Great WallGreat Wall

Pandas & Golden Cities

SG05: 11 Days Small Group Tour to Beijing - Xi'an - Chengdu - Shanghai
Tour Type: Small Group of 1-18 persons, guaranteed departures
Guide & Driver: English-speaking guide & air-conditioned, licensed limousine
Tour Highlights:
  • Must-see sights - Mutianyu Great Wall, Forbidden City, Terracotta Army, Giant Pandas
  • Have a once in a life chance to get close to the incredibly cute treasure - Pandas
  • Cruise on the Huangpu River to take in the impressive skylines of Shanghai
  • Enjoy a la carte meals, Kung Fu Show, Tang Dynasty Music and Dance performance
From $1489 per person Free Inquiry
Tiananmen Square Our group at the Great Wall of China
  • 1/6
  • 2/6
  • 3/6
  • 4/6
  • 5/6
  • 6/6
Expand All
Collapse All
Day 1 Arrival in Beijing
Airport pick-up & airport-hotel transfer.
You will be met at Beijing airport and taken to check in at the hotel. You may make your own plans for the remainder of the day. Our guide will offer the orientation of the following day on escorted tours and dining arrangements. 
 
Accommodation: The Great Wall Hotel Beijing - the former Sheraton
Day 2 Beijing
Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, A la carte welcome lunch with Peking Duck, Temple of Heaven, Chinese Kung Fu Show. (B+L)
Tiananmen Square
Tiananmen Square
After breakfast at the hotel, all nationals on the tour attend a short orientation session for mix and mingle. Set off to the first stop, at the Tiananmen Square and then the Forbidden City. There is much to see. Our guide will take you one step further with first hand knowledge.
 
At noon, you will dine on an a la carte welcome lunch (valued at CNY150.00 per person and included in our price) at a very popular restaurant. There are great menu selections including Peking Roast Duck. 

After that you will approach the Temple of Heaven. It is a former place of worship surrounded by a park. Then you will go to see a traditional Chinese Kung Fu Show in the evening.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte welcome lunch
Day 3 Beijing
Mutianyu Great Wall with a round-trip cable car, A toast with red wine on the wall, Olympic Bird's Nest. (B)
Our group at the Great Wall of China
Our group at the Great Wall of China
The buffet style breakfast with variety of food is served at the hotel from 06:30. We suggest you have a hearty breakfast today as you are going to mount the great wall and lunch is not included. After about two hours driving, you will reach the Mutianyu Great Wall, the most popular section. To keep your strength for a great hike on the wall, we arrange the round-trip cable car for you. To add spice on the exciting occasion, we toast you with a bottle of red wine.

On the way back to town, you will be driven through 2008 Olympic site dominated by the large Bird's Nest. You can also get a photo opportunity with it as backdrop. Then a featured local market is scheduled. You will enjoy some free time there to relax.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Day 4 Beijing - Xi'an
Summer Palace, Hutong Rickshaw Tour, Experience Chinese Paper Cutting, A la carte lunch, Fly to Xi'an, Airport-hotel transfer. (B+L)
Chinese countryside people celebrating the traditional festival
On the last day of Beijing visit you get to see the Summer Palace and the traditional Hutongs. Summer Palace is one of the places where you find refuge from the bustling city center. Narrow alleys connect traditional courtyard residences called Hutongs. A rickshaw ride through those old hutongs is an eye-opening experience. Also a particular arrangement for you is to try your hand at Chinese Paper Cutting, one of China's most popular folk arts.

We will serve you an a la carte lunch (valued at CNY150.00 per person and included in our price) at a quality local restaurant. Enough of Beijing, and you are off to the ancient imperial capital, Xi'an, where you will be met at the airport and brought to the hotel.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Accommodation: Sheraton Hotel
Day 5 Xi'an
Terracotta Army, A local family visit and an authentic home-cooked lunch, Small Wild Goose Pagoda, Tang Dynasty Show with dumpling dinner. (B+L+D)
The Terracotta Army is a must when visiting Xi'an. The museum consists of three main excavation pits and one exhibition hall. The figures in the museum include warriors, horses, chariots, weapons and so on. It is estimated that the first Emperor of Qin Dynasty (211-206 BC) constructed such a large army format aimed to protect his mausoleum. Till now, the excavation work is still ongoing.

Then pay a home visit. You will socialize with the host family members and join them for lunch (valued at CNY120.00 per person and included in our price). Proceed to Xi'an Museum and Small Wild Goose Pagoda after lunch. This evening, dine on the local special dumpling dinner with the Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, Home-cooked a la carte lunch, Dumpling dinner
 Friendly Tips

Since the theater is usually not open in Jan, Feb, Mar and Dec, we will not arrange the show and dumpling dinner for tours starting during the periods. Clients will enjoy free time to relax.
Day 6 Xi'an
Observe local life in the park, One-hour Tai Chi practice, Xi'an City Wall, A la carte lunch, Provincial History Museum, Great Mosque, Muslim Quarter. (B+L)
Terracotta Army
Photo by our client Mr. Barry David Nichols
In the morning, we will first head to the City Wall Park, a popular venue for local people to relax and take part in various activities. A one-hour Tai Chi practice will be arranged for you here. Then go on a visit to the City Wall. Originally built as a military defense system, it consists of walls, gate towers, suspension bridges and city moats. Nowadays, it has become one of the landmarks of this ancient capital city.

After an a la carte lunch at a nice local restaurant, you will be driven to Shaanxi History Museum, an admirable place for visitors to appreciate the cultural treasures. Later, continue to the Muslim Street. It has been a prosperous commercial street since ancient times, and now it becomes more and more popular among tourists with its distinctive features. Going across the bustling street, you will reach the tranquil Great Mosque, which is one of the most famous mosques in China. It was first built during the mid-seventy century when Islam was introduced to Northwestern China by Arabic merchants and travelers.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Day 7 Xi'an - Chengdu
A 4-hour high-speed train to Chengdu, Train station to hotel transfer. (B)
A morning high-speed train will take you from Xian to Chengdu in about 4 hours. Our guide will meet you at the railway station and help you check in at the hotel. Relax during the rest of the day.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Accommodation: Holiday Inn Chengdu Oriental Plaza
Day 8 Chengdu
Giant Panda Base, Broad and Narrow Alleys, Jinsha Site Museum, Leisure time at Renmin Park. (B)
Plump Pandas
The Research Base of Giant Panda Breeding cannot be bypassed when one visits Chengdu. We show you the panda center in the morning when pandas are the most active. You will sure be entertained. After that, we will take you to explore the Broad and Narrow Alleys. You might have your own lunch there to taste some popular Sichuan food.

In the afternoon, pay a visit to the Jinsha Site Museum, which supports dating Chengdu city settlement back to 611 BC. Its heritage reflects on everyday life. People in Chengdu have the reputation for their carefree lifestyle, so the last stop today is to have a tea break and take a glimpse on the locals' living style in Renmin Park

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Day 9 Chengdu - Shanghai
Fly to Shanghai, Airport-hotel transfer, Relax during the rest of the day. (B)
Today you will be taking a flight to your last scheduled destination: Shanghai. Expect to be met and taken to the hotel for check-in. The rest time of the day is free for you to explore the city.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Accommodation: Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai
Day 10 Shanghai
Shanghai Museum, Yu Garden and its traditional bazaar, A la carte farewell lunch, Former French Concession, the Bund and Huangpu River cruise. (B+L)
Shanghai Bund area
If Chinese history, culture and art, is right up your alley, then Shanghai Museum is the most informative. Then off to the Yu Garden, which is a classical Chinese garden. It includes trees, flowers, and also ponds, bridges, rocks, pavilions, and halls. If you are hunting for small gifts or souvenirs for families or friends, the nearby lively Yu Bazaar is good place. 

You will be at the a la carte farewell lunch (valued at CNY120.00 per person and included in our price) at a fancy restaurant. 

You will spend the afternoon to discover the Former French Concession, take in the Bund area and have a one-hour cruise tour on the Huangpu River. Bon voyage at the hotel lobby from Travel China Guide.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte farewell lunch
Day 11 Departure from Shanghai
Hotel-airport transfer is on your own arrangement, A pleasant trip home! (B)
Today's transfer from hotel to airport is not included in the package as the flights' time of group members are different. You need to find your own way to the airport for your homeward flight. The most convenient way is to take a taxi. It costs around CNY150 per cab to Pudong Airport and CNY200 to Hongqiao Airport. We hope you have a nice trip home.  

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
B-- Breakfast L-- Lunch D-- Dinner
Prices are per person in US Dollars; departures are guaranteed even with one person!
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings
12% off - book by Dec 31, 2018; 10% off - book in January, 2019
MonthArrival DateDeparture DateDouble OccupancySingle Room Supplement 
Jan. 2019Jan 05(Sat) Jan 15(Tue) $1649 $1451$489
Jan 19(Sat) Jan 29(Tue) $1649 $1451$489
Feb. 2019Feb 24(Sun) Mar 06(Wed) $1649 $1451$489
Mar. 2019Mar 05(Tue) Mar 15(Fri) $1659 $1459$509
Mar 12(Tue) Mar 22(Fri) $1689 $1486$539
Mar 26(Tue) Apr 05(Fri) $1699 $1495$509
Apr. 2019Apr 04(Thu) Apr 14(Sun) $1819 $1600$559
Apr 11(Thu) Apr 21(Sun) $1819 $1600$559
Apr 18(Thu) Apr 28(Sun) $1819 $1600$559
Apr 25(Thu) May 05(Sun) $1819 $1600$559
May. 2019May 09(Thu) May 19(Sun) $1819 $1600$559
May 16(Thu) May 26(Sun) $1819 $1600$559
May 23(Thu) Jun 02(Sun) $1819 $1600$559
May 30(Thu) Jun 09(Sun) $1799 $1583$539
Jun. 2019Jun 06(Thu) Jun 16(Sun) $1799 $1583$539
Jun 13(Thu) Jun 23(Sun) $1799 $1583$539
Jun 20(Thu) Jun 30(Sun) $1799 $1583$539
Jun 27(Thu) Jul 07(Sun) $1799 $1583$539
Jul. 2019Jul 04(Thu) Jul 14(Sun) $1839 $1618$539
Jul 11(Thu) Jul 21(Sun) $1839 $1618$539
Jul 18(Thu) Jul 28(Sun) $1839 $1618$539
Jul 25(Thu) Aug 04(Sun) $1859 $1635$579
Aug. 2019Aug 01(Thu) Aug 11(Sun) $1839 $1618$539
Aug 08(Thu) Aug 18(Sun) $1839 $1618$539
Aug 15(Thu) Aug 25(Sun) $1839 $1618$539
Aug 22(Thu) Sep 01(Sun) $1839 $1618$539
Aug 29(Thu) Sep 08(Sun) $1819 $1600$559
Sep. 2019Sep 05(Thu) Sep 15(Sun) $1839 $1618$579
Sep 12(Thu) Sep 22(Sun) $1839 $1618$579
Sep 19(Thu) Sep 29(Sun) $1839 $1618$579
Oct. 2019Oct 03(Thu) Oct 13(Sun) $1869 $1644$619
Oct 10(Thu) Oct 20(Sun) $1839 $1618$579
Oct 17(Thu) Oct 27(Sun) $1839 $1618$579
Oct 24(Thu) Nov 03(Sun) $1809 $1591$579
Oct 31(Thu) Nov 10(Sun) $1749 $1539$579
Nov. 2019Nov 07(Thu) Nov 17(Sun) $1749 $1539$579
Nov 21(Thu) Dec 01(Sun) $1659 $1459$509
Dec. 2019Dec 08(Sun) Dec 18(Wed) $1659 $1459$509
Dec 22(Sun) Jan 01(Tue) $1659 $1459$509
Jan. 2020Jan 05(Sun) Jan 15(Wed) $1659 $1459$509
Feb. 2020Feb 13(Thu) Feb 23(Sun) $1659 $1459$509
Mar. 2020Mar 05(Thu) Mar 15(Sun) $1659 $1459$509
Mar 12(Thu) Mar 22(Sun) $1659 $1459$509
Mar 26(Thu) Apr 05(Sun) $1689 $1486$509

Remark: The prices in red reflect 12% discount.

Prices are per person in US Dollars; departures are guaranteed even with one person!
Early Bird Savings: 5% off, book 30 days in advance
MonthArrival DateDeparture DateDouble OccupancySingle Room Supplement 
Dec. 2018Dec 08(Sat) Dec 18(Tue) $1489$489
Dec 22(Sat) Jan 01(Tue) $1489$489

Remark: The prices in red reflect the current discount.

Price Includes
  • Domestic airfares & train fares
  • Hotel accommodation with breakfasts
  • Lunches as itinerary specifies
  • Professional English-speaking guides
  • Drivers & air-conditioned vehicles
  • Entrance fees to tourist sites
  • Tips or gratuities for hotel porters
Price Excludes
  • International airfares
  • Entry Visa fees
  • Personal expenses
  • Tips or gratuities for guides and drivers
Why Travel With Us
  • Customer Reviews
  • Questions & Answers
  •  
    5.03 Reivews
    Robert E. S.
    USA
    Posted on November 29, 2018
    We were well informed of what to expect and we got exactly what we were told we would have. It was just like the best American tours! We loved everything that the tour brought to us! China was full of never ending surprises made all the time enjoyable by our excellent tour guides, and the drivers, too provided outstanding level of service!
    Annalie
    South Africa
    Posted on November 19, 2018
    Thank you for a truly amazing experience! We loved this country and enjoyed all our stops!

    Beijing
    Janet was our appointed guide and she was very friendly and extremely helpful. She spoke a beautiful English and she was always happy. She even taught us how to count in Chinese. The restaurants we went to served wonderful food and we quickly learned to use the chopsticks! Beijing was a highlight, and we will recommend it to everyone!

    Xian
    Grace was our appointed guide in Xian and she was helpful but definitely not on par with Janet. She seemed a bit less enthusiastic but tried. The Western food was not a success - but all the other meals were delicious.

    Chengdu
    We were met by Jahrva (I'm not sure how to spell her name!) at the station and she took us to the hotel. Such a wonderful girl! She was extremely helpful and friendly and sweet! She was very enthusiastic about everything she told us about and we had fun with her.

    Shanghai
    Jenny met us at the airport and she was also very good. She was kind enough to let us shop a bit and we gave her a letter to say that we will miss the museum but need to go the market!! Otherwise our children would be very upset if we don't bring some presents back!
    ... More
    Joel White
    UK
    Posted on October 26, 2018
    I enjoyed the group tour to China very much. All guides were fine. Each one was individual and all seemed to be knowledge, positive and hard working.

    I thought the distribution of time was well spent at each destination. However it would have been nicer in Beijing to have more freedom in how to spend your time at each destination. Also maybe extend the package to have an extra day in Shanghai and of course increase the price slightly.

    Meals in all places were good to excellent. Beijing duck was great, and I thought the dumpling dinner in Xian was average. Also I think at the majority of meals during the journey there was way too much food and smaller meals should have been served on your arrival into Xi'an and Shanghai as you get food on the plane. I also feel that the guide should eat with the guests as there is enough food left over to cover this.
    ... More
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings!
10% off - book 60 days in advance
5% off - book 30 days in advance