Xingqinggong Park (Xingqing Palace Park)
|Local People Singing Folk Songs in the Park|
As the political center during the reign of the Tang Emperor Xuanzong (Li Longji) between 712 and 756, the Xingqing Palace was one of the three largest palaces in the Tang Dynasty (618-907).
History of the Xingqing Palace
It had been called the “Mansion of Five Princes” where the brothers of Crown Prince Li Longji lived. After Li Longji ascended to the throne and became Emperor Xuanzong, his brothers presented the mansion to him in July, 714. In September 714, the mansion started to be transformed to the Xingqing Palace. Later, Emperor Xuanzong moved to the palace to live with his beloved imperial concubine Yang Yuhuan in 728. After the An Lushan Rebellion (755-763), the Xingqing Palace lost the position as a political center and became the place where retired emperors lived. At the end of the Tang Dynasty, the city of Chang’an was ruined and the Xingqing Palace was deserted.
In the Song Dynasty (960-1279), people went hiking in spring around the site of the palace. During the Yuan (1271-1368) and Ming (1368-1644) Dynasties, men of letters often sailed on the nearby lake to exchange their prose and verses.
Major Buildings in the Park
The Xingqinggong Park centers on the Xingqing Pool which is surrounded by the Nanxun Hall in the northeast, the Calyx Building in the west, the site of the Administration Building in the southwest and the Chenxiang Pavilion in the southeast.
The Nanxun Hall is located on the site of the Nanxun Palace in the northeast of the park. Tourists can appreciate the place where emperors rested after work.
Hailed as “the First Tower under Heaven”, the Calyx Building is listed before the Yueyang Pavilion in Hunan Province, the Tengwang Pavilion in Jiangxi Province, the Yellow Crane Tower in Hubei Province, and the Guanque Tower in Shanxi Province.
The site of the Administration Building is located in the southwest of the park. It served as the main hall of the Xingqing Palace. All the great ceremonies were held before the building, including amnesties, imperial examinations and changes of the title of a reign. Nowadays, only some historical relics of the building remain. Seeing these, tourists will feel the change of times.
With a long history, the Chenxiang Pavilion is a landmark in the park. Located at the southeast of the park, the pavilion is an ideal spot to appreciate the peonies. In spring, tourists can enjoy the purple, pink, white and red peonies, relaxed and pleased.
In the morning, a great number of senior citizens perform Tai Chi here. Sometimes there is a band singing Shaanxi Opera. In the afternoon, many middle-aged or elderly women come to dance in the park, which attracts a lot of foreign tourists.
In May, a large-scale tulip show is held in the park while a chrysanthemum show is held in September.
How to get to Xingqinggong Park
1.Take bus 7, 45, 351, 402, 410, 512, 607, 800, 910, or Exclusive Educational Line, get off at Xingqinggong Park Station, and go to the park through the South Gate;
2. Take bus 228, 237, 240, 401, 408, 517, 525, 602, or 903, and get off at the East Gate of Xingqing Park Station
3. Take bus 8, 27, 37, 43, 102, 203, 300, 602, 622, 709, 715, or 903, and get off at the North Gate of Xingqing Park.
Take metro line 3 to Xianning Road Station, then walk northwest for around 0.7 mile (1.2 kilometers) to get to the park.
Xi'an Bus / Metro Search
|Ticket Price||Free of charge|
|Opening Hours||March, April, September, October: 6:00-19:30 |
May, June, July, August: 5:30-20:00
November, December, January, February: 6:30-18:30
Recommended Nearby Attractions:
1. Changle Park
2. Qinglong Temple
- Last updated on Nov. 18, 2021 -