• Free Inquiry
  • Lowest Price
  • Expert Guide & Driver
  • Downtown Hotels
  • A La Carte Meals
  • Chinese Family Visit
  • Free Cooking Class
  • Best Flight Times
  • No Hidden Charges

Golden Triangle & Yangtze

SG04: 11 Days Small Group Tour to Beijing Xian  Chongqing Yangtze River Cruise Yichang  Shanghai
From $1659 per person Free Inquiry
Day01 Arrival in Beijing
Airport pick-up & airport-hotel transfer.

Accommodation: The Great Wall Hotel Beijing - the former Sheraton
Day02 Beijing
Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, A la carte lunch, Temple of Heaven, Kung Fu Show. (B+L)
Day03 Beijing
Badaling Great Wall, Sacred Way, Bird's Nest (drive by). (B)
Day04 Beijing - Xian
Summer Palace, A la carte lunch, Hutong visit. Fly to Xian. Airport-hotel transfer. (B+L)

Accommodation: Sheraton Hotel
Day05 Xian
Terracotta Warriors, A local family visit, Home-cooked lunch, Xian Museum and Small Wild Goose Pagoda, Tang Dynasty Show with dumpling dinner. (B+L+D)
Day06 Xian - Chongqing
City Wall. Fly to Chongqing. Ciqikou if time permits. Yangtze River tour begins at 22:00. (B)

Accommodation: President No.6 with balcony
Day07 Shibaozhai
An excursion to Shibaozhai, Captain's Welcome Party. (B+L+D)
Day08 Badong - Xiling Gorge - Sandouping
Yangtze Three Gorges with an excursion to Shennong Stream. (B+L+D)
Day09 Yichang - Shanghai
Three Gorges Dam, Disembark the cruise. Fly to Shanghai. Airport-hotel transfer. (B+L)

Accommodation: Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Day10 Shanghai
Shanghai Museum, Yuyuan Garden, A la carte lunch, the Bund, Huangpu River cruise. (B+L)
Day11 Departure from Shanghai
Hotel-airport transfer is on your own arrangement. A pleasant trip home! (B)
B-- Breakfast L-- Lunch D-- Dinner
View Full Itinerary
Day01 Arrival in Beijing
As the flight lands at Beijing Capital Airport, your long-anticipated 11 days guided tour of China starts with a warm welcome by our guide. We will transfer you to the hotel and the rest of the day remains free for you to relax and recover from jet lag. A full day of scheduled sightseeing awaits you tomorrow.

Meals: No meals, advice freely available
Accommodation: The Great Wall Hotel Beijing - the former Sheraton
Day02 Beijing
Our group at Badaling Great Wall
Photo by our clients David and Elizabeth Francis
After breakfast, you will meet your guide and other group members at the orientation briefing held in the hotel. The exciting trip begins with a visit to the world famous Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City in the morning. In the Forbidden City, the world's biggest imperial palace complex, 24 emperors ruled continuously for 490 years. Nowadays, travelers can trace its gorgeous history from the well-preserved majestic palaces and valued collections. Lunch will feature an authentic a la carte Chinese meal (valued at CNY150.00 per person and included in our price) at a nice restaurant, avoiding the tourist eateries arranged by most agencies. 

In the afternoon, you will visit the historically significant Temple of Heaven. After today's sightseeing, you will enjoy a fabulous Chinese Kung Fu Show at the Red Theatre.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Day03 Beijing
An old grandpa with his hookah
Have a big breakfast at the hotel today and then head for the majestic Badaling Great Wall and a jade factory. Only a small section of the Great Wall, Badaling has embodies the best of this wonderful military project. Climbing the great wall is energy-consuming but memorable, so TravelChinaGuide specially prepares red wine for a group toasting on the Great Wall to celebrate and commemorate this moment. Lunch is not included in today's itineraries as the restaurants nearby are not up to TCG's standards. You can have some fast food for lunch by yourself.

The exploration continues with  a visit to the Sacred Way in the afternoon. The day's sightseeing will come to an end after seeing the Bird's Nest on the way back to the city. Our driver will stop there for a few minutes for you to take pictures.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Day04 Beijing - Xian
Terracotta warriors and soldiers, Xian
Photo by our client Mr. Bruce Malkin
This morning you will first visit the Summer Palace, which offers a harmonious combination of Chinese royal buildings, a Buddhist pagoda, classical garden design, man-made hills and lakes. After paying a short visit to a pearl store, you will enjoy a delicious a la carte lunch (valued at CNY150.00 per person and included in our price) at an elegant local restaurant.
 
Continue your visit to the old Hutongs this afternoon. After that, our guide and driver will transfer you to the airport for your flight to Xian. The local guide in Xian will pick you up at the airport and help you check in at the hotel for a two-night stay.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Accommodation: Sheraton Hotel
Day05 Xian
Chinese countryside people celebrating the traditional festival
After breakfast, you will set out for the world famous Terracotta Warriors and Horses Museum and a pottery-making factory. The large quantity of life-size and vivid terracotta statuaries made 2,200 years ago will definitely amaze you. An authentic home-cooked a la carte lunch (valued at CNY120.00 per person and included in our price) awaits you at the home of a local family in downtown Xian, which avoids the tourist restaurants near the warrior site and also is a good opportunity for you to learn about the local people's life. Also, there is a good chance for you to learn about one or two Chinese dishes from the host. 

In the afternoon, go on to visit the Small Wild Goose Pagoda & Xian Museum. Tonight, feast your eyes on the famous Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show after you enjoy the local specialty -- a Dumpling Dinner.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, Home-cooked a la carte lunch, Dumpling dinner
Tips: Since the Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show will be closed in Jan, Feb, Mar and Dec, we do not calculate the price of the show and dumpling dinner for tours starting during this period. Clients will enjoy a free night by themselves.
Day06 Xian - Chongqing
The Captain's Welcome Party on Yangtze cruise
A morning excursion will take you to one of Xian's landmarks, the City Wall. You can rent a bicycle and enjoy a special ride on the old wall (bike rental fee is on your own). 

Afterwards, you will fly to Chongqing. Our guide will meet you at the airport and take you to visit Ciqikou Ancient Town. Then you will head for Chaotianmen Ferry Terminal to board the luxurious Yangtze River cruise ship, which is the most relaxed journey of your 11 days China itinerary. The ship sails at 22:00.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Accommodation: President No.6 with balcony
Day07 Shibaozhai
In the morning, the river guide will give an introduction to the cruise schedule and the Yangtze River. At about 14:00, the ship will disembark at Zhongxian for an onshore excursion to Shibaozhai.  After that, you will re-board the ship and the cruise will continue towards the splendid Three Gorges. This evening, the cruise staff will invite you to join the Captain's Welcome Party.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Day08 Badong - Xiling Gorge - Sandouping
Shennong Stream cruise, Yangtze River Three Gorges
The climax of your Yangtze River Cruise is coming today. The unique scenery of the Three Gorges will be unveiled in front of you. Among them, Qutang Gorge is the most dangerous and shortest. Wu Gorge is the most beautiful, renowned for its deep valley and elegant beauty. In Wu Gorge, you will change to a sampan to take a side trip along Shennong Stream for 3 to 4 hours. Shennong Stream features picturesque natural beauty, distinctive Tujia flavor, boat tracking culture and valued historical relics.
 
After that, you will return to the ship and sail into Xiling Gorge. In the evening, the ship will travel through the Five Level Ship Lock of the Three Gorges Dam. The river guide will describe the well known project on the ship's deck and you can watch the whole process of the ship passing through the gigantic lock.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Day09 Yichang - Shanghai
Clients' comments on our company
After breakfast, you will disembark for an excursion to the Three Gorges Dam. Then you will re-embark and complete check-out procedures. Our guide in Yichang will pick you up on board and transfer you to the city for lunch. 

After that we will see you off in the airport for the flight to Shanghai. Upon arrival, your guide will meet you in the airport and transfer you to the hotel. 

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, Lunch
Accommodation: Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Day10 Shanghai
Our group at the Bund, Shanghai
Photo by our client Mr. Lawrence Perkins
Shanghai is an international metropolis with a blend of rich history and fashionable modernity. The short one-day trip will give you a panoramic view of the city. In the morning, visit Shanghai Museum, the beautiful Yuyuan Garden and a silk shop. In the museum, there are over 120,000 historical collections from ancient China. Yuyuan Garden, which was a private residence constructed 400 years ago, is one of the best combinations of ancient Chinese buildings, water, mountain and natural scenery. Around noon, a luxurious farewell a la carte lunch (valued at CNY120.00 per person and included in our price) will be served at a famous restaurant with the best Shanghai cuisine. 

In the afternoon, you will be guided to stroll along the Bund to experience the thrills of old and modern Shanghai. You will also have a cruise tour along the Huangpu River. In the end, our guide and driver will transfer you back to the hotel and say goodbye to you at the lobby.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Day11 Departure from Shanghai
There are two airports in Shanghai: one is Pudong International Airport (PVG) and the other is Hongqiao Airport (SHA). Please check carefully to see which airport you will depart from. You can book a taxi (CNY200 to Pudong, and CNY70 to Hongqiao) at the hotel Bell Desk the day before by yourself as your tour charge does not include the transfer from hotel to airport. We wish you a safe, smooth flight and hope in the near future we can serve you again.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
We are never beaten on price and quality! Should another operator offer an identical itinerary at lower cost please contact our Sales Director and we will match it.
  • 2018 Prices
Prices are per person in US Dollars; departures are guaranteed even with one person! Currency Converter
MonthArrival DateDeparture DateDouble OccupancySingle Room Supplement 
Mar. 2018Mar 31(Sat) Apr 10(Tue) $1879 $1653$659
Apr. 2018Apr 05(Thu) Apr 15(Sun) $1799 $1583$609
Apr 12(Thu) Apr 22(Sun) $1799 $1583$609
Apr 19(Thu) Apr 29(Sun) $1799 $1583$609
Apr 26(Thu) May 06(Sun) $1859 $1635$649
May. 2018May 03(Thu) May 13(Sun) $1859 $1635$649
May 10(Thu) May 20(Sun) $1859 $1635$649
May 17(Thu) May 27(Sun) $1859 $1635$649
May 24(Thu) Jun 03(Sun) $1859 $1635$649
May 31(Thu) Jun 10(Sun) $1779 $1565$579
Jun. 2018Jun 07(Thu) Jun 17(Sun) $1739 $1530$579
Jun 14(Thu) Jun 24(Sun) $1739 $1530$579
Jun 21(Thu) Jul 01(Sun) $1739 $1530$579
Jun 28(Thu) Jul 08(Sun) $1809 $1591$579
Jul. 2018Jul 05(Thu) Jul 15(Sun) $1809 $1591$579
Jul 12(Thu) Jul 22(Sun) $1809 $1591$579
Jul 19(Thu) Jul 29(Sun) $1809 $1591$579
Jul 26(Thu) Aug 05(Sun) $1809 $1591$579
Aug. 2018Aug 02(Thu) Aug 12(Sun) $1819 $1600$589
Aug 09(Thu) Aug 19(Sun) $1819 $1600$589
Aug 16(Thu) Aug 26(Sun) $1819 $1600$589
Aug 30(Thu) Sep 09(Sun) $1859 $1635$649
Sep. 2018Sep 06(Thu) Sep 16(Sun) $1859 $1635$649
Sep 13(Thu) Sep 23(Sun) $1859 $1635$649
Sep 20(Thu) Sep 30(Sun) $1859 $1635$649
Oct. 2018Oct 04(Thu) Oct 14(Sun) $1859 $1635$649
Oct 11(Thu) Oct 21(Sun) $1859 $1635$649
Oct 18(Thu) Oct 28(Sun) $1859 $1635$649
Oct 25(Thu) Nov 04(Sun) $1859 $1635$649
Nov. 2018Nov 01(Thu) Nov 11(Sun) $1699 $1495$589
Nov 08(Thu) Nov 18(Sun) $1699 $1495$589
Nov 15(Thu) Nov 25(Sun) $1679 $1477$569

Remarks: The prices in red reflect 12% discount if you book a 2018 China tour before Dec. 31, 2017.

Price Includes
  • Domestic airfares
  • Hotel accommodation with breakfasts
  • A la carte lunches as itinerary specifies
  • Professional English-speaking guides
  • Drivers & air-conditioned vehicles
  • Entrance fees to tourist sites
  • Yangtze River cruise with full board
  • Tips or gratuities for hotel porters
Price Excludes
  • International airfares
  • Entry Visa fees
  • Personal expenses
  • Tips or gratuities for guides and drivers
For more information on reservation, payment and cancellation, please read Terms & Conditions.
  • Our Customer Reviews
  • Questions & Answers
Book a 2018 China tour before Dec. 31, 2017, and you will enjoy a guaranteed discount of 12% off the tour price.