1933 Old Millfun, or 1933 Laochangfang in Chinese, or simply 1933, was originally a slaughterhouse, built in the year 1933 at the intersection of Hongkou Port and Shajing Port, not far from the Bund
. The architect the slaughterhouse was Balfours, a famous English designer. At that time, it was one of three largest slaughterhouses in the world. Nowadays, it has been transformed into a cluster of creative art precincts and has become the center of Shanghai’s fashion, design, shopping and entertainment. Dramas and fashion shows are often given here.
One of World’s Largest and Most Advanced Slaughterhouse When Built
1933 Old Millfun, with an area of 31,700 square meters (341,216 square feet), is a reinforced concrete structure. The outer walls are about 50 cm (20 inches) thick, hollow inside. As equipment for temperature control was not available at the time it was built, usage of this construction approach skillfully controlled the interior temperature; even in a hot summer, it is cool inside.
1933 Old Millfun combines eastern and western styles. There is an outer square building with a circular core, based on the Chinese concept “the earth is square and the sky is round”. Viewed as a whole, it is in ancient roman basilica style.
What to See about the Building 1933 Old Millfun
Lattice windows face west, taking advantage of Shanghai's predominant wind direction and thus allowing for better natural ventilation. The windows also face the western paradise, which was thought to allow a better reincarnation for the slaughtered animals.
Location: between the first floor and the second and a half floor
In the absence of beams, the whole outer building is supported by over 300 columns. The umbrella-like, umbellate caps of the columns are square or octagonal. Visitors can see them along the interior periphery of the square outer building.
Location: the second floor and the second and a half floor
There are altogether four-storey of corridors and 26 sloping, bridging walkways in 1933 Old Millfun, connecting the central circular core with the outer square building. They form special spaces inside the building; together with the mysterious and varied architectural light and shadow, they are popular sites for photography. These covered bridges form a labyrinth, making this building a giant maze.
Location: first to third floors
This used to be the site of the main slaughtering floor. The central atrium is connected to the different floors of the outer building by spiral staircases and criss-crossing staircases. The spiral staircases are about one person wide with a graceful arc at a large angle and were designed to help workers escape easily if the animals were frightened and became dangerous.
Location: the fourth floor
The Sky Theater covers an area of more than 1,500 square meters (1,800 square yards). The center-piece of the 8 meters high Sky Theater, with an area of 600 square meters (720 square yards), is a dome seemingly suspended in midair. It is made of toughened glass, transparent and dazzling. The round dome structure adds visual and spatial impact. The theatre is open only where there is a show, party or other similar activities.
Things to Do in 1933 Old Millfun
One of the most recommended 1933 Shanghai restaurants is the Niushi Chinese Restaurant, located in Unit 1-203. It is famous for Shanghai and Cantonese dishes made from beef. After the main meal, one can proceed to La Douceur, in unit 1-105, to taste some French style desserts and coffee. Other themed restaurants are worth trying, including Fomula Pilota, themed on Formula One racing, and Canil, where the “waiters” are six cute dogs.
Go Shopping in Boutique Stores
In Zhenxiangfang Hand Bead String Shop, the designers combine teaism, Tai Chi, Fengshui, and other Chinese culture references into every hand bead string. They also customize hand bead strings based on guests’ wishes. Many other creative clothing, ornament and furniture designers have also opened workshops here. You will find something new and special on each visit.
Dramas and other kinds of stage shows are given here on an irregular basis. Due to the short distance between the stage and seats, the audience can have a different viewing experience. The theatre is in Unit 1-201.
1933 Old Millfun Game House
This is a paradise for game lovers. Every visitor is given a private space to indulge their fantasies in the game world.
How to Get to 1933 Old Millfun
1. Take bus line 854 and get off at Liyang Road - Zhoujiazui Road Station. And walk northward for about 200 meters to get there.
2. Take bus line 25 and get off at Wuzhou Road - Yuhang Road Station; walk northward to the road cross and you will see it.
3. Take bus line 6, 13, 17, 33, 145, 220, 308, 319, 510, 939, and get off at Zhoujiazui Road - Xinjian Road Station. The building is to your northwest.
|Opening Hours ||09:00 - 22:00 |
|Advised Length of Visit ||1 - 2 hours |
- Last modified on Oct. 17, 2018 -