Kun Iam Temple & Lin Fung Temple
Kun Iam Temple
Kun Iam Temple is the most impressive and magnificent of the three most famous temples of Macau (the other two are A-Ma Temple and Lin Fung Temple (Lotus Temple). With a history dating back as early as 1632 in the Ming Dynasty (1368 - 1644), it has many similarities with ancient Chinese temples. It is also known as the site of the first Sino-American treaty which was signed in 1844.
Kun Iam Temple has three main shrines suited one behind another. It consists of one Hall of Sakyamuni, one Buddha of Longevity Hall and one Kun Iam Hall with several small shrines around these three main halls. Facing the gate of the Buddhist monastery, the Hall of Sakyamuni is dedicated with three gilded statues. The statue of Sakyamuni sits in the middle. A bronze bell, over 300 years old, hangs beside the hall. Buddha of Longevity adorns the Longevity Hall. Serene and mild, this statue is a symbol of Buddha's purpose: to deliver all living creatures from torment. Kun Iam Hall is the most important hall there. Kun Iam, arrayed in embroidered silk and in crown, is flanked by the Eighteen Buddhas. One of them is said to be carved in the image of Marco Polo who studied Buddhism in the temple.
At the back of the temple are terraced gardens. The first Sino-American treaty Wong Ha (Wangxia) Treaty was signed on one of the stone desks here. In addition, many calligraphic masterpieces and cultural relics are brought together in this temple.
Lin Fung Temple
Lin Fung Temple, together with A-Ma Temple and Kun lam Temple are the three most famous temples in Macau. It was built during the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644) and originally named Tianfei Temple. The building's current architectural design is the result of several reconstructions undertaken from the Qing Dynasty (1644-1911).
The entire complex is comprised of a cluster of palaces. Tianhou Palace, which is in the center of the complex, is dedicated to Kwan-yin. The Emperor Wu Palace is located to the left and Renshou Palace (the Palace of Benevolence and Longevity) is located to the right of Tianhou Palace. Yiling Palace, Shennong Palace, Juyong Palace, and Doumu Palace are also parts of the complex.
In front of Lin Fung Temple is a spacious square surrounded by stone enclosures. Ancient trees with thick leaves grow in the square. Behind it there is a small ornamental garden with pavilions, flowers and grass. In addition, in the temple itself there is a lotus pond. During summer, the pond flourishes with green leaves and fragrant flowers. Behind the lotus pond is a screen decorated with writhing dragons and giant cyprinoids.
Lin Fung Temple is of visiting value also because of the national hero, Lin Zexu (1785-1850) and other Chinese mandarins' arrivals. In 1839, Lin Zexu stayed here and interviewed the officials of Portugal and Macau. It was here where he prohibited the trade of opium completely. In commemoration, there is a stone statue of Lin Zexu which stands three meters height (about ten feet). In November 1997, the Memorial Hall of Lin Zexu was established next to Tianhou Palace to praise his bravery and nobility.
Lou Lim Iok Garden
Sun Yat-Sen Park