Home / Embassy / Visa / Exemption

Visa Exemption

 Passport holders of following 51 countries and regions can be granted a visa-free stay of up to 72 hours while in transit via Beijing Capital International Airport, Shanghai Pudong Airport, Shanghai Hongqiao Airport, and airports of cities including Guangzhou, Chengdu, Chongqing, Shenyang, Dalian, Harbin, Xian, Guilin, Kunming, Hangzhou, Wuhan, Tianjin, Qingdao, Nanjing, Changsha, and Xiamen:

Argentina, Austria, Australia, Belgium, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Montenegro, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States.
 See more about 72-hour Visa-Free Transit.

 Since January 30th, 2016, passengers from the above countries transiting in Shanghai, Jiangsu and Zhejiang can enjoy a free stay up to 144 hours.
 See more about 144-Hour Visa-Free Transit.


There are a very few situations where no visa is required or you can obtain one on arrival. The following paragraphs explain the main exemptions. You should also be familiar with airline regulations.

 1. For Diplomatic, Service or Official Passport Holders
China has mutual visa-free agreements with some foreign countries, but they are mainly for diplomatic, service or official passport holders and only allow the duration of stay less than 30 days.

 2. For Passengers Eligible for 24-Hour Direct Transit
Under the 24-hour visa-free transit rule, no visa is required for foreigners who hold tickets to the final destination and have booked seats on international airlines, ships, trains transiting directly through China, and will stay for less than 24 hours and do not leave the specified transit area.

Foreigners are able to apply for a Temporary Entry Permit to leave the port for city sightseeing or going to a dock or a railway station. Those who transfer in two cities of China within 24 hours are also available to enjoy this policy. For instance, if one’s trip is Los Angeles – Beijing – Kunming – Chiengmai and the time in China is less than 24 hours, the passenger can enjoy the 24-hour direct transit without visa.

 3. For Nationals of Singapore, Brunei and Japan
Ordinary passport holders of Singapore, Brunei and Japan are allowed to enter China without visas for up to 15 days for tourism, including visiting family or friends, or minor business purposes provided they enter through nominated international ports.

For nationals of these three countries, a visa is required under following circumstance: 
(1) Ordinary passport holder visits for tourism, business, visiting friends and relatives and stay for more than 15 days. 
(2) Ordinary passport holder visits for the purposes of study, work, official visit, settling down and interview.
(3) Diplomatic and Official passport holder.

 4. For Holder of Aliens' Residence Permit
Foreign nationals who visit for the purposes of study or work and resident foreign journalists shall apply for Aliens' Residence Permit at local public security authorities within 30 days after entry.

Within the period of the validity of the Residence Card, the holder is entitled to enter and exit China for many times without applying for another visa.

 5. For Holder of  APEC Business Travel Card
The APEC Business Travel Card is regarded as a multiple entry visa valid for three years. With this card and relevant passport, the holder is entitled to enter China for many times within three years. The duration of each stay should be within 2 months.

 6. For Tourists Visiting Hainan Province
Citizens holding the ordinary passport of the following 26 countries are exempt from visa requirements when they travel to Hainan Province as a group (at least 5 members) organised by International Travel Agencies that have been set up and registered in Hainan Province: Australia, Austria, Canada, Denmark, France, Finland, Germany, Great Britain, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Kazakstan, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Singapore, Thailand, USA and Ukraine. The stay is limited to 15 days.
Citizens of Republic of Korea, Germany and Russia who join an international tourist group (with two members or above) can stay up to 21 days.  
 7. For Tourists Visiting the Pearl River Delta Region
Citizens holding passports issued by the nations with diplomatic relations with China is exempted from applying for a visa if he or she joins tourist group at Hong Kong and Macao organized by registered travel agencies in Hong Kong and Macao to visit the Pearl River Delta region (Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Zhuhai, Foshan, Dongguan, Zhongshan, Zhaoqing, Huizhou Municipalities) for tourism and stay up to 6 days.

 8. For ASEAN Tour Groups Visiting Guilin
Since May 28th 2015, tour groups from ASEAN member countries, which include Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, Singapore, Myanmar, Brunei, and the Philippines, can visit Guilin for six days free of visa. They should be received at Liangjiang Airport by designated travel agencies. During the six days, all members cannot leave Guilin. In addition, tour groups using this policy shall exit from Liangjiang Airport only.