China Tour from San Francisco

SG02-INTL: 12 Days Small Group Tour of San Francisco - Beijing - Xi'an - Guilin - Yangshuo - Guilin - Shanghai - San Francisco
Tour Type: Small Group of 1-18 persons, guaranteed departures, all-inclusive
Guide & Driver: English-speaking guide & air-conditioned, licensed limousine
Tour Highlights:
  • Must-see sights in China - Mutianyu Great Wall, Forbidden City, Terracotta Army
  • Take a Li River cruise down to Yangshuo & admire the essence of Guilin landscape
  • View the soaring city skylines and feel the pulse of modern Shanghai
  • Enjoy a la carte meals, Kung Fu Show, Tang Dynasty Music and Dance performance
From $2369 per person Free Inquiry
Day 1 Flying from San Francisco
With about 12.5 hours duration time, almost 2 to 3 direct flights operate daily between San Francisco and Beijing. Our travel consultant will contact and inform you of the flight departure time from San Francisco International Airport before the trip. Please catch the flight to Beijing by yourself on that day.
Day 2 Arrival in Beijing
Upon landing at Beijing airport, you will meet our experienced guide and driver outside the customs. After a warm greeting, we will transfer you to the hotel for check-in.
 
Accommodation: The Great Wall Hotel Beijing - the former Sheraton
Day 3 Beijing
Our group at the Forbidden City
Our group at the Forbidden City
At the very beginning of this private China tour from San Francisco, we will come to Tiananmen Square to admire its solemnity and majesty. Then, enter the Forbidden City from the Meridian Gate to appreciate the fabulous masterpiece of ancient architecture. There the richly adorned palaces with encaustic tiled rooftops and brightly painted red walls would be the highlight of the day. Later, an a la carte welcome lunch with the famous Peking Duck will be served in a nice restaurant.
 
After that, a comfortable transfer will take you to the grand Temple of Heaven, which was used for worshipping gods and praying for a good harvest during the Ming and Qing dynasties (1368 - 1911). In the evening, you will enjoy a wonderful Chinese Kung Fu Show at the Red Theatre. 

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte welcome lunch
Day 4 Beijing
Majestic Mutianyu Great Wall
Majestic Mutianyu Great Wall
Today we will take a morning excursion to Mutianyu Great Wall - one of the top ten must-see sites in Beijing. After alighting from the vehicle, board the round trip cable car to view the great scene of Mutianyu winding and zigzagging among lofty mountains. We will then propose a toast with red wine after ascending the Great Wall. Lunch is not included in our price, and the food there doesn't taste good. Hence, it is advisable to have a big breakfast at the hotel or prepare some snacks before departure. The guide will be willing to recommend some restaurants if you need.

Afterwards, you will be taken back to downtown. On the way, you will have a short stop near the Olympic National Stadium to view the unique appearance of the Bird Nest at a distance. Then, there is a popular local market expecting your visit.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Day 5 Beijing - Xi'an
After breakfast, a private ride will drive you to the Summer Palace, which enables you to appreciate the pretty scenery with mountains and rivers of Longevity Hill and Kunming Lake. Next, a classic Hutong Rickshaw tour follows, and you can also enjoy yourself while joining the interesting activity of Chinese Paper Cutting after experiencing the rich culture of old Beijing in the time-honored Hutongs.

In the afternoon, the guide will send you to the airport and help you with the boarding procedures. This China tour from the United States will progress to Xi'an. After your landing at Xianyang International Airport, you will then be transferred to check in at the hotel.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Accommodation: Sheraton Hotel
Day 6 Xi'an
Terracotta Army Museum
Terracotta Army Museum
Today we will tour the Terracotta Army during the whole morning. It was built about 2,200 years ago to guard the resting place of Emperor Qin Shi Huang after his death. You would be amazed at the organized battle formation composed of lively pottery figures and horses underground. Next, a visit to a local family will be arranged, and you can taste the home-made Chinese food. If you are interested, you can also learn to cook one or two dishes from the host with our guide's help.

After lunch, continue our China tour from San Francisco to see the Small Wild Goose Pagoda and the adjacent Xi'an Museum in succession. In the evening, we will entertain you with special dumpling dinner and the brilliant Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, Home-cooked a la carte lunch, Dumpling dinner
 Friendly Tips

Clients visiting in Jan, Feb, Mar and Dec need to arrange the dinner and evening activity on their own for this day, since the theater is usually not open at that time.
Day 7 Xi'an
Local people dancing in the City Wall Park
Local people dancing in the City Wall Park
After breakfast, our guide will accompany you to stroll in the City Wall Park and observe the morning relaxing life of the locals. You can learn how to do Tai Chi if interested. Then, you will be led to the old Xi'an City Wall. Taking a leisure walk or cycling along the city walls are both recommended. The bike rental fee is at your own expense.

In the afternoon, we will head for the Shaanxi History Museum to admire a large amount of pieces of precious stones, jades, gold & silver ornaments on exhibition. Later, after viewing the unique Great Mosque, a stroll around the bustling Muslim Quarter full of delicious delicacies will round off the day.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Day 8 Xi'an - Guilin
Li River cruise, Guilin
Li River cruise, Guilin
This morning you will be escorted to the airport and fly to Guilin. After your landing, the guide of the following Guilin tour from San Francisco will warmly greet you and chauffeur you to the hotel.

In the afternoon, accompanied by our guide, you will reach the Reed Flute Cave, and many beautiful stalagmites, peristeles as well as stone flowers will dazzle your eyes with their unique exquisiteness and gorgeousness. Next, pay a visit to the Elephant Trunk Hill, which looks like a big elephant drinking water by the river with its trunk.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Accommodation: Sheraton Hotel
Day 9 Guilin - Yangshuo - Guilin
Our clients in Yangshuo
Our clients in Yangshuo
Today we will travel to Yangshuo by cruising along the captivating Li River to absorb the essential landscape of Guilin. Observe the graceful reflections of the continuous green hills on placid water and immerse in the scenic views along both banks, you would feel like being inside a beautiful picture. After about the 4.5 hours cruise journey, you will be guided to see the ancient buildings of China in West Street

After that, we will go to the countryside of Yangshuo to have a look and visit a local villager's home en route. At last, return to the downtown hotel in Guilin.

Tips: Today you will have a simple Chinese lunch box on the cruise, which is not up to our standard. Hence we suggest you have a hearty breakfast in the morning or prepare some snacks for lunch.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, Lunch
Day 10 Guilin - Shanghai
After checking out this morning, you will be escorted to take a flight to Shanghai - the last city we will visit during this China tour from USA. After meeting our guide and driver at Shanghai airport, you will be taken to the hotel for good rest. Please feel free to explore the surroundings later.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Accommodation: Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai
Day 11 Shanghai
Yu Garden
Yu Garden
Today's Shanghai trip will start with the Shanghai Museum. There are lots of fine cultural relics of bronze wares, calligraphy works and paintings to be seen. When getting out from the museum, we will go to Yu Garden boasting the pearl of the classical gardens in southern China and then its traditional bazaar to have a look.

After having an a la carte farewell lunch, we will watch the fancy foreign-style houses in Former French Concession. Next, a further visit to the Bund will be scheduled, and you are able to see renowned landmarks of Shanghai rising loftily on the bank of the Huangpu River. Finally, enjoy the dazzling night views of the city by a relaxing Huangpu River cruise.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte farewell lunch
Day 12 Shanghai - San Francisco
Your 12 days China tour from America will conclude today. After breakfast, you can reach the airport for your homeward flight by taxi for around 1.5 hours. It would cost CNY150 or so cab fare if you take any one of the four 11-hour direct flights from Pudong Airport (PVG) to San Francisco. Bon Voyage!

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Prices are per person in US Dollars; departures are guaranteed even with one person!
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings
10% off - book by Feb 28, 5% off - book from Mar 01
Start DateFinish DateLand Only
(No Intl Air)
Air+Land
(From SFO)
Single Room
Supplement
 
Feb 23(Sat) Mar 06(Wed) $1499 $1349$2419 $2269$409
Mar 04(Mon) Mar 15(Fri) $1509 $1358$2369 $2218$429
Mar 11(Mon) Mar 22(Fri) $1539 $1385$2399 $2245$459
Mar 25(Mon) Apr 05(Fri) $1649 $1484$2509 $2344$459
Apr 03(Wed) Apr 14(Sun) $1779 $1601$2709 $2531$499
Apr 10(Wed) Apr 21(Sun) $1779 $1601$2709 $2531$499
Apr 17(Wed) Apr 28(Sun) $1779 $1601$2709 $2531$499
Apr 24(Wed) May 05(Sun) $1779 $1601$2709 $2531$499
May 08(Wed) May 19(Sun) $1779 $1601$3179 $3001$499
May 15(Wed) May 26(Sun) $1779 $1601$3179 $3001$499
May 22(Wed) Jun 02(Sun) $1779 $1601$3179 $3001$499
May 29(Wed) Jun 09(Sun) $1749 $1574$3149 $2974$469
Jun 05(Wed) Jun 16(Sun) $1749 $1574$3149 $2974$469
Jun 12(Wed) Jun 23(Sun) $1749 $1574$3149 $2974$469
Jun 19(Wed) Jun 30(Sun) $1749 $1574$3149 $2974$469
Jun 26(Wed) Jul 07(Sun) $1789 $1610$3189 $3010$469
Jul 03(Wed) Jul 14(Sun) $1819 $1637$3119 $2937$469
Jul 10(Wed) Jul 21(Sun) $1819 $1637$3119 $2937$469
Jul 17(Wed) Jul 28(Sun) $1819 $1637$3119 $2937$469
Jul 24(Wed) Aug 04(Sun) $1849 $1664$3149 $2964$509
Jul 31(Wed) Aug 11(Sun) $1819 $1637$3219 $3037$469
Aug 07(Wed) Aug 18(Sun) $1819 $1637$3219 $3037$469
Aug 14(Wed) Aug 25(Sun) $1819 $1637$3219 $3037$469
Aug 21(Wed) Sep 01(Sun) $1819 $1637$3219 $3037$469
Aug 28(Wed) Sep 08(Sun) $1819 $1637$2759 $2577$499
Sep 04(Wed) Sep 15(Sun) $1829 $1646$2769 $2586$519
Sep 11(Wed) Sep 22(Sun) $1829 $1646$2769 $2586$519
Sep 18(Wed) Sep 29(Sun) $1829 $1646$2829 $2646$519
Oct 02(Wed) Oct 13(Sun) $1859 $1673$2859 $2673$559
Oct 09(Wed) Oct 20(Sun) $1829 $1646$2829 $2646$519
Oct 16(Wed) Oct 27(Sun) $1829 $1646$2799 $2616$519
Oct 23(Wed) Nov 03(Sun) $1759 $1583$2729 $2553$519
Oct 30(Wed) Nov 10(Sun) $1609 $1448$2579 $2418$509
Nov 06(Wed) Nov 17(Sun) $1609 $1448$2609 $2448$509
Nov 20(Wed) Dec 01(Sun) $1529 $1376$2529 $2376$439
Dec 07(Sat) Dec 18(Wed) $1529 $1376$2829 $2676$399
Dec 21(Sat) Jan 01(Wed) $1529 $1376$3029 $2876$399

Remark: The prices in red reflect 10% discount of land tour. International airfare does not enjoy discount.

Prices are per person in US Dollars; departures are guaranteed even with one person!
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings
10% off - book by Feb 28, 5% off - book from Mar 01
Start DateFinish DateLand Only
(No Intl Air)
Air+Land
(From SFO)
Single Room
Supplement
 
Jan 04(Sat) Jan 15(Wed) $1529 $1376$2529 $2376$399
Feb 12(Wed) Feb 23(Sun) $1529 $1376$2529 $2376$399
Mar 04(Wed) Mar 15(Sun) $1529 $1376$2389 $2236$419
Mar 11(Wed) Mar 22(Sun) $1529 $1376$2389 $2236$419
Mar 25(Wed) Apr 05(Sun) $1619 $1457$2479 $2317$419
Apr 04(Sat) Apr 15(Wed) $1779 $1601$2709 $2531$499
Apr 11(Sat) Apr 22(Wed) $1779 $1601$2709 $2531$499
Apr 18(Sat) Apr 29(Wed) $1779 $1601$2709 $2531$499
Apr 25(Sat) May 06(Wed) $1779 $1601$2709 $2531$499
May 02(Sat) May 13(Wed) $1779 $1601$3179 $3001$499
May 09(Sat) May 20(Wed) $1779 $1601$3179 $3001$499
May 16(Sat) May 27(Wed) $1779 $1601$3179 $3001$499
May 23(Sat) Jun 03(Wed) $1779 $1601$3179 $3001$499
May 30(Sat) Jun 10(Wed) $1749 $1574$3149 $2974$469
Jun 06(Sat) Jun 17(Wed) $1749 $1574$3149 $2974$469
Jun 13(Sat) Jun 24(Wed) $1749 $1574$3149 $2974$469
Jun 20(Sat) Jul 01(Wed) $1749 $1574$3149 $2974$469
Jun 27(Sat) Jul 08(Wed) $1789 $1610$3189 $3010$469
Jul 04(Sat) Jul 15(Wed) $1819 $1637$3119 $2937$469
Jul 11(Sat) Jul 22(Wed) $1819 $1637$3119 $2937$469
Jul 18(Sat) Jul 29(Wed) $1819 $1637$3119 $2937$469
Jul 25(Sat) Aug 05(Wed) $1849 $1664$3149 $2964$509
Aug 01(Sat) Aug 12(Wed) $1819 $1637$3219 $3037$469
Aug 08(Sat) Aug 19(Wed) $1819 $1637$3219 $3037$469
Aug 15(Sat) Aug 26(Wed) $1819 $1637$3219 $3037$469
Aug 29(Sat) Sep 09(Wed) $1819 $1637$2759 $2577$499
Sep 05(Sat) Sep 16(Wed) $1829 $1646$2769 $2586$519
Sep 12(Sat) Sep 23(Wed) $1829 $1646$2769 $2586$519
Sep 19(Sat) Sep 30(Wed) $1829 $1646$2829 $2646$519
Oct 03(Sat) Oct 14(Wed) $1859 $1673$2859 $2673$559
Oct 10(Sat) Oct 21(Wed) $1829 $1646$2829 $2646$519
Oct 17(Sat) Oct 28(Wed) $1829 $1646$2799 $2616$519
Oct 24(Sat) Nov 04(Wed) $1759 $1583$2729 $2553$519
Oct 31(Sat) Nov 11(Wed) $1609 $1448$2579 $2418$509
Nov 07(Sat) Nov 18(Wed) $1609 $1448$2609 $2448$509
Nov 14(Sat) Nov 25(Wed) $1529 $1376$2529 $2376$439
Dec 07(Mon) Dec 18(Fri) $1529 $1376$2829 $2676$399
Dec 21(Mon) Jan 01(Fri) $1529 $1376$3029 $2876$399

Remark: The prices in red reflect 10% discount of land tour. International airfare does not enjoy discount.

Price Includes
  • China domestic airfares
  • Round-trip airfare from San Francisco (SFO)
  • Hotel accommodation with breakfasts
  • A la carte lunches as itinerary specifies
  • Professional English-speaking guides
  • Drivers & air-conditioned vehicles
  • Entrance fees to tourist sites
  • Tips or gratuities for hotel porters
Price Excludes
  • Land only package excludes international airfare
  • Entry Visa fees
  • Personal expenses
  • Tips or gratuities for guides and drivers
Why Travel With Us
Itineraries you may also like:
  • Customer Reviews
  • Questions & Answers
  •  
    4.63 Reviews
    Smith
    San Francisco, USA
    Posted on January 19, 2019
    Thank you for arranging such a FANTASTIC experience.The guides were friendly and knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. We especially found Candy (Beijing), Lily (Xian), Lee (Guilin) particularly engaging and fun to be with. These three ladies were the guides who truly went over and above and made our stay in those locations particularly enjoyable. The drivers were prompt, courteous and kept their vehicles clean. We would recommend that a cooler is kept in the trunk so that cold water can be served to Westerners (who prefer cold water).

    The meals were exceptional and plentiful. We ate in a variety of excellent restaurants and sampled many different regional foods - just as the itinerary stated. We gained far too much weight!
    ... More
    J. Hammer
    US
    Posted on January 10, 2019
    The service and program on this tour far exceeded my already high expectations. Very well-organized with an extremely knowledgeable guide. I came to sightsee with a primary desire to learn of the history, culture and people of China. To this end, it exceeded my expectations and I am coming away with a much greater appreciation of China and its people!
    Christine
    Posted on January 04, 2019
    There are so much to see at each city, I think Tina and Maggie’s organization did a wonderful job planning and scheduling events for each city. I know we didn't spend too much time per each sightseeing spots. However, I believe tourists understand we have tied schedule and lots to see so If people wants to have more time, they have to sign up for a longer itinerary. I think this company is doing a great job.

    I think all the meals are great. There were always foods left over and most meals were very tasty. In Beijing, the restaurant was not my favor because the service wasn't good. Also, my daughter doesn't eat meat and I wish the arrangement for her could have been better. Our favorite restaurant for the one that our guide took us in Guilin. Lu was our guide and she took us to a noodle/dumpling restaurant that is a local favor. It is 5 minutes from the hotel. It was the best meal. Our group enjoyed it very much.

    We love all the guide. They are all great guides. Cars were always clean and driver always there on time. No problem at all. Carol from Xian was exceptionally good. She was always there checking on us during meals, very knowledge about Xian. I learned so much about Xian from our guide, Carol, I felt like I took a history lesson. Our guide "Du" from Beijing was great too. He is funny and entertaining. Our whole group enjoyed his funny stories and we sing on our bus to and from sightseeing. Thanks all the guides for us. We have a memorable trip and they made a huge difference.

    Finally, from the time I booked our trip both Tina Wang and Maggie Ye were always helpful with our questions and always responded back to us within 24 hrs. We enjoyed working with them and will look forward to booking our next trip with Travel China guide.
    ... More
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings!
10% off - book 60 days in advance
5% off - book 30 days in advance