
Dec 22(Sun) Dec 30(Mon) $1309 $1151$379
Jan. 2020Jan 05(Sun) Jan 13(Mon) $1309 $1178$379
Feb. 2020Feb 13(Thu) Feb 21(Fri) $1309 $1178$379
Mar. 2020Mar 05(Thu) Mar 13(Fri) $1329 $1196$409
Mar 12(Thu) Mar 20(Fri) $1329 $1196$409
Mar 26(Thu) Apr 03(Fri) $1329 $1196$409

Remark: The prices in red reflect 12% discount.

Price Includes
  • Domestic airfares
  • Hotel accommodation with breakfasts
  • A la carte lunches as itinerary specifies
  • Professional English-speaking guides
  • Drivers & air-conditioned vehicles
  • Entrance fees to tourist sites
  • Tips or gratuities for hotel porters
Price Excludes
  • International airfares
  • Entry Visa fees
  • Personal expenses
  • Tips or gratuities for guides and drivers
Why Travel With Us
Itineraries you may also like:
  • Our Customer Reviews
  • Questions & Answers
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings!
10% off - book 60 days in advance
5% off - book 30 days in advance