• Free Inquiry
  • Lowest Price
  • Expert Guide & Driver
  • Downtown Hotels
  • A La Carte Meals
  • Chinese Family Visit
  • Free Cooking Class
  • Best Flight Times
  • No Hidden Charges

Pandas & Golden Cities

SG08: 11 Days Small Group Tour to Beijing Xian  Chengdu Shanghai
From $1509 per person Free Inquiry
Expand All
Day 1 Arrival in Beijing
Airport pick-up & airport-hotel transfer.
You will be met at Beijing airport and taken to check in at the hotel. You may make your own plans for the remainder of the day. Our guide will offer the orientation of the following day on escorted tours and dining arrangements. 

Meals: No meals, advice freely available
Accommodation: The Great Wall Hotel Beijing - the former Sheraton
Day 2 Beijing
Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, A la carte lunch, Temple of Heaven, Kung Fu Show. (B+L)
Our group at the Tiananmen Square
After breakfast at the hotel, all nationals on the tour attend an orientation session for mix and mingle. Set off to the first stop, at the Tiananmen Square and then the Forbidden City. There is much to see. Our guide will take you one step further with first hand knowledge.
At noon, you may dine on an a la carte lunch (valued at CNY150.00 per person and included in our price) at a very popular restaurant. There are great menu selections. 

After that you will approach the Temple of Heaven. It is a former place of worship surrounded by a park. Then you will go to see a traditional Chinese Kung Fu Show in the evening.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Day 3 Beijing
Badaling Great Wall, Sacred Way, Bird's Nest (drive by). (B)
Badaling Great Wall
The buffet style breakfast with variety of food is served at the hotel from 06:30. We suggest you have a hearty breakfast today as you are going to mount the great wall and lunch is not included. After about one hour driving, you will reach the Badaling Great Wall, the most popular section. Drop by a jade factory en route. To add spice on the occasion, we toast you with a bottle of red wine. 

Then we will conduct you to the spiritual Sacred Way in the afternoon. With pairs of huge statues guarding both sides under the weeping willow trees, the Sacred Way is a very peaceful way for a walk. On the way back to town, you will be driven through 2008 Olympic site dominated by the large Bird's Nest. You can also get a photo opportunity with it as backdrop.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Day 4 Beijing - Xian
Summer Palace, A la carte lunch, Hutong visit. Fly to Xian. Airport-hotel transfer. (B+L)
Chinese countryside people celebrating the traditional festival
On the last day of Beijing visit you get to see the Summer Palace, a pearl store and the traditional Hutongs. Summer Palace is one of the places where you find refuge from the bustling city center. Narrow alleys connect traditional courtyard residences called Hutongs. A rickshaw ride through those old hutongs is an eye-opening experience.

We will serve you an a la carte lunch (valued at CNY150.00 per person and included in our price) at a quality local restaurant. Enough of Beijing, and you are off to the ancient imperial capital, Xian, where you will be met at the airport and brought to the hotel accommodation in the city.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Accommodation: Sheraton Hotel
Day 5 Xian
Terracotta Warriors, A local family visit, Home-cooked lunch, Xian Museum and Small Wild Goose Pagoda, Tang Dynasty Show with dumpling dinner. (B+L+D)
This morning, we will show you the Terracotta Army Museum and then a pottery-making factory. The musem consists of four main excavation pits and the excavation is ongoing. 

Then pay a home visit. You will socialize with the host family members and join them for lunch (valued at CNY120.00 per person and included in our price). Proceed to the Xian Museum and Small Wild Goose Pagoda after lunch. This evening, dine on the local special dumpling dinner with the Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, Home-cooked a la carte lunch, Dumpling dinner
Tips: Since the Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show will be closed in Jan, Feb, Mar and Dec, we do not calculate the price of the show and dumpling dinner for tours starting during this period. Clients will enjoy a free night by themselves.
Day 6 Xian
City Wall, Provincial History Museum, A la carte lunch, Great Mosque, Free time at the Muslim Bazzar. (B+L)
Terracotta Army
Photo by our client Mr. Barry David Nichols
Ascend City Wall in the morning. Originally built as a military defense system, it consists of walls, gate towers, suspension bridges and city moats. Nowadays, it has become one of the landmarks of this ancient capital city. Later, visit the Shaanxi History Museum, an admirable place for visitors to appreciate the cultural treasures. 

After an a la carte lunch at a nice restaurant, continue to the Muslim Street. It has been a prosperous commercial street since ancient times, and now it becomes more and more popular among tourists with its distinctive features. Going across the bustling street, you will reach the tranquil Great Mosque, which is one of the most famous mosques in China. It was first built during the mid-seventy century when Islam was introduced to Northwestern China by Arabic merchants and travelers.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Day 7 Xian - Chengdu
A high-speed train to Chengdu. Train station to hotel transfer. Free time in the afternoon. (B)
A morning high-speed train will take you from Xian to Chengdu in about 4 hours. Our guide will meet you at the railway station and help you check in at the hotel. You will be free in the afternoon.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Accommodation: Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
Day 8 Chengdu
Giant Panda Breeding Base, Jinsha Site Museum, Broad and Narrow Alleys. (B)
Plump Pandas
The Research Base of Giant Panda Breeding cannot be bypassed when one visits Chengdu. We show you the panda center in the morning when pandas are the most active. You will sure be entertained.

In the afternoon, pay a visit to the Jinsha Site Museum, which supports dating Chengdu city settlement back to 611 BC. Its heritage reflects on everyday life. And people there have the reputation for their carefree lifestyle. We will take you to the Broad and Narrow Alleys for a glimpse on their living style. 

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Day 9 Chengdu - Shanghai
Fly to Shanghai. Airport-hotel transfer. Free time for the rest of the day. (B)
Today you will be taking a flight to your last scheduled destination: Shanghai. Expect to be met and taken to the hotel for check-in. The rest time of the day is free for you to explore the city.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Accommodation: Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
Day 10 Shanghai
Shanghai Museum, Yuyuan Garden, A la carte lunch, the Bund, Huangpu River cruise. (B+L)
Shanghai Bund area
If Chinese history, culture and art, is right up your alley, then Shanghai Museum is the most informative. Then off to the Yuyuan Garden, which is a classical Chinese garden. It includes trees, flowers, and also ponds, bridges, rocks, pavilions, and halls. A silk shop is scheduled afterwards. 

You will be at the a la carte farewell lunch (valued at CNY120.00 per person and included in our price) at a fancy restaurant. 

You will spend the afternoon to take in the Bund area and have a one-hour cruise tour on the Huangpu River. Bon voyage at the hotel lobby from Travel China Guide.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Day 11 Departure from Shanghai
Hotel-airport transfer is on your own arrangement. A pleasant trip home! (B)
Today's transfer from hotel to airport is not included in the package as the flights' time of group members are different. You need to find your own way to the airport for your homeward flight. The most convenient way is to take a taxi. It costs around CNY200 per cab to Pudong airport. We hope you have a nice trip home.  

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
B-- Breakfast L-- Lunch D-- Dinner
  • 2018 Prices
  • 2019 Prices
Prices are per person in US Dollars; departures are guaranteed even with two persons!
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings
10% off - book 60 days in advance, 5% off - book 30 days in advance
MonthArrival DateDeparture DateDouble OccupancySingle Room Supplement 
Mar. 2018Mar 04(Sun) Mar 14(Wed) $1539$489
Mar 11(Sun) Mar 21(Wed) $1539$489
Mar 25(Sun) Apr 04(Wed) $1699$539
Mar 31(Sat) Apr 10(Tue) $1839$599
Apr. 2018Apr 05(Thu) Apr 15(Sun) $1839$599
Apr 12(Thu) Apr 22(Sun) $1839$599
Apr 19(Thu) Apr 29(Sun) $1839 $1747$599
Apr 26(Thu) May 06(Sun) $1839 $1747$599
May. 2018May 03(Thu) May 13(Sun) $1839 $1747$599
May 10(Thu) May 20(Sun) $1839 $1747$599
May 17(Thu) May 27(Sun) $1839 $1747$599
May 24(Thu) Jun 03(Sun) $1839 $1655$599
May 31(Thu) Jun 10(Sun) $1809 $1628$569
Jun. 2018Jun 07(Thu) Jun 17(Sun) $1799 $1619$569
Jun 14(Thu) Jun 24(Sun) $1799 $1619$569
Jun 21(Thu) Jul 01(Sun) $1799 $1619$569
Jun 28(Thu) Jul 08(Sun) $1839 $1655$569
Jul. 2018Jul 05(Thu) Jul 15(Sun) $1839 $1655$569
Jul 12(Thu) Jul 22(Sun) $1839 $1655$569
Jul 19(Thu) Jul 29(Sun) $1839 $1655$569
Jul 26(Thu) Aug 05(Sun) $1839 $1655$569
Aug. 2018Aug 02(Thu) Aug 12(Sun) $1849 $1664$589
Aug 09(Thu) Aug 19(Sun) $1849 $1664$589
Aug 16(Thu) Aug 26(Sun) $1849 $1664$589
Aug 30(Thu) Sep 09(Sun) $1839 $1655$609
Sep. 2018Sep 06(Thu) Sep 16(Sun) $1839 $1655$609
Sep 13(Thu) Sep 23(Sun) $1839 $1655$609
Sep 20(Thu) Sep 30(Sun) $1839 $1655$609
Oct. 2018Oct 04(Thu) Oct 14(Sun) $1839 $1655$609
Oct 11(Thu) Oct 21(Sun) $1839 $1655$609
Oct 18(Thu) Oct 28(Sun) $1839 $1655$609
Oct 25(Thu) Nov 04(Sun) $1809 $1628$609
Nov. 2018Nov 01(Thu) Nov 11(Sun) $1729 $1556$589
Nov 08(Thu) Nov 18(Sun) $1729 $1556$589
Nov 15(Thu) Nov 25(Sun) $1699 $1529$549
Dec. 2018Dec 08(Sat) Dec 18(Tue) $1679 $1511$549
Dec 22(Sat) Jan 01(Tue) $1679 $1511$549

Remarks: The prices in red reflect the current discount.

Price Includes
  • Domestic airfares & train fares
  • Hotel accommodation with breakfasts
  • Lunches as itinerary specifies
  • Professional English-speaking guides
  • Drivers & air-conditioned vehicles
  • Entrance fees to tourist sites
  • Yangtze River cruise with full board
  • Tips or gratuities for hotel porters
Price Excludes
  • International airfares
  • Entry Visa fees
  • Personal expenses
  • Tips or gratuities for guides and drivers
For more information on reservation, payment and cancellation, please read Terms & Conditions.
  • Our Customer Reviews
  • Questions & Answers
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings!10% off - book 60 days in advance 5% off - book 30 days in advance