|Jingshan Park |
During the Yuan (1271-1368), Ming (1368-1644) and Qing (1644-1911) dynasties, the hill served as an imperial garden and was properly laid out under the Ming Dynasty when numerous fruit trees were planted as well as many palaces and pavilions built for the emperor to make sacrifices to his ancestors. As a result, the royal families always enjoyed amusements here, like hunting in the hills. Then, in 1928, it was opened to the public. Later, after 1949, the park was fully rebuilt, with the paths in it paved and most of the buildings renovated. Now, the present is one of the 'AAAA' Scenery Spots in China and a 'must' for visitors to Beijing.
|The site where Emperor |
Chongzhen hanged himslef
The hill has five summits, and on each summit there is a pavilion, built in 1751. In every pavilion, there was originally placed a copper Buddha statue which represented one of the five tastes-sour, bitter, sweet, acrid and salt. It is a pity that they were all lost during the warfare of 1900. Among the five pavilions, the Wanchun Pavilion (Ten Thousand Spring Pavilion), on the middle of the five summits, sits at the hill's central point of the city. It is a perfect place to appreciate the full view of the city. From this pavilion, visitors are able to see the resplendent and magnificent Forbidden City in the south, the dignified Bell and Drum Towers in the north, as well as Beihai Park and White Dagoba Temple in the west.
In the north side of the hill is found the Shouhuang Hall (Hall of Imperial Longevity), originally the place for the emperors in the Qing dynasty to pay their respects to their ancestors. Some of the emperors' portraits were worshiped in it. To the east of the Shouhuang Hall, stands the Yongsi Hall (Missing Hall), the place for resting the dead bodies of the past emperors and queens.
CNY 2 (Fee of exhibitions is not included)
06:30 – 20:00 (January, February, March, November and December)
06:00 - 21:00 (April, May, June, July, August, September and October)
|Subway Route:||Take Subway Line 5 to Dongsi Station. Get out from Exit C and then find bus 101 to Gu Gong (Forbidden City) Station. It is opposite to the north gate of the Forbbiden City.|
Take bus 5 or 609 and get off at Jingshan Houjie Station or Xibanqiao Station
Take bus 111, 124 or 210 and get off at Jingshan Dongmen
Take bus 101, 103, 109, 614 and get off at Gu Gong Station.
Bus / Subway Search
Beijing One Day Tour: Tiananmen Square - Forbidden City - Jingshan Park - Beihai Park
Jingshan Park & Beihai Park: One-day visit to the two famous parks in the city center
More Beijing Tours