YangshuoYangshuo

Oriental Discovery

SG15: 11 Days Small Group Tour to Beijing - Xi'an - Guilin - Yangshuo - Guilin - Hong Kong
Tour Type: Small Group of 1-18 persons, guaranteed departures
Guide & Driver: English-speaking guide & air-conditioned, licensed limousine
Tour Highlights:
  • Must-see sights in China - Mutianyu Great Wall, Forbidden City, Terracotta Army
  • Cruise on the meandering Li River & admire the essence of Guilin landscape
  • Feel the vibrant atmosphere & explore bustling markets in Hong Kong
  • Enjoy a la carte meals, Kung Fu Show, Tang Dynasty Music and Dance performance
From $1339 per person Free Inquiry
  • 1/7
  • 2/7
  • 3/7
  • 4/7
  • 5/7
  • 6/7
  • 7/7
Expand All
Collapse All
Day 1 Arrival in Beijing
Airport pick-up & airport-hotel transfer.
Our guide will meet you as you pass through the customs upon your arrival at Beijing Airport, and help you check in at the hotel. You can have a good rest to prepare for the exploration next day or to orient yourself to the city on your own.
 
Accommodation: The Great Wall Hotel Beijing - the former Sheraton
Day 2 Beijing
Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, A la carte welcome lunch with Peking Duck, Temple of Heaven, Chinese Kung Fu Show. (B+L)
Our clients drinking a toast at the Great Wall, Photo by our client Ibolya Rinagel
After breakfast, you will start the day with a visit to Tiananmen Square. Following our guide across the square, you reach the entrance of the imperial palace - the Forbidden City. This Chinese imperial palace was home to emperors of the Ming and Qing dynasties, so you will see symbols of the royal family everywhere in the buildings, such as carved dragons, statues of lions and divine creatures, red walls and golden roofs. 

Around noon, we will treat you to an a la carte welcome lunch with Peking duck (valued at CNY150.00 per person and included in our price) at an elegant Chinese restaurant off the regular tourist beat. 

After lunch, you will visit the imperial altar of the Ming and Qing dynasties, the Temple of Heaven, where emperors renewed their divine rights to rule through sacrificial offers to the gods. Tonight, a lively Chinese Kong Fu Show is waiting for you at the Red Theatre.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte welcome lunch
Day 3 Beijing
Mutianyu Great Wall with a round-trip cable car, A toast with red wine on the wall, Olympic Bird's Nest. (B)
Our clients at the Forbidden City
Today, we will set off early to visit Mutianyu Great Wall. Dated back to the Ming Dynasty, the Great Wall had seen many military actions in defense of the empire. You will take cable car reaching the wall and see the grandeur in miles of walls sprawling along the tops of mountain ridges. At this moment, we dole out red wine for a group toasting to memorize the joy of travel. After enjoying the amazing views, you will take cable car descending from the wall. 

We will skip lunch for lack of choice local fare. We would rather suggest that you have a generous breakfast and have some fast food for lunch by yourself. 

On the way back to the urban area, you will have a brief stop near the Olympic National Stadium (Bird's Nest) to take photos with the tourist icon. We also leave you some free time in a featured local market before driving back to the hotel.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Day 4 Beijing - Xi'an
Summer Palace, Hutong Rickshaw Tour, Experience Chinese Paper Cutting, A la carte lunch, Fly to Xi'an, Airport-hotel transfer. (B+L)
Our Travel Consultant Ruby met her clients in Xi'an
In the morning, proceed to the Summer Palace, the former royal garden of the Qing Dynasty. In the garden, you will see Kunming Lake, Wanshou Hill, the long Seventeen-Arch Bridge, and Suzhou Market Street. Later we will retrace the unique Beijing Hutong culture by riding a rickshaw through the old Hutong alleys, taking in the oldest grey brick of courtyard residence and lifestyles of local families and experiencing Chinese Paper Cutting. 

After an a la carte lunch (valued at CNY150.00 per person and included in our price) at a fancy restaurant with delicious food and great atmosphere, you are going to catch a flight for Xi'an, where our local guide will meet and transfer you to the hotel.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Accommodation: Sheraton Hotel
Day 5 Xi'an
Terracotta Army, A local family visit and an authentic home-cooked lunch, Small Wild Goose Pagoda, Tang Dynasty Show with dumpling dinner. (B+L+D)
Terracotta Army Museum, Xi'an
Your first destination today is the Terracotta Army. The life-size clay figures, probably fashioned after individual live models, frozen in time, and arranged in battle order; even the expressions on the horses are individualized. You can also see the delicate Bronze Chariot and Horses, and bronze vessels and weapons. 

Around noon, we will serve you a home-cooked a la carte lunch (valued at CNY120.00 per person and included in our price) at a local family home. It is a good occasion for you to join in our cooking class and learn from the hosts if you are interested in Chinese cuisine. You can also acquaint yourself with domestic issues when talking with your hosts. 

After lunch, visit Xi'an Museum and the Small Wild Goose Pagoda. The brick pagoda is a miracle built in the Tang Dynasty that is so well preserved after 1,300 years. Later you will be entertained by the Tang Dynasty Music and Dance Show when partaking of the famous Dumpling Dinner.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, Home-cooked a la carte lunch, Dumpling dinner
 Friendly Tips

Since the theater is usually not open in Jan, Feb, Mar and Dec, we will not arrange the show and dumpling dinner for tours starting during the periods. Clients will enjoy free time to relax.
Day 6 Xi'an
Observe local life in the park, Tai Chi practice, Xi'an City Wall, A la carte lunch, Provincial History Museum, Great Mosque, Muslim Quarter. (B+L)
You will spend the whole morning around the City Wall area. First, our guide will take you to the City Wall Park. It is a place full of life and vigor since a lot of locals, especially elders come here doing morning exercises, dancing, and singing local opera. You might want to join in the Tai Chi practice to experience the authentic slow movement art. Then follow the guide to go up the City Wall. Due to the sheer size of the wall, it is better to take a bike ride on the top of it (The bike rental is an out of pocket expense). You can stop to take photos of the beautiful city views.

Around noon, you will dine a la carte lunch (valued at CNY120.00 per person and included in our price) at a famous local restaurant, and then get down to Shaanxi History Museum which features a huge collection. There, you will learn much about Chinese history and culture. Next, you will proceed to the Muslim Quarter and also visit the Great Mosque. Built in 742 during the Tang Dynasty, the mosque is the earliest Muslim house of worship in Xi'an.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, A la carte lunch
Day 7 Xi'an - Guilin
Fly to Guilin, Airport-hotel transfer, Reed Flute Cave, Elephant Trunk Hill. (B)
Li River cruise
You will check out of Xi'an hotel and catch a morning flight to Guilin. Our guide will greet you in the airport and transfer you to the hotel in downtown. 

Have a short rest and start your travel in the picturesque Guilin. First you will see the Reed Flute Cave, a karst cave boasting varies shapes of stalactites and stalagmites. Then followed by the Elephant Trunk Hill. As the name suggests, it features a huge rock elephant-like with a long trunk. 

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Accommodation: Sheraton Hotel
Day 8 Guilin - Yangshuo - Guilin
Li River cruise to Yangshuo, West Street, Countryside tour, Drive back to Guilin. (B+L)
Villages in Yangshuo
Fresh from a hotel breakfast you will embark on your Li River Cruise. You will be mesmerized by clear waters and grotesque peaks along the river. You are well advised to have a big breakfast in the hotel rather than having the box lunch with plain food onboard the boat. 

Disembark at Yangshuo and walk through the West Street, and then you will be driven along country roads and take in the fresh and clean rural scenery in Yangshuo. A scheduled stop is at a local farmer's house. Finally, we will bring you back to Guilin city. 

Meals: Western buffet breakfast, Lunch
Day 9 Guilin - Hong Kong
A 3-hour high speed train to Hong Kong, Railway station-hotel transfer in Hong Kong is on your own arrangement. (B)
You have the whole morning to explore Guilin city on your own. In the afternoon, our guide will transfer you to Guilin West Railway Station to take a 3-hour high speed train to Hong Kong. Your escorted tour ends when you leave Guilin. 

Upon arrival at Hong Kong West Kowloon Station, you should go to the 4-star Regal Kowloon Hotel we booked for you by yourself. You can walk for about 5 minutes to Austin Station and take West Rail Line to East Tsim Sha Tsui Station. Then get out of the station from Exit P2 and walk for about 10 minutes to reach the hotel. If you take a taxi directly, the ride takes around 10 minutes and costs HK$35 or so.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Accommodation: Regal Kowloon Hotel
Day 10 Hong Kong
Full day is free for your independent exploration with our suggestions. (B)
Victoria Peak
Photo by our client Mr. Marcus Roberts
The hotel room comes with breakfast. You have the whole day to explore the vibrant Hong Kong on your own. You could walk westward for about 370 meters (0.2 miles) to Tsim Sha Tsui Mody Road Station. Take the KMB Bus No.8, 28, 8A or 5C for two stops to Tsim Sha Tsui Pier Station. Walk to the Star Ferry Prier to take the iconic Star Ferry to Central. Not far from the pier, at the bus terminus on the Exchange Square, you could take bus 6, 6A, 6X, 60, and 260 to Stanley, where you will be interested in the colorful Stanley Market and having lunch at an elegant restaurant.

After lunch, take a bus back to Central and get off at the Garden Road. Walking down along the road, you will get to the Peak Tram Station and take the classic tram up to the Victoria Peak. It is the best place to have a panoramic view of Hong Kong Island. Finally, from Central, you could take a Star ferry back to the Victoria Harbor in time to watch the wonderful A Symphony of Lights at 20:00.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
Day 11 Departure from Hong Kong
Take a shuttle bus or a taxi to the airport, A pleasant trip home! (B)
After breakfast, check out the hotel and take the airport shuttle bus or bus A21 to the airport for your homeward flight. Should you plan to stay longer in Hong Kong, we are there to assist you with the hotel bookings.

Meals: Western buffet breakfast
B-- Breakfast L-- Lunch D-- Dinner
Prices are per person in US Dollars; departures are guaranteed even with one person!
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings
12% off - book by Dec 31, 2018; 10% off - book in January, 2019
MonthArrival DateDeparture DateDouble OccupancySingle Room Supplement 
Jan. 2019Jan 05(Sat) Jan 15(Tue) $1459 $1283$569
Jan 19(Sat) Jan 29(Tue) $1459 $1283$569
Feb. 2019Feb 24(Sun) Mar 06(Wed) $1459 $1283$569
Mar. 2019Mar 05(Tue) Mar 15(Fri) $1469 $1292$589
Mar 12(Tue) Mar 22(Fri) $1469 $1292$589
Mar 26(Tue) Apr 05(Fri) $1569 $1380$619
Apr. 2019Apr 04(Thu) Apr 14(Sun) $1749 $1539$729
Apr 11(Thu) Apr 21(Sun) $1749 $1539$729
Apr 18(Thu) Apr 28(Sun) $1749 $1539$729
Apr 25(Thu) May 05(Sun) $1719 $1512$699
May. 2019May 09(Thu) May 19(Sun) $1699 $1495$669
May 16(Thu) May 26(Sun) $1699 $1495$669
May 23(Thu) Jun 02(Sun) $1699 $1495$669
May 30(Thu) Jun 09(Sun) $1669 $1468$639
Jun. 2019Jun 06(Thu) Jun 16(Sun) $1669 $1468$639
Jun 13(Thu) Jun 23(Sun) $1669 $1468$639
Jun 20(Thu) Jun 30(Sun) $1669 $1468$639
Jun 27(Thu) Jul 07(Sun) $1669 $1468$639
Jul. 2019Jul 04(Thu) Jul 14(Sun) $1699 $1495$639
Jul 11(Thu) Jul 21(Sun) $1699 $1495$639
Jul 18(Thu) Jul 28(Sun) $1699 $1495$639
Jul 25(Thu) Aug 04(Sun) $1699 $1495$639
Aug. 2019Aug 01(Thu) Aug 11(Sun) $1699 $1495$639
Aug 08(Thu) Aug 18(Sun) $1699 $1495$639
Aug 15(Thu) Aug 25(Sun) $1699 $1495$639
Aug 22(Thu) Sep 01(Sun) $1699 $1495$639
Aug 29(Thu) Sep 08(Sun) $1699 $1495$639
Sep. 2019Sep 05(Thu) Sep 15(Sun) $1709 $1503$689
Sep 12(Thu) Sep 22(Sun) $1709 $1503$689
Sep 19(Thu) Sep 29(Sun) $1709 $1503$689
Oct. 2019Oct 03(Thu) Oct 13(Sun) $1759 $1547$739
Oct 10(Thu) Oct 20(Sun) $1799 $1583$789
Oct 17(Thu) Oct 27(Sun) $1799 $1583$789
Oct 24(Thu) Nov 03(Sun) $1799 $1583$789
Oct 31(Thu) Nov 10(Sun) $1659 $1459$779
Nov. 2019Nov 07(Thu) Nov 17(Sun) $1659 $1459$779
Nov 21(Thu) Dec 01(Sun) $1489 $1310$599
Dec. 2019Dec 08(Sun) Dec 18(Wed) $1469 $1292$579
Dec 22(Sun) Jan 01(Tue) $1549 $1363$679
Jan. 2020Jan 05(Sun) Jan 15(Wed) $1469 $1292$679
Feb. 2020Feb 13(Thu) Feb 23(Sun) $1469 $1292$679
Mar. 2020Mar 05(Thu) Mar 15(Sun) $1469 $1292$679
Mar 12(Thu) Mar 22(Sun) $1469 $1292$679
Mar 26(Thu) Apr 05(Sun) $1539 $1354$679

Remark: The prices in red reflect 12% discount.

Prices are per person in US Dollars; departures are guaranteed even with one person!
Early Bird Savings: 5% off, book 30 days in advance
MonthArrival DateDeparture DateDouble OccupancySingle Room Supplement 
Dec. 2018Dec 08(Sat) Dec 18(Tue) $1339$539
Dec 22(Sat) Jan 01(Tue) $1339$549

Remark: The prices in red reflect the current discount.

Price Includes
  • Domestic airfares & train fare
  • Hotel accommodation with breakfasts
  • A la carte lunches as itinerary specifies
  • Professional English-speaking guides
  • Drivers & air-conditioned vehicles
  • Entrance fees to tourist sites
  • Tips or gratuities for hotel porters
Price Excludes
  • International airfares
  • Entry Visa fees
  • Personal expenses
  • Tips or gratuities for guides and drivers
Why Travel With Us
  • Customer Reviews
  • Questions & Answers
  •  
    5.02 Reivews
    Paola
    Mexico
    Posted on November 25, 2018
    Very satisfied
    Lotte V
    United States
    Posted on November 20, 2018
    First of all, let me say that the whole journey was a wonderful experience and certainly excellent value for money. The guides overall were very knowledgeable and did generally go out of their way to help my companion who had some mobility problems. David in Beijing and Jessie in Guilin stand out as exceptional. They were personable and seemed really to care about us. My friend was going to forgo the walk to the Great Wall, but David came back and personally escorted her at a slow pace so she would not miss this once in a lifetime opportunity. Service above and beyond the call of duty!

    Meals were all excellent! Even the one on the Li River cruise boat which was supposed to be not up to standard. The guides asked us for any special requests (there were 9 vegetarians in our group) and ordered a wide variety of dishes that everyone enjoyed. The a la carte meal was confusing and we ended up with far too much food, some of which wasn't what we had thought it was on the menu. Just having the guide order would have been better. The hotels were first-rate and the drivers and buses were excellent.
    ... More
Earlier Booking, Bigger Savings!
10% off - book 60 days in advance
5% off - book 30 days in advance